Home » Legal news » Threatening someone to file a complaint: is it blackmail?

Threatening someone to file a complaint: is it blackmail?

Threatening someone to file a complaint against him: is it blackmail?

The offense of blackmail is defined in article 312-10 of the French Penal Code (current). It is the fact for a person to obtain, by threatening to reveal or impute to another, facts likely to undermine his honor or his consideration, either a signature, an undertaking or a waiver, or the revelation of a secret, or the delivery of funds, securities or any property.

The material element of the offense is characterized by the threat to reveal or impute a fact likely to undermine the honor or consideration of the victim. It therefore excludes any violence or physical harm to the victim. It is indeed a moral attack. It also matters little whether the alleged facts are true or false. They must not be accessible to the public at the time when the perpetrator of the offense uses them. Thus, case law considers that the threat of revealing an individual's sexual orientation constitutes the offense of blackmail (Cass. Crim. of January 13, 2016 (appeal no.: 14-85905)).

Also, the threat may well be addressed directly to the victim or indirectly (to another person but who will have to pay for the victim). It is the fact, for example, of threatening a parent to denounce the forgery committed by his child if he does not pay a sum of money.

The offense of blackmail is, in accordance with the aforementioned article 312-10, punishable by five years' imprisonment and a fine of 75 euros. The blackmailer is punishable as soon as he is aware that his action aims to obtain the undue discount by threat. Mens rea is characterized by the fact that the perpetrator of the offense is aware that he is using a "illegal threat" to get what he wants.

As for the right of action, it is the "the right, for the author of a claim, to be heard on the merits of it so that the judge can say it is well or ill founded" (article 30 of the Code of Civil Procedure).

Concretely, within the meaning of Article 30 of the Code of Civil Procedure, it is the possibility for any litigant to bring his claims before a judge so that the latter can judge their merits or ill-foundedness. The right of action or the right to sue is a potestative right in that it essentially depends on the will of its holder. If one can contractually limit his right of action, it is nevertheless not possible to oblige a person to seize the jurisdictions in the event of the occurrence of a dispute. Indeed, the setting in motion of the right of action by referral to the court (request), is the sole responsibility of its holder.

Thus, as soon as a person fulfills the conditions for legal action, namely: the legitimate interest to act, the legal capacity and the quality, he can bring claims before a judge, it being indicated that any legal action taken in a dilatory or abusive manner may give rise to the condemnation of its author to a civil fine of a maximum of 10 euros, without prejudice to damages within the meaning of article 000-32 of the Code of Civil Procedure.

Consequently, the threat of a person to use legal means to compel him to perform cannot constitute blackmail. Need it be recalled that the formal notice organized by articles 1344 to 1345-3 of the Code of Civil Procedure is nothing other than a "legal threat" – summation; a legal means granted to creditors to compel their debtors to perform their obligations under penalty of taking legal action against them. This is indeed a threat to take legal action – but a threat authorized by law.

Relatively, the Criminal Division of the Court of Cassation ruled in the judgments of March 12, 1985 and March 13, 1990, that it did not constitute blackmail if a creditor threatened his debtor with resorting to legal means to obtain the payment of his debthttps://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichJuriJudi.do?idTexte=JURITEXT000007064839). Also, the threat still has to relate to an obligation (debt) existing or that the creditor is actually entitled to its performance.

Indeed, when the creditor's threat relates to an obligation which no longer exists or when the latter has no interest in its execution or when the threat relates to facts unrelated to the cause of the debt whose payment is claimed , this is, in accordance with the judgment of March 5, 1975 of the criminal chamber (the threat of revealing facts) constituting blackmail and therefore punishable under article 312-10 of the Penal Code.

In short, the threat made to a person to take legal action in the event of non-performance of a legal or contractual obligation incumbent upon him, is not, since it is related to the obligation whose performance is claimed, not constituting the offense of blackmail.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Menacer quelqu’un de porter plainte : est-ce du chantage ?

Menacer quelqu’un de porter plainte : est-ce du chantage ?

Menacer quelqu’un de porter plainte contre lui : est-ce du chantage ?

Le délit de chantage est défini à l’article 312-10 du Code pénal français (actuel). C’est le fait pour une personne d’obtenir, en menaçant de révéler ou d’imputer à une autre, des faits de nature à porter atteinte à son honneur ou à sa considération, soit une signature, un engagement ou une renonciation, soit la révélation d’un secret, soit la remise de fonds, de valeurs ou d’un bien quelconque.

