Home » Legal news » When justice tries to avoid the incarceration of minors

When justice tries to avoid the incarceration of minors

When justice tries to avoid the incarceration of minors

For minors in difficulty, the priority of justice is to avoid recidivism and to protect young people. For this, it can decide on support measures, in particular through the Judicial Protection of Youth.

In France, nearly one in ten criminal cases involves minors. So many difficult cases, where educational challenges are painfully mixed with legal imperatives. In these cases, the minors are entrusted to the Judicial Protection of Youth (PJJ). This branch of the Ministry of Justice is responsible for supporting young people and enforcing court decisions.

The PJJ supports minors over the age of thirteen, as soon as they are indicted. It accompanies them until their trial, and beyond, sometimes after their majority. It has a main mission: to support minors in order to make constructive court decisions, to include them in a support process. “Judicial protection of youth does not have a punitive aspect.

When a judge orders a measure against the young person, it is not to punish, it is to support him, to try that he does not reoffend“, estimates Maître Irène Durier, lawyer at the bar of Bobigny, specializing in children's issues.

To carry out its mission, the Judicial Protection of Youth must respect a delicate balance: to apply the decisions of the judge, which can be punitive, while working for the protection of minors. “They try to educate young people and support them in their professional and social integration projects, so that they can develop a project and get back on track. The punitive aspect is not up to them,” insists Maître Irène Durier.

With the family, in an open environment or isolated

In the cases which require it, the PJJ must make coincide the accompaniment of the young people with firmness; be careful not to fall into what its detractors would describe as permissive indulgence. This is a difficult requirement, all the more so when the young people in question are the victims of a dramatic personal history.

“The majority of cases are very complicated family situations, most often single-parent,” says Samir, educator for the PJJ in Île-de-France. “We have to give them a framework. I prefer to be the one who tells him that I am here to defend justice, rather than the one who allows everything. It drives me crazy complacency, ”he adds.

To carry out its mission, the PJJ has several mechanisms. It can set up support in an “open environment”.

More concretely, the minor is not separated from his family, and from his usual environment; he is entrusted to an educator who tries to extract him from the spiral of delinquency "I go to play sports with them, I meet their families, I make them pass the license, I encourage them to go see counselors orientation, to go to the local mission", explains Samir.

In cases where this support takes place between the indictment and the trial, the educators are asked by the judge to make his final decision. “According to the judges, we can really have an impact on their judgment,” considers Samir. “If we explain to him that the youngster has never come to the meetings and that he is indifferent, it can have a very bad effect”.

Sometimes incarceration is unavoidable

For minors in great difficulty, the PJJ can carry out placement measures. Depending on the seriousness of the offence, they are placed in homes, closed educational centers (CEF), or reinforced educational centers (CER). This is the final step to combine the application of justice with the protection of minors. This is the last solution to avoid incarceration, a decision taken according to the profile of the young person, in order to prevent them from recidivism. “The CERs and CEFs are to avoid putting them in detention when they need legal protection and stricter supervision than family supervision. It's a stricter framework,” explains Maître Irène Durier.

In some cases, the PJJ cannot prevent incarceration. It is a departure from its protective vocation, a dive into the prison world, with all the risks it entails. “These are young people whose lives are meaningless. Detention brings even more emptiness to emptiness,” Samir notes bitterly. In the event of incarceration, the challenges to be met to prevent minors from descending into delinquency and recidivism are immense. And the mission of the PJJ more delicate than ever. “A 14-year-old still has to build himself. There, it is built in prison, in the majority of cases, it aggravates the problem”, laments Samir.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Quand la justice essaie d’éviter l’incarcération des mineurs

Quand la justice essaie d’éviter l’incarcération des mineurs

Quand la justice essaie d’éviter l’incarcération des mineurs

Pour les mineurs en difficulté, la justice a pour priorité d’éviter la récidive et de protéger les jeunes. Pour cela, elle peut décider de mesures d’accompagnement, notamment à travers la Protection judiciaire de la jeunesse.

En France, près d’une affaire pénale sur dix implique des mineurs. Autant de cas difficiles, ou les défis éducatifs se mêlent douloureusement aux impératifs judiciaires. Dans ces cas-là, les mineurs sont confiés à la Protection Judiciaire de la Jeunesse (PJJ). Cette branche du ministère de la Justice est chargée d’accompagner les jeunes et d’appliquer les décisions des tribunaux.

