Home » Legal news » Why news items fascinate us

Why news items fascinate us

Why do news items fascinate us?

Documentaries, books, TV shows, podcasts… miscellaneous facts are treated in all forms and appeal to the public. Fascinating, they reveal the darkest sides of humanity.

Through the testimonies of journalists, specialists and enthusiasts, the fascination for news items is explained by the mystery it arouses and what it says about society.

A barometer from the National Audiovisual Institute in 2013 reveals that in 10 years, the number of topics devoted to miscellaneous events in evening television news has increased by 73%. Among the most widely reported subjects are acts of violence against people (assaults, murders, kidnappings, rapes, etc.), which constitute half of the subjects broadcast. Behind them, accidents (shipwrecks, fires, drownings…) followed acts of banditry and anti-social violence.

Since this survey, popular interest in the most morbid crimes has not changed one iota, on the contrary. Big-budget documentaries, television series of all kinds, podcasts… news items have continued to flourish around us. Why ? Because it has always aroused a fascination, placing man face to face with his darkest aspects.

Proof of this is the enthusiasm around Society magazine for the Xavier Dupont de Ligonnès affair, as there are few in the press today: 400 copies, with multiple reprints, out of stock, resale on Leboncoin, release of a book and series adaptation.

The key to success

The journalists of Society unveil an investigation that reads like a real thriller with multiple twists… But that is not enough to explain the success of the two issues of Society. For Sylvain Gouverneur, this news item fascinates because it poses a real mystery, because the main suspect in the killing, Xavier Dupont de Ligonnès, has not been found since 2011.

"Until we find him, people will always fantasize about: is he alive, is he dead. As long as we don't know what really happened, people will remain attached to it, ”he explains. More than curiosity around the disappearance of the author of the Nantes massacre, the author of the investigation is convinced that this news item works because it is also revealing of an era: "This news item tells the 2000s with the arrival of the Internet and these people who want to make a fortune very quickly, the greed of human beings. It also talks about consumer credit, and the whole context of the penniless Versailles nobility…”.

Beyond the crime and what it details about an era, the news item comes to tell a dark part of society. An element according to the journalist that “we don't want to look at, but which explains a lot about the human being. The good news story teaches us a little bit more about the human soul”.

Beyond the horror of business, we must not forget the human

This work on the human in the news item is also at the heart of the podcast Fenêtre sur cour by Élise Costa, legal columnist at Arte Radio and slate.fr. By dint of hanging out in the courts, his view of the news item has evolved. In her podcast, the journalist tells what others do not see. A profession, an atmosphere, a gesture... Its goal: to humanize the protagonists of Justice and get out of the Manichean vision of the darkest cases: "By dint of rubbing shoulders with the actors of the judicial world, the victims, the families of the accused, or the defendants… my relationship to the news item has changed.

An accused does not always represent evil, one can come to feel humanity in him, and in the same way that an accused is not simply evil, there are no victims without faults. And that's how I like to work, to make the human or the inhuman in each of us”.

The news item as a story

Roland Barthes said: “news items interest me precisely because they are not the simple relation of a real fact that has existed, but they are real stories such as can be found in folk tales of the past. ". More than a simple news story, the case becomes a story with its protagonists and the many twists and turns that a story can take. A real soap opera that pushes Internet users to carry out their own investigation.

Among them, a 39-year-old Parisian physicist has been devoting three hours a week to his quest for the truth around the Grégory affair for four years. “This case is much more exciting than any fiction. In all that Agatha Christie could write of more insane, nothing competes with the business Gregory”.

The news item brings together

Patrick Avrane, psychoanalyst and author of the book Les fait divers, underlines the similarity between the fait divers and the fiction: “The fait divers is the unexpected, when reality goes beyond fiction. It fascinates by what it has of strangeness, and by this faculty which it has to push us to seek explanations”. According to him, we keep the miscellaneous unfortunate, criminal, unresolved facts, because we wait for the culprit to be judged. Like the Grégory affair, Patrick Avrane believes that the most intriguing news items are infanticides. “Each time a child dies, explains the psychoanalyst, it is as if we men had failed in our task, and that is why infanticide affects everyone”.

This ability to move the crowds comes to forge a community. According to him, "if we start talking about the Grégory affair on a bistro terrace, everyone will give their opinion, develop their hypothesis". The news item therefore unites, it is shared by everyone. These cases mark the spirits, and come to create around them a community which tries to explain: “why such a gesture? ". The news item also pushes us to project ourselves by asking ourselves: “how would I have reacted? ".

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Pourquoi les faits divers nous fascinent

Pourquoi les faits divers nous fascinent

Pourquoi les faits divers nous fascinent ?

Documentaire, livres, émissions de télé, podcasts… les faits divers sont traités sous toutes les formes et plaisent au public. Fascinant, ils révèlent les faces les plus sombres de l’humanité.

À travers les témoignages de journalistes, de spécialistes et de passionnés, la fascination pour le fait divers s’explique par le mystère qu’il suscite et ce qu’il dit sur la société.

Un baromètre de l’Institut national de l’audiovisuel de 2013 révèle qu’en 10 ans, le nombre de sujets consacrés aux faits divers dans les journaux télévisés du soir a augmenté de 73 %. Au palmarès des sujets les plus relayés figurent en première place les actes de violence contre les personnes (agressions, meurtres, enlèvements, viols…), qui constituent la moitié des sujets diffusés. Derrière eux, les accidents (naufrages, incendies, noyades…), s’ensuivent les actes de banditisme et les violences antisociales.