L’élément matériel de l’infraction est caractérisé par la menace de révéler ou d’imputer un fait susceptible de porter atteinte à l’honneur ou à la considération de la victime. Il l’exclut donc toute violence ou toute atteinte physique à la victime. C’est en effet, une atteinte morale. Il importe peu également que les faits imputés soient vrais ou faux. Ils ne doivent pas être accessibles au public au moment où l’auteur de l’infraction en use. Ainsi, la jurisprudence estime que la menace de révélation de l’orientation sexuelle d’un individu est constitutive du délit de chantage (Cass. Crim. du 13 janvier 2016 (n° de pourvoi : 14-85905)).

Aussi, la menace peut bien être adressée directement à la victime ou indirectement (à une autre personne mais qui devra payer pour la victime). C’est le fait par exemple de menacer un parent de dénoncer le faux commis par son enfant s’il ne paie une somme d’argent.

Le délit de chantage est conformément à l’article 312-10 précité, puni de cinq ans d’emprisonnement et de 75 000 euros d’amende. Le maitre chanteur est punissable dès lors qu’il a conscience que son action vise à obtenir la remise indue par la menace. Le mens rea est caractérisé par le fait que l’auteur de l’infraction a conscience qu’il use d’une « menace non légale » pour obtenir ce qu’il souhaite.

Quant au droit d’action, c’est le « le droit, pour l’auteur d’une prétention, d’être entendu sur le fond de celle-ci afin que le juge la dise bien ou mal fondée » (article 30 du Code de procédure civile).

Concrètement, il s’agit au sens de l’article 30 du Code de la procédure civile, de la possibilité pour tout justiciable de porter devant un juge, ses prétentions pour que ce dernier en juge leur bien ou mal fondé. Le droit d’action ou le droit d’agir en justice est un droit potestatif en ce qu’il dépend essentiellement de la volonté de son titulaire. Si on peut contractuellement limiter son droit d’action, il n’est néanmoins pas possible d’obliger une personne à saisir les juridictions en cas de survenance d’un litige. En effet, la mise en mouvement du droit d’action par la saisine de la juridiction (demande), est du seul ressort de son titulaire.

Ainsi, dès lors qu’une personne remplit les conditions d’action en justice à savoir : l’intérêt légitime d’agir, la capacité légale et la qualité, elle peut porter des prétentions devant un juge étant indiqué que toute action en justice faite de manière dilatoire ou abusive peut donner lieu à la condamnation de son auteur à une amende civile d’un maximum de 10 000 euros, sans préjudice des dommages-intérêts au sens de l’article 32-1 du Code de procédure civile.

Par conséquent, la menace d’une personne de recourir de moyens légaux pour lui contraindre de s’exécuter ne saurait être constitutive de chantage. Faut-il rappeler que la mise en demeure organisée par les articles 1344 à 1345-3 du Code de procédure civile n’est rien d’autre qu’une « menace légale » – sommation ; un moyen légal accordé aux créanciers pour contraindre leurs débiteurs à exécuter leurs obligations sous peine d’entreprendre des actions judiciaires à leur encontre. Il s’agit en effet d’une menace d’agir en justice – mais une menace autorisée par la loi.

Relativement, la chambre criminelle de la Cour de cassation a jugé dans les arrêts 12 mars 1985 et du 13 mars 1990, que n’était pas constitutif de chantage, le fait pour un créancier, de menacer son débiteur de recourir aux voies légales pour obtenir le paiement de sa dette (https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichJuriJudi.do?idTexte=JURITEXT000007064839). Aussi, faut-il encore que la menace porte sur une obligation (dette) existante ou que le créancier ait réellement droit à son exécution.

En effet, lorsque la menace du créancier porte sur une obligation qui n’existe plus ou que ce dernier n’y a pas intérêt à son exécution ou que la menace porte sur des faits étrangers à la cause de la dette dont le paiement est réclamé, celle-ci est, conformément à l’arrêt du 5 mars 1975 de la chambre criminelle (la menace de révélation de faits) constitutive de chantage et en conséquence punissable en vertu de l’article 312-10 du Code pénal.

En somme, la menace faite à une personne d’agir en justice en cas de non-exécution d’une obligation légale ou contractuelle lui incombant, n’est, dès lors qu’elle a un rapport avec l’obligation dont l’exécution est réclamée, pas constitutive du délit de chantage.

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *