Home » Legal news » How is an appraisal carried out after a fire disaster?

How is an appraisal carried out after a fire disaster?

How is an appraisal carried out after a fire disaster?

Between the administrative documents to be completed for your insurer and the work to be planned, it is sometimes difficult to navigate after a disaster, whether it is water damage or a fire. Expertise is important in order to be able to receive compensation, read on to understand in detail the steps of an expertise.

What is the interest of an expert report after a fire?

An expertise will allow you to assess the damage to estimate your compensation, knowing that it cannot exceed the amount of the value of the damaged property at the time of the incident according to article L121-1 of the Insurance Code. In order not to be harmed, it is important that you know the value of your goods and the amount of their repair, in the event of a dispute, you can contest the expert's report.

What to do after a disaster?

After a fire in your home, you must notify your insurance within five days. Your advisor will tell you what to send to him to open the file; most often, you will be asked for your personal contact details, your contract or customer number, the date of the incident, the origin of the fire if you know it and a first estimate of the damage. The insurance will mandate an expert who will contact you.

What to do before the expert's visit?

You will have to carry out a statement of losses before the visit of the expert. It is a document in which you will enter all the damage caused, both real estate and furniture, and the estimate of their amount; remember to attach all the documentary evidence of value that you have in your possession. This document will allow the expert to observe the damage with you without forgetting any, to check their value or the estimated amount, to indicate the percentage of obsolescence and to calculate the compensation that will be paid to you immediately and that paid deferred according to Your contract. You will find loss report models on the internet.

How is the expertise going?

Once your insurance has been contacted, the expert will arrange an appointment with you. He will first check that the declarations you have made to your insurance company comply with the contract taken out, otherwise you will incur a penalty in your compensation. Then, you will give him your statement of losses so that the expert can check the damage and make an estimate; do not hesitate to ask him for advice. Its expertise will also seek to identify the causes of the fire and whether a third party is involved.

And after?

The expert will send you his conclusions and the amount of the damage, with an agreement to be signed. This document is sent to your insurance so that they can offer you compensation. If you disagree with the expert's conclusions, you can request a second opinion by contacting a new expert, often at your expense. 

Clean up after the fire?

Depending on the extent of the disaster, you may not be able to clean on your own and will need to hire a specialist cleaning company. It is important to use the right equipment so as not to aggravate the damage. First of all, you have to decontaminate and disinfect the home before you can clean the floors, ceilings and walls. Then the odors will have to be eliminated before the house can be restored, whether by repainting the walls or replacing the floors. The techniques and products to be used will differ depending on the type of fire that has occurred.

In the event of a dispute, remember to contact the appraisal firm to find a solution. In order to opt for the best home insurance, do not hesitate to consult insurance comparators on the internet. They will allow you to identify the insurance that will best meet your needs.

How to prevent a fire at an event?

When you plan to organize an event open to the public, it is essential that you comply with the regulations in force. Indeed, it is essential on your side to do what is necessary to avoid all risks of fire and to provide solutions in the event of a problem. So, whether your event is regular or not, it is mandatory to have insurance that covers your event.

In the same way, it can be interesting to have fire extinguishers everywhere on the place of the event. If a fire were to break out and damage certain equipment, you can claim your insurance. To get a second opinion, you can ask for a fire counter-expertise.

Facing a fire

When you organize an event, one of the first things to do is to check the electrical installations and have them checked if necessary. In this way, you can be sure that everything is working correctly and you will be reassured. In this logic, you can also check the events, where the fire can come into play.

Despite your best efforts, it may happen that a fire breaks out and damages equipment or other material elements. If you have taken out insurance, your insurance will appoint an expert to come to the scene and make the first findings. At the end of his visit to the scene of the fire, he will produce a report.

If you wish to have a second opinion on the fire, it is recommended to call a insurance adjuster following a fire. In this way, you will be able to carry out an independent counter-expertise. The expert will then take note of the guarantees of your insurance contract and he will estimate the cost of the damage that you have just suffered as a result of this fire.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Comment se déroule une expertise après un sinistre incendie ?

Comment se déroule une expertise après un sinistre incendie ?

Comment se déroule une expertise après un sinistre incendie ?

Entre les documents administratifs à remplir pour votre assureur et les travaux à prévoir, il est parfois difficile de s’y retrouver après un sinistre, que ce soit un dégât des eaux ou un incendie. L’expertise est importante afin de pouvoir recevoir une indemnisation, poursuivez votre lecture pour comprendre en détails les étapes d’une expertise.

Quel est l’intérêt d’une expertise après un incendie ?

Une expertise vous permettra d’évaluer les dommages pour estimer votre indemnité, sachant qu’elle ne peut pas dépasser le montant de la valeur du bien sinistré au moment de l’incident selon l’article L121-1 du Code des Assurances. Afin de ne pas être lésé, il est important que vous connaissiez la valeur de vos biens et le montant de leur réparation, en cas de litige, vous pourrez contester le rapport de l’expert.

