Home » Legal news » What to do in the event of domestic violence?

What to do in the event of domestic violence?

What to do in the event of domestic violence?

Today, more and more people are victims of domestic violence. Whatever the form of this cruel act, the victim must act before everything gets worse. To help these victims, here are some important details to know.

What are the different forms of domestic violence?

Domestic violence is not just synonymous with bodily violence. A simple quarrel between a couple is nothing compared to this type of violence. In general, domestic violence manifests itself within a romantic relationship, regardless of its duration. Whether people are married or just in a civil union, of the same sex or not, domestic violence can affect them and can manifest itself in many forms.

physical domestic violence

This form of violence is the most common in a couple relationship. It can be very serious, even fatal if no intervention takes place, because the blows are not controlled at all during the action. The person, under the influence of anger, alcohol or other things, can actually lose control and end up hurting or killing their companion. As soon as there is a raised hand, it is immediately a question of domestic violence. Indeed, the violent person may punch, kick and slap incessantly. She even manages to strangle, to crush her spouse against the wall for real estate, to bite and the worst thing is that she can even use objects or a weapon.

Sexual domestic violence

Women are most often affected by sexual violence. This form of violence has something to do with rape, which is also a crime punishable by law. This can happen in several ways: harassment, brutal gestures, rather violent slaps on all parts of the body, especially on the buttocks and also pinching of the breasts. Forcing someone to perform non-consensual sexual practices is also a form of domestic violence.

Psychological domestic violence

When the person who lives with you, to whom you share something precious, begins to be too possessive, it is because he is inflicting psychological violence on you. Indeed, unhealthy jealousy can impact a romantic relationship. Your companion wants to control everything you do, even the way you dress. He can even prevent you from talking with other people (of different sex) and wants to decide everything for you. He threatens you from time to time and even breaks things you care about.

Verbal domestic violence

Blows aren't the only weapons used to hurt someone. Words can also cause very deep wounds. Yelling at your partner is a form of domestic violence that is as unbearable as any other. If there are also threats, the verbal abuse then becomes more serious and the victim must act as quickly as possible.

What are the penalties incurred?

To protect all victims of domestic violence, there is indeed a law in force. Aggression is a crime whatever its form, because the sequelae can be quite heavy and can even lead to significant consequences on all levels (personal and professional). The victims must therefore not stand idly by and continue to endure all this violence. If it happens between husband and wife, between cohabitants or between people who have signed a contract together, the violence is considered a serious offense and the penalty incurred is increased. If the victim suffers an ITT or total incapacity for work between 0 and 8 days, the penalty is a fine of €45 with a maximum of 000 years in prison.

If the situation is more serious, the penalty becomes more important: 5 to 7 years in prison with a fine of € 75. In the event of psychological violence, the penalty is also 000 years' imprisonment with a fine of € 3. Sexual harassment within a couple is also an act punishable by law. Consequently, the partner at fault risks being imprisoned for two years and liable to pay a fine of € 45.

What is the procedure for filing a complaint?

Domestic violence is a cruel act that usually happens behind closed doors. Neighbors can testify to this, especially if it happens frequently, but it is above all up to the victim to file a complaint. She can directly contact the number of an association to benefit from all the useful support provided by SOS violence conjugale, for example. For an immediate intervention, it is always possible to call the police. If you wish file a complaint for domestic violence, you can go to a police station closest to you to expose all your marital worries. The police will then write a report of basic information on the place and the date of the crime. You should also write an accurate statement of facts, often backing it up with evidence such as documents, photos or medical reports.

What is the role of a lawyer specializing in domestic violence?

To deal with domestic violence, the victim can actually call on a lawyer specializing in domestic violence. The latter plays a very crucial role in this kind of context, especially if dialogue with the violent partner becomes impossible. It is also possible that the victim can no longer speak freely, hence the importance of the presence of a lawyer. His assistance is of great importance to get the victim out of danger as quickly as possible. Indeed, a lawyer specializing in domestic violence plays several roles:

  • Put an end to domestic violence by bringing the justice system into play
  • Have the violent partner sanctioned by the judicial voice
  • Gather the necessary evidence to indict him
  • Support the victim in criminal proceedings
  • Act quickly to obtain a protection order
  • Protecting interests in the event of separation or divorce

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Que faire en cas de violence conjugale ?

Que faire en cas de violence conjugale ?

Que faire en cas de violence conjugale ?

Aujourd’hui, de plus en plus de personnes sont victimes de violence conjugale. Quelle que soit la forme de cet acte cruel, la victime doit agir avant que tout s’aggrave. Pour venir en aide à ces victimes, voici des détails importants à connaître.

Quelles sont les différentes formes de violence conjugales ?

La violence conjugale n’est pas uniquement synonyme de violence corporelle. Une simple querelle entre un couple n’est rien face à ce type de violence. En général, la violence conjugale se manifeste au sein d’une relation amoureuse, peu importe sa durée. Que les personnes soient mariées ou juste unies de façon civile, de même sexe ou non, la violence conjugale peut bien les toucher et peut se manifester sous plusieurs formes.

La violence conjugale physique

Cette forme de violence est la plus courante dans une relation de couple. Elle peut être très grave, voire même fatale si aucune intervention ne se passe, car les coups ne sont pas du tout contrôlés lors de l’action. La personne, sous l’effet de la colère, de l’alcool ou d’autres choses, peut effectivement perdre tout contrôle et finit par blesser ou tuer son compagnon. Dès qu’il y a une main levée, il est tout de suite question de violence conjugale. En effet, la personne violente peut donner des coups de poing, des coups de pieds et des gifles incessantes. Elle arrive même à étrangler, à écraser son conjoint contre le mur pour l’immobilier, à mordre et le pire, c’est qu’elle peut même utiliser des objets ou une arme.

La violence conjugale sexuelle

Les femmes sont les plus souvent touchées par la violence sexuelle. Cette forme de violence a quelque chose à voir avec le viol, qui est aussi un crime puni par la loi. Cela peut se passer de plusieurs manières : harcèlement, gestes brutaux, des tapes assez violentes sur toutes les parties du corps, surtout sur les fesses et aussi des pincements aux seins. Forcer quelqu’un à réaliser des pratiques sexuelles non consenties est également une forme de violence conjugale.

La violence conjugale psychologique

Lorsque la personne qui vit avec vous, à qui vous partager quelque chose de précieux, commence à être trop possessive, c’est qu’elle vous inflige une violence psychologique. En effet, la jalousie maladive peut impacter une relation amoureuse. Votre compagnon veut contrôler tous vos faits et gestes, et même votre façon de s’habiller. Il peut même vous empêcher de parler avec d’autres gens (de sexe différent) et veut tout décider à votre place. Il vous menace de temps en temps et arrive même de briser des objets auxquels vous tenez.

La violence conjugale verbale

Les coups ne sont pas les seules armes servant à faire du mal à quelqu’un. Les mots aussi peuvent causer des blessures très profondes. Le fait de crier sur son compagnon est une forme de violence conjugale qui est aussi insupportable que toutes les autres. S’il y a en plus des menaces, la violence verbale devient alors plus grave que la victime se doive d’agir au plus vite.

Quelles sont les peines encourues ?

Pour protéger toutes les victimes de violence conjugale, il existe en effet une loi en vigueur. L’agression est un crime quelle que soit sa forme, car les séquelles peuvent être assez lourdes et peuvent même entraîner des conséquences importantes sur tous les plans (personnel et professionnel). Les victimes ne doivent pas donc rester bras croisés en continuant d’endurer toutes ces violences. Si cela se passe entre mari et femme, entre concubins ou entre personnes ayant signé un contrat ensemble, la violence est considérée de grave délit et la peine encourue s’alourdit. Si la victime subit une ITT ou Incapacité totale de travail entre 0 et 8 jours, la sanction est de 45 000 € d’amende avec 3 ans de prison au maximum.

Si la situation est plus grave, la peine devient plus importante : 5 à 7 ans de prison avec une amende de 75 000 €. En cas de violence psychologique, la peine encourue est aussi de 3 ans d’emprisonnement avec une amende de 45 000 €. Le harcèlement sexuel qui se fait au sein d’un couple est également un acte puni par la loi. Par conséquent, le partenaire fautif risque d’être emprisonné pour deux ans fermes et passible de payer 30 000 € d’amende.

Quelle est la procédure à suivre pour porter plainte ?

La violence conjugale est un acte cruel qui se passe généralement dans des portes closes. Les voisins peuvent en témoigner, surtout si cela se produit fréquemment, mais il appartient surtout à la victime de porter plainte. Elle peut contacter directement le numéro d’une association pour bénéficier de tous les soutiens utiles fournis par SOS violence conjugale par exemple. Pour une intervention immédiate, il est toujours possible d’appeler la police. Si vous désirez déposer plainte pour violence conjugale, vous pouvez vous rendre dans un poste de police le plus près de chez vous pour exposer tous vos soucis conjugaux. Les policiers vont ensuite rédiger un rapport de renseignements de base sur le lieu et la date du crime. Vous devez aussi écrire une déclaration exacte des faits en l’appuyant souvent avec des preuves telles que des documents, des photos ou des rapports médicaux.

Quel est le rôle de l’avocat spécialisé en violences conjugales ?

Pour faire face à une violence conjugale, la victime peut effectivement faire appel à un avocat spécialisé en violences conjugales. Ce dernier tient un rôle très crucial dans ce genre de contexte, surtout si le dialogue avec le partenaire violent devient impossible. Il se peut également que la victime ne parvienne plus à libérer sa parole, d’où l’importance de la présence d’un avocat. Son assistance est d’une grande importance pour mettre la victime hors de danger le plus vite que possible. En effet, un avocat spécialisé en violences conjugales tient plusieurs rôles :

  • Faire cesser les violences conjugales en faisant intervenir la justice
  • Faire sanctionner le partenaire violent par la voix judiciaire
  • Récolter des preuves nécessaires pour l’inculper
  • Accompagner la victime au pénal
  • Agir pour obtenir rapidement une ordonnance de protection
  • Préserver les intérêts en cas de séparation ou de divorce

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.