La PJJ prend en charge les mineurs de plus de treize ans, dès leur mise en examen. Elle les accompagne jusqu’à leur procès, et au-delà, parfois après leur majorité. Elle a une mission principale : prendre en charge les mineurs pour rendre les décisions de justice constructive, les inscrire dans une démarche d’accompagnement. “La protection Judiciaire de la Jeunesse n’a pas d’aspect punitif.

Quand un juge ordonne une mesure à l’encontre du jeune, ce n’est pas pour punir, c’est pour l’accompagner, pour essayer qu’il ne récidive pas“, estime Maitre Irène Durier, avocate au barreau de Bobigny, spécialisée dans les questions de l’enfance.

Pour assurer sa mission, la Protection Judiciaire de la Jeunesse doit respecter un équilibre délicat : appliquer les décisions du juge, qui peuvent être punitives, tout en œuvrant pour la protection des mineurs. « Ils essayent de faire de l’éducatif avec le jeune et de l’épauler dans ses projets d’insertion, professionnels et sociaux, pour qu’il développe un projet et qu’il puisse se remettre sur les rails. Ce n’est pas à eux que revient l’aspect punitif », insiste Maitre Irène Durier.

En famille, en milieu ouvert ou isolés

Dans les cas qui l’exigent, la PJJ doit faire coïncider l’accompagnement des jeunes à la fermeté ; prendre garde à ne pas tomber dans ce que ses détracteurs qualifieraient d’indulgence permissive. C’est une exigence difficile, d’autant plus lorsque les jeunes en question sont les victimes d’une histoire personnelle dramatique.

« La majorité des cas, ce sont des situations familiales très compliquées, le plus souvent monoparentales », raconte Samir, éducateur pour la PJJ en Île-de-France. « Il faut leur donner un cadre. Je préfère être celui qui lui dit que je suis là pour défendre la justice, plutôt que celui qui permet tout. Ça me rend dingue la complaisance », ajoute-t-il.

Pour assurer sa mission la PJJ dispose de plusieurs dispositifs. Elle peut mettre en place un accompagnement en « milieu ouvert ».

Plus concrètement, le mineur n’est pas séparé de sa famille, et de son environnement habituel ; il est confié à un éducateur qui s’efforce de l’extraire de la spirale de la délinquance « Je vais faire du sport avec eux, je rencontre leurs familles, je leur fais passer le permis, je les encourage à aller voir des conseillers d’orientation, à aller à la mission locale », détaille Samir.

Dans les où cet accompagnement a lieu entre la mise en examen et le procès, les éducateurs sont sollicités par le juge pour prendre sa décision finale. « Selon les juges, on peut vraiment avoir un impact sur leur jugement », considère Samir. « Si on lui explique que le jeune n’est jamais venu aux rendez-vous et qu’il est indifférent, ça peut faire un très mauvais effet ».

Parfois l’incarcération est inévitable

Pour les mineurs en grande difficulté, la PJJ peut exécuter des mesures de placement. Selon la gravité du délit ils sont placés dans des foyers, des centres éducatifs fermés (CEF), ou des centres éducatifs renforcés (CER). C’est l’ultime étape pour faire combiner l’application de la justice à la protection des mineurs. C’est la dernière solution pour éviter l’incarcération, une décision prise en fonction du profil du jeune, dans le soucis de leur éviter la récidive. « Les CER et les CEF c’est pour éviter de les mettre en détention quand ils ont besoin de protection judiciaire et d’un encadrement plus sévère que l’encadrement familial. C’est un encadrement plus strict », explique maître Irène Durier.

Dans certains cas, la PJJ ne peut pas empêcher l’incarcération. C’est une entorse à sa vocation protectrice, une plongée dans l’univers carcéral, avec tous les risques qu’il comporte. « C’est des jeunes dont la vie est vide de sens. La détention apporte encore plus de vide au vide », constate amèrement Samir. En cas d’incarcération, les défis à relever pour éviter que les mineurs ne sombrent dans la délinquance et récidives sont immenses. Et la mission de la PJJ plus délicate que jamais. « Un jeune à 14 ans doit encore se construire. Là, il se construit en prison, dans la majorité des cas, ça aggrave le problème », se désole Samir.

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.