Home » Legal news » 6 essential conditions for the validity of a bailiff's act

6 essential conditions for the validity of a bailiff's act

6 essential conditions for the validity of a bailiff's act

If you are a judicial officer in Paris, you hold all the powers in the exercise of your function in the French capital. But, you must meet certain conditions to produce valid and indisputable documents.

Respect the regulations in the exercise of your power

To have a value of authentic deeds, you must act in compliance with French and Parisian regulations. However, the abuse of authority in the exercise of the function does not exclude the legality of the act. But, if you exceed the regulatory framework, the authentic nature of your act will remain doubtful. In any case, the judge is not bound to the act that you produce.

Maintain your honor

A bailiff must act with honor. In his work on the penalty, Jacques VAN COMPERNOLLE affirms: “it remains that, in the facts, the report of a judicial officer benefits from a great authority. Its value as an instrument of conviction for the magistrate is commensurate with the integrity of the bailiff who drafted it”.

Be specific in your findings

The acts you produce are left to the sovereign discretion of the judge. To have probative value in the Paris courts, you must be clear in writing your findings. Be as specific and detailed as possible in your writing. The clarity of your act takes into account two fundamental elements:

  • Lack of assessment of the acts observed: you must express reservations about the personal assessment in your findings. Do not leave margins for comments. When certain elements of the report require reports from an expert, do not substitute yourself for the latter.
  • The details of the elements observed personally: your role is descriptive. To convince the judge, describe the facts as you found them. Only a personal observation can fulfill this descriptive condition. Facts reported by others should not be your source of evidence.

Always look for witnesses

In the accomplishment of your mission, you can undoubtedly carry out the operations of the seizures. Your presence in private homes requires the presence of witnesses. Here, we are not only talking to you about witnesses that you will find on the banks of the Seine or Rue de Rivoli. Gilles CHIARO, in his manual of resistance to bailiffs, mentions that: the people likely to accompany the judicial officer in his operations are:

  • The borough mayor.
  • A member of the Council of Paris.
  • A municipal official delegated by the mayor.
  • A police or gendarmerie authority.
  • Two independent major witnesses.

Practice within the limits of your skill

The limits of your jurisdiction are clearly detailed, so you must respect the seizure period between the time allocated to the debtor to regularize his situation and the judge's injunction. Likewise, do not intervene at night and do not expel people during the winter break.   

Establish communication with the interested party

In the exercise of your mission, communication must not be excluded with the person who will be summoned. In addition to the presentation formalities, you must intervene in an atmosphere that reduces tensions. When the debtor presents resistance, do not exercise force without recourse to the authorities empowered to do so. Here are two ways to ensure communication:

  • The presentation of the enforceable title: to better exercise your powers, present to the interested parties the writs of execution issued by the court. The court order lets the debtor know that you have full power to act. If you do not present the writ of execution, the debtor may confuse your intervention with a simple injunction to pay. This last act is only a simple reminder of obligations.
  • Listening to the debtor: in terms of seizure, the debtor also has inalienable rights. It is by listening to him that you will understand the extent of his recognized rights. These are essential items for daily life.

The skills of a Paris bailiff are strictly regulated by the legislator. Do not exceed them if you wish to maintain the credibility recognized for your action in the application of Parisian court decisions.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Actualité juridique » 6 conditions indispensables à la validité d’un acte d’huissier

6 conditions indispensables à la validité d’un acte d’huissier

6 conditions indispensables à la validité d’un acte d’huissier

Si vous êtes un huissier de justice à Paris, vous détenez tous les pouvoirs dans l’exercice de votre fonction dans la capitale française. Mais, vous devez respecter certaines conditions pour produire des actes valides et incontestables.