Depuis cette enquête, l’intérêt populaire pour les crimes les plus morbides n’a pas bougé d’un iota, au contraire. Documentaires à gros budgets, séries télévisées en tout genre, podcasts… le fait divers n’a cessé de fleurir autour de nous. Pourquoi ? Parce qu’il suscite depuis toujours une fascination, replaçant l’Homme face à ses aspects les plus sombres.

Preuve en est l’engouement autour du magazine Society sur l’affaire Xavier Dupont de Ligonnès comme il y en a peu dans la presse aujourd’hui : 400 000 exemplaires, avec de multiples réimpressions, rupture de stock, revente sur Leboncoin, sortie d’un livre et adaptation en série.

Le mystère pour clef du succès

Les journalistes de Society dévoilent une enquête qui se lit comme un véritable polar avec de multiples rebondissements… Mais cela ne suffit pas à expliquer le succès des deux numéros de Society. Pour Sylvain Gouverneur, ce fait divers fascine parce qu’il pose un véritable mystère, car le principal suspect de la tuerie, Xavier Dupont de Ligonnès, demeure introuvable depuis 2011.

« Tant qu’on ne l’aura pas retrouvé, les gens fantasmeront toujours sur : est-il vivant, est-il mort. Tant qu’on ne saura pas ce qu’il s’est réellement passé, les gens y resteront accrochés », explique-t-il. Plus que de la curiosité autour de la disparition de l’auteur de la tuerie de Nantes, l’auteur de l’enquête est persuadé que ce fait divers fonctionne parce qu’il est aussi révélateur d’une époque : « Ce fait divers raconte les années 2000 avec l’arrivée d’Internet et ces gens qui souhaitent faire fortune très vite, la cupidité de l’être humain. Ça raconte aussi les crédits à la consommation, et tout le contexte de la noblesse versaillaise désargentée… ».

Au-delà du crime et de ce qu’il détaille sur une époque, le fait divers vient raconter une part sombre de la société. Un élément selon le journaliste que « l’on n’a pas envie de regarder, mais qui explique beaucoup sur l’être humain. Le bon fait divers nous apprend un petit peu plus sur l’âme humaine ».

Au-delà de l’horreur des affaires, il ne faut pas oublier l’humain

Ce travail sur l’humain dans le fait divers est aussi au cœur du podcast Fenêtre sur cour d’Élise Costa, chroniqueuse judiciaire chez Arte Radio et slate.fr. À force de traîner dans les tribunaux, son regard sur le fait divers a évolué. Dans son podcast, la journaliste raconte ce que les autres ne voient pas. Un métier, une atmosphère, un geste… Son but : humaniser les protagonistes de la Justice et sortir de la vision manichéenne des affaires les plus sombres : « À force de côtoyer les acteurs du monde judiciaire, les victimes, les familles des accusés, ou les accusés… mon rapport au fait divers a changé.

Un accusé ne représente pas toujours le mal, on peut arriver à ressentir de l’humanité en lui, et de la même façon qu’un accusé n’est pas simplement mauvais, il n’y a pas de victimes sans défauts. Et c’est comme ça que j’aime travailler, rendre l’humain ou l’inhumain en chacun de nous ».

Le fait divers comme récit

Roland Barthes disait : « le fait divers m’intéresse parce que précisément il n’est pas la simple relation d’un fait réel qui a existé, mais il est un véritable récit comme on peut en trouver dans les contes populaires autrefois. ». Plus qu’un simple fait divers, l’affaire devient un récit avec ses protagonistes et les multiples rebondissements que peut connaître une histoire. Un véritable feuilleton qui pousse des internautes à mener eux même leur enquête.

Parmi eux, un physicien parisien de 39 ans consacre, depuis quatre ans, trois heures par semaine à sa quête de la vérité autour de l’affaire Grégory. « Cette affaire est bien plus passionnante que n’importe quelle fiction. Dans tout ce qu’Agatha Christie a pu écrire de plus fou, rien ne rivalise avec l’affaire Gregory ».

Le fait divers rassemble

Patrick Avrane, psychanalyste et auteur de l’ouvrage Les faits divers, souligne la similarité entre le fait divers et la fiction : « Le fait divers, c’est l’inattendu, quand la réalité dépasse la fiction. Il fascine par ce qu’il a d’étrange, et par cette faculté qu’il a de nous pousser à chercher des explications ». Selon lui, on retient les faits divers malheureux, criminels, non résolus, car l’on attend que le coupable soit jugé. À l’image de l’affaire Grégory, Patrick Avrane estime que les faits divers les plus intrigants sont les infanticides. « À chaque fois qu’un enfant meurt, explique le psychanalyste, c’est comme si nous, les hommes, avions failli à notre tâche, et c’est pour ça que l’infanticide touche tout le monde ».

Cette faculté à émouvoir les foules vient forger une communauté. Selon lui, « si l’on se met à parler de l’affaire Grégory à une terrasse de bistro, chacun va donner son avis, développer son hypothèse ». Le fait divers rassemble donc, il est partagé par tout le monde. Ces affaires marquent les esprits, et viennent créer autour d’elles une communauté qui tente d’expliquer : « pourquoi un tel geste ? ». Le fait divers, pousse aussi à nous projeter en se demandant : « comment aurais-je réagi ? ».

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.