The bailiff exercises an independent liberal profession regulated by ordinance n ° 45-2592 of November 2, 1945. Although subject to his supervisory authority which is the Ministry of Justice, he does not receive instruction, but his action is exercised in compliance with a code of ethics subject to the control of the public prosecutor and the departmental chamber of judicial officers.

For example, their status prohibits them from instrumenting on behalf of friends or allies (that is, their family circle). Just as the function of judicial officer is incompatible with any salary, commercial, administrative or judicial activity (judge, clerk, etc.).

He is both a ministerial officer, responsible for executing court decisions that have become enforceable, he exercises a public service mission by delegation of the State and a public officer responsible for drawing up authentic acts (These acts deemed to be true will not be called into question until the false registration which is a criminal procedure).

Activities over which it has a monopoly

Service of documents

To signify an act means to bring it to the knowledge of a person. Whenever the document is served by a bailiff, the document is said to be served.

This applies to court decisions (judgments, orders, etc.) whose service is a legal obligation. That is to say whenever we want to ensure that the person concerned has been officially informed of a decision taken against him.

The service is an authentic act. This is proof that the document has indeed been sent to its addressee.

There are several modes of service:

Personal service:

The judicial officer must hand the document into the hands of the addressee in all places. If the latter is absent, the bailiff indicates in a report the reason why he was unable to deliver the document and passes to the second mode of service provided for by law.

Service at home:

If the recipient of the document is absent, he can give a copy to the person present on the premises. The latter may refuse to take it (art. 655 of the code of civil procedure). If no one wants to receive the deed, the bailiff will leave a transit advice note in the letterbox.

This notice mentions that the document must be withdrawn from the bailiff's office as soon as possible against receipt or signature by the interested party or any other authorized person. The copy of the act is kept in study for 3 months. After this period, the bailiff is discharged (art. 656 of the code of civil procedure).

The service by report of unsuccessful searches:

Whenever the recipient of the document has no known domicile, residence or place of work, the bailiff must send the service to the last known address.

Electronic service:

If the recipient has given his consent, the service of the document can be made by email.

Implementing acts

Article 18 of the law of July 9, 1991 specifies that only judicial officers can proceed with the forced execution of court decisions or with protective seizures.

Any court decision must be applied, so any creditor with a title can contact a bailiff who will have to assist him and take all necessary measures to recover the sums due.

To know:

The bailiff can refuse his assistance if:

  • The measure is unlawful
  • The costs exceed the amount of the sum to be recovered

The creditor has the choice of execution measures (seizure-sale, protective measures…) since in fact, it is he who appoints the bailiff. But the latter has a duty of information. It is his responsibility to ensure respect for the principles of necessity and proportionality of the means of execution, which cannot be abusive.

Activities shared with other legal professionals

In reality, these activities, the exercise of which is shared with other professionals (notaries, auctioneers, etc.) make up a very important part of the work of a bailiff and concern:

Amicable recovery (art. 1 of the law of 2 November 1945)

In all cases where a creditor does not yet have an enforceable title (proceedings in progress, etc.), he can contact a bailiff who will attempt to recover the sums due using non-coercive means.

It is a delicate exercise because the bailiff cannot use any terms, nor send any request that could create doubt about the nature of his mission since he is not acting on the basis of an enforceable title. It can only encourage the debtor to pay.

The observation

In criminal proceedings, the report has only the value of simple information, while in civil cases a bailiff's report is a decisive method of proof. Law n ° 2010-1609 of December 22, 2010, establishes the principle that a finding is authentic until proven otherwise. It can therefore be demonstrated by any means that the finding is erroneous or false.

The report can be established at the request of a judge or an individual, at any time. There is therefore no need to wait until a dispute has arisen to establish it.

Concretely, for the bailiff, it is a question of determining in all neutrality purely material facts in various fields: Drawing of lots in competitions, inventory of fixtures of entry or exit of an apartment, hidden defects, poor workmanship, non-representation of a child, finding of adultery (divorce for fault), late delivery, defective products

To know :

Bailiffs may act freely in private places belonging to the applicant or in public places. However, they may only exercise in private premises or premises belonging to third parties with their authorization. In the event of refusal by these third parties, the bailiff must be in possession of a court order expressly authorizing him to do so.

Judicial or voluntary sales

On the national territory, certain places do not have auctioneers. Bailiffs will therefore be empowered to conduct judicial (forced) or voluntary sales.