Que faut-il faire après un sinistre ?

Après un incendie dans votre domicile, vous devez prévenir votre assurance dans les cinq jours qui suivent. Votre conseiller vous indiquera les éléments à lui transmettre pour ouvrir le dossier ; le plus souvent, on vous demandera vos coordonnées personnelles, votre numéro de contrat ou de client, la date du sinistre, l’origine de l’incendie si vous la connaissez et une première estimation du dommage. L’assurance mandatera un expert qui prendra contact avec vous.

Que faire avant la visite de l’expert ?

Vous devrez réaliser un état des pertes avant le passage de l’expert. C’est un document où vous inscrirez tous les dommages causés, tant immobilier que mobilier, et l’estimation de leur montant ; pensez à joindre tous les justificatifs de valeur que vous avez en votre possession. Ce document permettra à l’expert de constater avec vous les dommages sans en oublier, de vérifier leur valeur ou le montant estimé, d’indiquer le pourcentage de vétusté et de calculer l’indemnité qui vous sera versée immédiatement et celle versée en différé selon votre contrat. Vous trouverez sur internet des modèles d’état des pertes.

Comment se passe l’expertise ?

Une fois votre assurance contactée, l’expert conviendra d’un rendez-vous avec vous. Il vérifiera en premier lieu que les déclarations que vous avez faîtes auprès de votre assurance sont conformes au contrat souscrit, dans le cas contraire, vous encourez un malus dans votre indemnisation. Ensuite, vous lui remettrez votre état des pertes pour que l’expert vérifie les dégâts et réalise une estimation ; n’hésitez pas à lui demander conseil. Son expertise cherchera aussi à identifier les causes de l’incendie et si un tiers est impliqué.

Et après ?

L’expert vous fera parvenir ses conclusions et le montant des dommages, avec un accord à signer. Ce document est envoyé à votre assurance pour qu’elle vous propose une indemnisation. En cas de désaccord avec les conclusions de l’expert, vous pouvez demander une contre-expertise en contactant un nouvel expert, souvent à vos frais. 

Nettoyer après l’incendie ?

Selon l’étendue du sinistre, vous ne pourrez peut-être pas nettoyer par vous-même et devrez faire appel à une entreprise de nettoyage spécialisée. Il est important d’utiliser le matériel adapté pour ne pas aggraver les dégâts. Tout d’abord, il faut décontaminer et désinfecter le domicile avant de pouvoir nettoyer les sols, les plafonds ainsi que les murs. Ensuite, il faudra éliminer les odeurs avant de pouvoir remettre la maison en état, que ce soit en repeignant les murs ou en remplaçant les sols. Les techniques et les produits à utiliser seront différents selon le type d’incendie qui a eu lieu.

En cas de litige, pensez à contacter le cabinet d’expertise pour trouver une solution. Afin d’opter pour la meilleure assurance habitation, n’hésitez pas à consulter des comparateurs d’assurance sur internet. Ils vous permettront d’identifier l’assurance qui correspondra le plus à vos besoins.

Comment prévenir un incendie sur un évènement ?

Lorsque vous envisagez d’organiser un événement accueillant du public, il est indispensable que vous respectiez la réglementation en vigueur. En effet, il est essentiel de votre côté de faire le nécessaire pour éviter tous les risques d’incendie et de prévoir des solutions en cas de problème. Ainsi, que votre événement soit régulier ou non, il est obligatoire d’avoir une assurance qui couvre votre événement.

De la même manière, il peut être intéressant de disposer des extincteurs un peu partout sur le lieu de l’événement. Si un feu devait se déclencher, et abîmer certains équipements, vous pourrez faire jouer votre assurance. Pour avoir un second avis, vous pouvez demander une contre-expertise incendie.

Faire face à un incendie

Quand vous organisez un événement, l’une des premières choses à faire est de vérifier les installations électriques et de les faire contrôler le cas échéant. De cette manière, vous pourrez être sûr que tout fonctionne correctement et vous serez rassuré. Dans cette logique, vous pouvez aussi vérifier les événements, où le feu peut entrer en ligne de compte.

Malgré tous vos efforts, il peut arriver qu’un incendie se déclare et qu’il détériore des équipements ou d’autres éléments matériels. Si vous avez souscrit à une assurance, votre assurance va mandater un expert pour qu’il vienne sur les lieux et réaliser les premières constatations. À la fin de sa visite sur les lieux de l’incendie, il va réaliser un rapport.

Si vous souhaitez avoir un second avis sur l’incendie, il est recommandé de faire appel à un expert en assurance à la suite d’un incendie. De cette manière, vous pourrez effectuer une contre-expertise indépendante. L’expert va alors prendre connaissance des garanties de votre contrat d’assurance et il va estimer le coût des dommages que vous venez de subir à la suite de cet incendie.

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.