Home » Legal news » The various homicides

The various homicides

simple homicide

The fact of killing someone is the crime par excellence, to the point that it is represented as the crime proscribed since the world began. But how does current law criminalize killing someone?

The first recognized crime is simple murder. It is prohibited by article 221-1 of the penal code. Murder is the fact of committing positive acts likely to cause death, and precisely with the intention of doing so. Like no one can fathom the heart and kidneys, the intention to kill is deduced by the judge from facts such as the dangerousness of the means used (firearms, bladed weapons, etc.) or the vital nature of the parts of the body targeted or affected (the heart, the head, neck, thorax etc.)

Simple murder is punishable by 30 years' imprisonment. But there are a myriad of offenses that can incriminate a homicide when it is accompanied by particular circumstances. Since in law the special law derogates from the general law, the various offenses involving homicide apply rather than that of simple murder when the facts meet the conditions provided for by law.

The various homicides

The main homicide offenses are:

  • Homicide concomitant with or linked to another crime or misdemeanor (example: theft). Criminalized in article 221-2 of the Penal Code and punishable by life imprisonment.
  • Premeditated homicide or “assassination”. Criminalized in article 221-3 of the Penal Code and liable to life imprisonment.
  • Aggravated homicide. It is a murder whose motivations can be racist or sexist which are today a cause of general aggravation for all crimes and misdemeanors except exceptions provided for by law; or if the victim is the perpetrator's spouse or partner, it is this hypothesis that incriminates feminicide in principle. He is criminalized in article 221-4 of the Penal Code and is liable to life imprisonment.
  • Homicide by poisoning is criminalized in article 221-5 of the penal code and is punishable by 30 years of criminal imprisonment.
  • Acts of torture and barbarism having resulted in death without the intention of giving it. Criminalized in article 221-6 of the Penal Code.
  • The "death blows" are the hypothesis of the death of a victim under the blows of an aggressor who did not want to kill, typically the hypothesis of "fights with tragic ends". They are incriminated in article 222-7 of the Criminal Code and liable to 15 years' imprisonment. Article 222-8 incriminates aggravated mortal blows which are motivated mortal blows or in the circumstances of aggravated murder (see above).

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Les différents homicides

Les différents homicides

L’homicide simple

Le fait de tuer quelqu’un est le crime par excellence, au point que l’on se le représente comme le crime proscrit depuis que le monde est monde. Mais comment le droit actuel incrimine le fait de tuer quelqu’un ?

Le premier crime reconnu est le meurtre à l’état simple. Il est interdit par l’article 221-1 du code pénal. Est constitutif du meurtre le fait de commettre des actes positifs de nature à donner la mort, et précisément dans l’intention de la donner. Comme nul ne peut sonder le cœur et les reins, l’intention de donner la mort est déduite par le juge par des éléments de faits comme la dangerosité des moyens employés (armes à feu, armes blanches etc.) ou le caractère vital des parties du corps visées ou atteintes (le cœur, la tête, le cou, le thorax etc.)

Le « meurtre simple » est passible de 30 ans de réclusion criminelle. Mais il existe une myriade d’infraction qui permette d’incriminer un homicide lorsque celui-ci est accompagné de circonstances particulières. Puisqu’en droit la loi spéciale déroge à la loi générale, les différentes infractions comportant un homicide s’appliquent plutôt que celle du meurtre simple quand les faits remplissent les conditions prévues par le droit.

Les différents homicides

Les principales infractions homicides sont les suivantes :

  • Homicide concomitant ou lié à un autre crime ou délit (exemple : un vol). Incriminé à l’article 221-2 du Code pénal et passible de la réclusion à perpétuité.
  • Homicide avec préméditation ou « assassinat ». Incriminé à l’article 221-3 du Code pénal et passible de la réclusion à perpétuité.
  • Homicide aggravé. Il s’agit d’un meurtre dont les motivations peuvent être racistes ou sexistes qui sont aujourd’hui une cause d’aggravation générale pour tous les crimes et délits sauf exception prévues par le droit ; ou si la victime est le conjoint ou le concubin de l’auteur, c’est cette hypothèse qui incrimine en principe le féminicide. Il est incriminé à l’article 221-4 du Code pénal et est passible de la réclusion à perpétuité.
  • L’homicide par empoisonnement est incriminé à l’article 221-5 du code pénal et est passible de 30 ans de réclusion criminelle.
  • Les actes de tortures et de barbarie ayant entrainé la mort sans intention de la donner. Incriminés à l’article 221-6 du Code pénal.
  • Les « coups mortels » sont l’hypothèse de la mort d’une victime sous les coups d’un agresseur qui ne voulait pas tuer, typiquement l’hypothèse des « bagarres aux fins tragiques ». Ils sont incriminés à l’article 222-7 du Code pénal et passible de 15 ans de réclusion criminelle. L’article 222-8 incrimine lui les coups mortels aggravés qui sont des coups mortels motivés ou dans les circonstances du meurtre aggravé (cf. plus haut).

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.