Drafting of deeds under private signature

Like the notary, the bailiff can draft deeds under private signature. This generally involves establishing residential or professional leases ...

Authorized activities

In recent years new activities have been opened to bailiffs. However, to exercise them in all neutrality, they will not be able to state their main function. Clearly, they must keep quiet (who said hiding?) That they are judicial officers to exercise as:

  • Insurance agent
  • Building administrator
  • Mediator

The exercise of these activities is subject to the agreement of the public prosecutor and the departmental chamber of judicial officers.

Details of bailiffs fees

The cost of bailiffs' acts is set by decree of the Council of State. The decree of February 26, 2016 setting the regulated tariffs for judicial officers is available for consultation here..

To know :

Any cash payment gives rise to a receipt. It is imperative, in the absence of proof of payment, you will remain debtor.

Any decision that has become enforceable and therefore before obtaining a title, the costs will be borne by the prosecuting creditor. If the bailiff acts on the basis of a title, the forced collection costs will be borne by the debtor.

Emoluments

They are made up of:

Fixed fees

For which the amount of the base rate is 2,20 euros are assigned the following coefficients:

0,50 if the amount of the debt is between 0 and 128 euros.

1 if the amount of the debt is between 129 and 1 euros

Rights proportional to the debtor's charge

This proportional duty is calculated on the sums recovered or collected in installments of:

10% of the sum up to 125 euros

6,5% of the sum of 126 to 610 euros

3,5% of the sum from 611 to 1 euros

0,3% above 1 euros

The proportional rights are capped at the maximum sum of 400 euros (regardless of the amount of the debt).

Rights proportional to the burden of the creditor

They do not apply to the recovery of salary and maintenance claims.

They are calculated on the principal claim or on the amount withheld from the judgment judgment (excluding costs) and are independent of the amount agreed by the bailiff and the creditor who authorized him.

12% up to 125 euros

11% from 126 to 610 euros

10,5% from 611 to 1 euros

4% above 1 euros

The fees

Within the framework of his consulting activities, observations… the fees are freely fixed between the bailiff and the applicant.

Travel costs

The transport allowance for each act served is 7,67 euros

Disbursements

All ancillary file costs advanced by the bailiff for the execution of recovery procedures, tax costs, postage, remuneration of third parties (intervention of the locksmith, etc.).

A VAT and a flat rate tax of 11,16 euros

Electronic documents

Each deed sent by email is fixed is 8,80 euros

European acts served in France

To serve on the national territory a document drawn up in a European country, a regulation of the EC n ° 1393/2007, aiming to facilitate and improve the service of judicial and extrajudicial documents between the member states in civil and commercial matters, fixes the costs. bailiffs at the single flat rate of 48,75 euros.


Cost of bailiffs acts

Cost of bailiffs acts

Cost of the most common acts of bailiffs according to order n ° 2016-230 of February 26, 2016 Valid from March 1, 2016 ...

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A comment

  1. Good evening ... I want to know if un.huissier has the right to request documents of your charges to.transmit them to the creditor ... To know how much I can pay them? Thank you for your comeback .
    Yours truly.
    Madame Hauet Celine

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Tout ce qu'il faut savoir sur les huissiers de justice

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     L’huissier exerce une profession libérale indépendante réglementée par l’ordonnance n°45-2592 du 2 novembre 1945. Bien que soumis à son autorité de tutelle qui est le ministère de la justice, il ne reçoit pas d’instruction, mais son action est exercée dans le respect d’une déontologie soumise au contrôle du procureur de la République et de la chambre départementale des huissiers de justice.

 

À titre d’exemple, leur statut leur interdit d’instrumenter pour le compte d’amis ou d’alliés (c’est-à-dire leur cercle familial). De même que la fonction d’huissier de justice est incompatible avec toute activité salariale, commerciale, administrative ou judiciaire (juge, greffier...).

 

C’est à la fois un officier ministériel, chargé d’exécuter les décisions de justices devenues exécutoires, il exerce une mission de service public par délégation de l’État et un officier public chargé de dresser des actes authentiques (Ces actes réputés être vrais ne seront pas remis en cause jusqu’à l’inscription en faux qui est une procédure pénale).

