Home » Legal news » The “legal” aspect of electronic cigarettes and e-liquid

The “legal” aspect of electronic cigarettes and e-liquid

The "legal" aspect of electronic cigarettes

The electronic cigarette has recently appeared on the market and it must be said that it has already been adopted by many people. However, several contours of this product remain unknown, in particular the legal aspect and also some accessories that compose it. If you want to know more, here are some answers that can guide you.

The legal aspect of the electronic cigarette

It must be said that from a legal point of view, age is the first criterion that must be emphasized. Thus, if you are under the age of majority (18 or depending on the country), you are not entitled to use this product. You should know that the use of electronic cigarettes is prohibited, especially in certain places. 

For public health reasons, the use of the product is not authorized in:

  • Workshops,
  • open space,
  • meeting rooms,
  • places of rest,
  • Toilets or changing rooms.

However, be aware that the ban only applies to covered and closed premises in which there are workstations assigned to collective use. 

In other words, you can use an electronic cigarette in a personal office if it has a door. Beforehand, make sure that your company's internal regulations allow it or go to a dedicated smoking area (if the company has one). 

You may not use the product in public means of transport, in schools, high schools, colleges or any establishment intended for minors.

Legislation on components and e-liquid

The legislation does not only relate to the use of the product, but note that certain provisions are envisaged vis-à-vis the components.

The legal provisions on the characteristics of the product

Know that the capacity of a bottle of E liquid is set at 10ml and its nicotine content must be less than 20mg/ml. In addition, the legislation requires manufacturers to put a safety device on the bottle to prevent leaks and be protected against breakage. As for reservoirs and cartridges pre-filled with nicotine e liquid, the maximum capacity is limited to 2ml.

Legal provisions on packaging

Legally, the bottle of an e liquid must indicate certain information, the first of which is the composition of the e liquid containing nicotine. The manufacturer is required to mention the average content of the latter as well as the quantity diffused per dose. The bottle must bear a serial number and a recommendation indicating that the product must be kept out of the reach of small children.

 In addition, manufacturers are obliged to include a health warning that nicotine can be addictive and use by a non-smoker is not recommended.

The legal provisions on the notice

It is mandatory that a notice accompanies the e liquid and this must provide information on certain information. It is a question of specifying the contraindications, the undesirable effects as well as the effect of toxicity and dependence. The notice must also mention the instructions for storage and use of the product, the contact details of the manufacturer or importer. 

Finally, warnings for specific risk groups should be included.

In short, remember that electronic cigarettes are subject to certain legal provisions imposed on the manufacturer and the consumer. In addition, it should be noted that they may vary from one country to another depending on the legislation in force.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Actualité juridique » L’aspect « légal » des cigarettes électronique et du e-liquide

L’aspect « légal » des cigarettes électronique et du e-liquide

L'aspect "légal" des cigarettes électronique

La cigarette électronique a fait son apparition récemment sur le marché et il faut dire qu’elle a déjà été adoptée par de nombreuses personnes. Toutefois, plusieurs contours de ce produit demeurent inconnus notamment l’aspect légal et aussi quelques accessoires qui le composent. Si vous souhaitez en savoir davantage, voici des éléments de réponse qui pourront vous orienter.

L’aspect légal de la cigarette électronique

Il faut dire que d’un point de vue légal, l’âge est le premier critère qu’il faut souligner. Ainsi, si vous n’êtes pas majeur (18 ans ou en fonction du pays), vous n’avez pas le droit d’utiliser ce produit. Vous devez savoir que l’usage de la cigarette électronique est interdit, notamment dans certains endroits. 

Pour des raisons de santé publique, l’utilisation du produit n’est pas autorisée dans les :

  • Ateliers,
  • Open space,
  • Salles de réunion,
  • Lieux de repos,
  • Toilettes ou vestiaires.

Néanmoins, sachez que l’interdiction s’applique uniquement pour les locaux couverts et fermés dans lesquels se trouvent des postes de travail affectés à un usage collectif. 

En d’autres termes, vous pouvez utiliser une cigarette électronique dans un bureau personnel s’il est équipé d’une porte. En amont, assurez-vous que le règlement intérieur de votre entreprise le permet ou dirigez-vous vers un espace fumeur dédié à cela (si l’entreprise en dispose). 

Vous ne pouvez pas utiliser le produit dans les moyens de transport commun, dans les écoles, les lycées, collèges ou tout établissement destiné aux mineurs.

La législation sur les composants et l’e-liquide

La législation ne concerne pas uniquement l’utilisation du produit, mais notez que certaines dispositions sont prévues vis-à-vis des composants.

Les dispositions légales sur les caractérististiques du produit

Sachez que la contenance d’un flacon de E liquide est fixée à 10 ml et sa teneur en nicotine doit être inférieure à 20mg/ml. De plus, la législation impose aux fabricants de mettre un dispositif de sécurité sur la bouteille afin d’éviter les fuites et être protégé contre les bris. Quant aux réservoirs et les cartouches préremplies avec un e liquide nicotiné, la capacité maximale est limitée à 2 ml.

Les dispositions légales sur le conditionnement

Légalement, le flacon d’un e liquide doit indiquer certaines informations dont la première est la composition du e liquide renfermant de la nicotine. Le fabricant est tenu de mentionner la teneur moyenne de cette dernière ainsi que la quantité diffusée par dose. Le flacon doit porter un numéro de série et une recommandation signalant que le produit doit être tenu hors de la portée des plus petits.

 Par ailleurs, les fabricants sont obligés d’inscrire un avertissement sanitaire selon lequel la nicotine peut créer une dépendance et l’utilisation par un non-fumeur est déconseillé.

Les dispositions légales sur la notice

Il est obligatoire qu’une notice accompagne le e liquide et celle-ci doit renseigner sur certaines informations. Il s’agit de préciser les contre-indications, les effets indésirables ainsi que l’effet de la toxicité et de la dépendance. La notice doit aussi mentionner les consignes de stockage et d’utilisation du produit, les coordonnées du fabricant ou de l’importateur. 

Pour finir, les avertissements pour les groupes à risque spécifiques doivent y figurer.

En somme, retenez que les cigarettes électroniques sont soumises à certaines dispositions légales imposées au fabricant et au consommateur. Par ailleurs, il faut préciser qu’elles peuvent varier d’un pays à un autre en fonction de la législation en vigueur.

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.