Respectez la réglementation dans l’exercice de votre pouvoir

Pour avoir une valeur d’actes authentiques, vous devez agir dans le respect de la réglementation française et parisienne. Toutefois, l’abus d’autorité dans l’exercice de la fonction n’exclut pas le caractère licite de l’acte. Mais, si vous dépassez le cadre réglementaire, la nature authentique de votre acte demeurera douteuse. De toutes les manières, le juge n’est pas lié à l’acte que vous produisez.

Préservez votre honorabilité

Un huissier doit agir avec honneur. Dans son ouvrage sur l’astreinte, Jacques VAN COMPERNOLLE affirme : « il demeure que, dans les faits, le constat d’un huissier de justice bénéficie d’une grande autorité. Sa valeur comme instrument de conviction du magistrat est à la mesure de l’honorabilité de l’huissier qui l’a rédigée ».

Soyez précis dans le constat que vous établissez

Les actes que vous produisez sont laissés à l’appréciation souveraine du juge. Pour avoir une valeur probante dans les tribunaux parisiens, vous devez faire preuve de clarté dans la rédaction de vos constats. Soyez le plus précis possible et le plus détaillé dans votre rédaction. La clarté de votre acte tient compte de deux éléments fondamentaux :

  • L’absence d’appréciation sur les actes constatés : vous devez émettre des réserves sur l’appréciation personnelle dans vos constats. Ne laissez pas des marges pour les commentaires. Lorsque certains éléments du constat exigent des rapports d’un expert, ne vous substituez pas à ce dernier.
  • Le détail des éléments constatés personnellement : votre rôle est descriptif. Pour convaincre le juge, décrivez les faits tels que vous l’avez constaté. Seule une constatation personnelle peut remplir cette condition descriptive. Les faits rapportés par autrui ne doivent pas être votre source de preuve.

Cherchez toujours des témoins

Dans l’accomplissement de votre mission, vous pouvez sans doute procéder aux opérations des saisies. Votre présence chez des particuliers exige la présence des témoins. Ici, nous ne vous parlons pas uniquement de témoins que vous trouverez en bords de Seine ou Rue de Rivoli. Gilles CHIARO, dans son manuel de résistance aux huissiers, mentionne que : les personnes susceptibles d’accompagner l’huissier de justice dans ses opérations sont :

  • Le maire de l’arrondissement.
  • Un membre du Conseil de Paris.
  • Un fonctionnaire municipal délégué par le maire.
  • Une autorité de police ou de gendarmerie.
  • Deux témoins majeurs indépendants.

Exercez dans les limites de votre compétence

Les limites de votre compétence sont clairement détaillées, vous devez donc respecter le délai de saisie entre le temps attribué au débiteur de régulariser sa situation et l’injonction du juge. De même, n’intervenez pas la nuit et n’expulsez pas les personnes pendant la trêve hivernale.   

Établissez la communication avec l’intéressé

Dans l’exercice de votre mission, la communication ne doit pas être exclue avec la personne qui sera sommée. En plus des formalités de présentation, vous devez intervenir dans un climat réduisant les tensions. Lorsque le débiteur présente une résistance, n’exercez pas la force sans le recours aux autorités habilitées à le faire. Voici deux moyens permettant d’assurer la communication :

  • La présentation du titre exécutoire : pour mieux exercer vos compétences, présentez aux intéressés les titres exécutoires émanant du tribunal. L’ordre du tribunal fait savoir au débiteur que vous avez tous les pouvoirs pour agir. Si vous ne présentez pas le titre exécutoire, le débiteur peut confondre votre intervention à une simple injonction de payer. Ce dernier acte n’est qu’un simple rappel d’obligations.
  • L’écoute du débiteur : en matière de saisie, le débiteur possède également des droits inaliénables. C’est en l’écoutant que vous comprendrez l’étendue des droits qui lui sont reconnus. Ce sont les biens indispensables à sa vie courante.

Les compétences d’un huissier Paris sont strictement encadrées par le législateur. Ne les outrepassez pas si vous souhaitez maintenir la crédibilité reconnue à votre action dans l’application des décisions de justice parisiennes.

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.