 

1 - Les activités dont il a le monopole

 

La signification des actes

 

Signifier un acte veut dire le porter à la connaissance d’une personne. Toutes les fois que l’acte est signifié par un huissier de justice on dit que l’acte est notifié.

 

Cela vaut pour les décisions de justice (jugements, ordonnances...) dont la signification est une obligation légale. C’est à dire toutes les fois que l’on veut s’assurer que la personne concernée à été officiellement informée d’une décision prise à son encontre.

 

La signification est un acte authentique. C’est la preuve que l’acte a bien été transmis à son destinataire.

 

Il existe plusieurs modes de signification :

 

- La signification à personne :

L’huissier de justice doit remettre l’acte entre les mains du destinataire en tout lieu. Si ce dernier est absent, l’huissier indique sur un procès verbal la raison pour laquelle il n’a pas pu remettre l’acte et passe au second mode de signification prévu par la loi.

 

- La signification à domicile :

En cas d’absence du destinataire de l’acte, il peut remettre une copie à la personne présente sur les lieux. Cette dernière peut refuser de le prendre (art. 655 du code de procédure civile). Si personne ne veut réceptionner l’acte, l’huissier déposera un avis de passage dans la boîte aux lettres.

Cet avis mentionne que l’acte doit être retiré dans l’étude de l’huissier dans les plus brefs délais contre récépissé ou émargement par l’intéressé ou toute autre personne mandatée. La copie de l’acte est gardée en étude pendant 3 mois. Passé ce délai, l’huissier en est déchargé (art. 656 du code de procédure civile).

 

- La signification par procès verbal de recherches infructueuses :

Toutes les fois que le destinataire de l’acte n’a ni domicile, ni résidence ni lieu de travail connu, l’huissier doit envoyer la signification à la dernière adresse connue.

 

- La signification par voie électronique :

Si le destinataire a donné son accord, la signification de l’acte pourra être faite par mail.

 

Les actes d’exécution

 

L’article 18 de la loi du 9 juillet 1991 précise que seuls les huissiers de justice peuvent procéder à l’exécution forcée des décisions de justice ou aux saisies conservatoires.

 

Toute décision de justice doit être appliquée, de ce fait tout créancier muni d’un titre peut s’adresser à un huissier qui devra lui apporter son concours et procéder à toutes mesures utiles pour recouvrer les sommes dues.

 

A savoir:

 

L’huissier peut refuser son concours si :

- La mesure revêt un caractère illicite

- Les frais dépassent le montant de la somme à recouvrer

 

Le créancier a le choix des mesures d’exécutions (saisie-vente, mesures conservatoires...) puisque dans les faits, c’est lui qui mandate l’huissier. Mais ce dernier à un devoir d’information. Il est de sa responsabilité de veiller au respect des principes de nécessité et de proportionnalité des voies d’exécutions qui ne peuvent être abusives.

 

2 - Les activités partagées avec d’autres professionnels du droit

 

En réalité ces activités dont l’exercice est partagé avec d’autres professionnels (notaires, commissaires priseurs...) composent une part très importante du travail d’un huissier et concernent :

 

- Le recouvrement amiable (art. 1 de la loi du 2 novembre 1945)

Dans tous les cas où un créancier n’a pas encore de titre exécutoire (procédure en cours...), il peut s’adresser à un huissier qui tentera de recouvrer les sommes dues en usant de moyens non coercitifs.

C’est un exercice délicat car l’huissier ne peut user d’aucun termes, ni envoyer aucune demande pouvant créer un doute sur la nature de sa mission puisqu’il n’agit pas sur le fondement d’un titre exécutoire. Il ne peut qu’inciter le débiteur à payer.

 

- Le constat

Au pénal le constat n’a qu’une valeur de simple renseignement, tandis qu’au civil un constat d’huissier est un mode de preuve déterminant. La loi n°2010-1609 du 22 décembre 2010, pose le principe qu’un constat fait foi jusqu’à preuve du contraire. Il pourra donc être démontré par tous moyens que le constat est erroné ou faux.

 

Le constat peut être établi à la demande d’un juge ou d’un particulier, à tout moment. Il n’y a donc pas lieu d’attendre qu’un litige soit né pour l’établir.

 

Concrètement, il s’agit pour l’huissier de constater en toute neutralité des faits purement matériels dans différents domaines : Tirage au sort dans des jeux concours, état des lieux d’entrée ou de sortie d’un appartement, vices cachés, malfaçons, non représentation d’enfant, constat d’adultère (divorce pour faute), retard de livraison, produits défectueux

 

À savoir :

 

Les huissiers peuvent agir librement dans les lieux privés appartenant au requérant ou dans les lieux publics. Cependant ils ne pourront exercer dans des lieux ou locaux privés appartenant à des tiers que sur leur autorisation. En cas de refus de ces tiers, l’huissier devra être en possession d’une ordonnance judiciaire l’y autorisant de manière expresse.

 

- Les ventes judiciaires ou volontaires

Sur le territoire national, certains lieux sont dépourvus de commissaires priseurs. Les huissiers seront donc habilités à mener les ventes judiciaires (forcées) ou volontaires.

 

- Rédaction d’actes sous seing privé

Comme le notaire, l’huissier peut rédiger des actes sous seing privé. Il s’agit généralement d’établir des baux d’habitation ou professionnels...

 

3 - Les activités autorisées

 

Au cours de ces dernières années de nouvelles activités ont été ouvertes aux huissiers. Cependant, pour les exercer en toute neutralité, ils ne pourront pas faire état de leur fonction principale. En clair, ils doivent taire (qui a dit cacher ?) qu’ils sont des huissiers de justice pour exercer en tant que :

 

- Agent d’assurance

- Administrateur d’immeubles

- Médiateur

 

L’exercice de ces activités est soumis à l’accord du procureur de la République et de la chambre départementale des huissiers de justice.

 

4 - Le détail des frais d’huissiers

 

Le coût des actes d’huissiers est fixé par décret du Conseil d’État. L' arrêté du 26 février 2016 fixant les tarifs réglementés des huissiers de justice est consultable ici..

 

A savoir :

 

Tout paiement en espèces donne lieu a un reçu. C’est impératif, à défaut de preuve de paiement, vous resterez débiteur.

Toute décision devenue exécutoire et donc avant l’obtention d’un titre, les frais seront à la charge du créancier poursuivant. Si l’huissier agit sur la base d’un titre, les frais de recouvrement forcés seront à la charge du débiteur.


- Les émoluments

 

Ils sont constitués des:

 

     - Droits fixes dont le montant du taux de base est de 2,20 euros sont affectés des coefficients suivants :

0,50 si le montant de la créance est compris entre 0 et 128 euros.

1 si le montant de la créance est compris entre 129 et 1 280 euros

 

     - Droits proportionnels à la charge du débiteur

Ce droit proportionnel est calculé sur les sommes recouvrées ou encaissées par tranches de :

10% de la somme jusqu’à 125 euros

6,5% de la somme de 126 à 610 euros

3,5% de la somme de 611 à 1 625 euros

0,3% au-delà de 1 625 euros

Les droits proportionnels sont plafonnés à la somme maximale de 400 euros (quel que soit le montant de créance).

 

    -  Droits proportionnels à la charge du créancier

Ils ne s’appliquent pas au recouvrement des créances de salaire et d’aliments.

Ils sont calculés sur la créance au principal ou sur le montant retenu sur le jugement de condamnation (hors dépens) et sont indépendants du montant sur lequel se sont accordés l’huissier et le créancier qui l’a mandaté.

12% jusqu’à 125 euros

11% de 126 à 610 euros

10,5% de 611 à 1 525 euros

4% au-delà de 1 526 euros

 

- Les honoraires

 

Dans le cadre de ses activités de conseil, constats... les honoraires sont librement fixés entre l’huissier et le demandeur.

 

- Les frais de déplacements

 

L’indemnité de transport pour chaque acte signifié est de 7,67 euros

 

- Les débours

 

Tous les frais de dossiers annexes avancés par l’huissier pour l’exécution des procédures de recouvrement frais fiscaux, affranchissements, rémunération des tiers (intervention du serrurier...).

A TVA et une taxe forfaitaire de 11,16 euros

 

- Les actes par voie électronique

 

Chaque acte envoyé par mail est fixé est 8,80 euros

 

- Les actes européens signifiés en France

 

Pour signifier sur le territoire national un acte établi dans un pays européen, un règlement du CE n°1393/2007, visant à faciliter et améliorer la signification d’actes judiciaires et extrajudiciaires entre les états membres en matières civiles et commerciales, fixe les frais d’huissiers au tarif forfaitaire unique de 48,75 euros.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Août 2016