Home » Legal news » Auto-entrepreneur and retirement: What are your rights?

Auto-entrepreneur and retirement: What are your rights?

Auto-entrepreneur and retirement: What are your rights?

The activity carried out by theauto entrepreneur on a principal or additional basis, entitles him to pension rights under the same conditions as traditional self-employed workers[1]. To do this, he must pay his social security contributions. But still it is necessary that it achieves a minimum of turnover?[2].

Completion of specific procedures is in no way required for affiliation to a given pension fund. Indeed, following the declaration of the micro-enterprise and depending on the nature of the activity envisaged, URSSAF automatically affiliates the micro-entrepreneur to the corresponding pension fund.[3].

Depending on the nature of the activity, the auto-entrepreneur comes under either the Social Security scheme for the Self-Employed (SSI)[4] or the Interprofessional Provident and Old-Age Insurance Fund (CIPAV).

Social Security for the Self-Employed

It brings together craftsmen, traders and unregulated liberal professions (consultants, draughtsmen, designers, driving school instructors, palmists, magnetizers, etc.).

The Interprofessional Provident and Old-Age Insurance Fund

It concerns the regulated liberal professions architects, consulting engineers, expert surveyors, agricultural and land experts, mid-mountain guides, construction economists, etc.[5].

How the self-employed pension plan works

The operation of the auto-entrepreneur pension plan is very simple. Indeed, to benefit from pension rights, the latter must pay his contributions (a) and validate the number of quarters required (b). Finally, it is only once retired that the auto-entrepreneur will benefit from his contributions (c).

Payment of dues

The principle is simple: pay for it in retirement. Indeed, the auto-entrepreneur must pay a quarterly auto-entrepreneur contribution to be able to benefit from it on retirement. It is up to Urssaf to ensure payment to the organization concerned.[6].

Note that the amount of the contribution is based on the turnover achieved and the amount paid is used to finance both the basic pension and the supplementary pension. Note that the higher the turnover, the higher the contribution.

Validation of quarters

To benefit from a full pension, the micro-entrepreneur must validate sufficient auto-entrepreneur retirement quarters[7]. In principle, the latter can validate up to 4 quarters per year (for retirements at age 62). However, if this departure takes place at age 67, the validation of the quarters no longer holds. In this case, the auto-entrepreneur will be able to benefit from a full pension.

The validation of the quarters requires the achievement of a sufficient turnover and must be declared.

Retirement

As already mentioned, it is retirement that entitles the auto-entrepreneur to the benefit of pension rights. In France, you can retire at the age of 62. But to benefit from a full pension, the micro-entrepreneur must have validated the number of quarters required.

The calculation of the retirement of the auto-entrepreneur

The formula used to calculate the pension varies according to the affiliation fund.

For the ISS: Average annual income x Rate x (number of insurance quarters validated / reference duration)[8].

For Cipav: the calculation of pension rights depends in part on the number of points acquired by the auto-entrepreneur[9].

Indeed, here, the contributions paid by auto-entrepreneurs are converted into points, the number of which is then multiplied by their value.

In short, only the payment of contributions which vary according to the turnover achieved, opens pension rights to the auto-entrepreneur. To do this, the latter must during the exercise of his activity, validate the quarters of contribution required to be able to claim it on retirement.


  • [1] https://www.legalplace.fr/guides/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/
  • [2] https://www.assistant-juridique.fr/validation_retraite_autoentrepreneur.jsp
  • [3] https://www.aide-sociale.fr/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/
  • [4] Formerly known as the RSI (Régime Social des Indépendants)
  • [5] Cipav list (https://bpifrance-creation.fr/encyclopedie/trouver-proteger-tester-son-idee/verifiertester-son-idee/liste-professions-liberales)
  • [6] https://www.getcaravel.fr/blog/auto-entrepreneur-quels-sont-vos-droits-a-la-retraite
  • [7] https://www.getcaravel.fr/blog/auto-entrepreneur-quels-sont-vos-droits-a-la-retraite
  • [8] https://www.aide-sociale.fr/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/
  • [9] https://www.aide-sociale.fr/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Auto-entrepreneur et retraite : Quels sont vos droits ?

Auto-entrepreneur et retraite : Quels sont vos droits ?

Auto-entrepreneur et retraite : Quels sont vos droits ?

L’activité exercée par l’auto-entrepreneur à titre principal ou complémentaire, lui ouvre des droits à la retraite dans les mêmes conditions que les travailleurs indépendants classiques[1]. Pour ce faire, il doit s’acquitter de ses cotisations sociales. Mais encore faut-il qu’il réalise un minimum de chiffre d’affaires ?[2].

L’accomplissement de démarches spécifiques n’est nullement requis pour l’affiliation à une caisse de retraite donnée. En effet, suite à la déclaration de la micro-entreprise et en fonction de la nature de l’activité envisagée, l’URSSAF affilie automatiquement le micro-entrepreneur à la caisse de retraite correspondante[3].

En fonction de la nature de l’activité, l’auto-entrepreneur relève soit du régime Sécurité Sociale des Indépendants (SSI)[4] soit de la Caisse Interprofessionnelle de Prévoyance et d’Assurance Vieillesse (CIPAV).

La Sécurité Sociale des Indépendants

Elle regroupe les artisans, les commerçants et les professions libérales non réglementée (les consultants, dessinateurs, designers, moniteurs d’auto-écoles, chiromanciens, magnétiseurs…).

La Caisse Interprofessionnelle de Prévoyance et d’Assurance de Vieillesse

Elle concerne les professions libérales réglementées les architectes, ingénieurs-conseils, géomètres experts, experts agricoles et fonciers, accompagnateurs de moyenne montagne, économistes de la construction…[5].

Le fonctionnement du régime de retraite de l’auto-entrepreneur

Le fonctionnement du régime de retraite de l’auto-entrepreneur est très simple. En effet, pour bénéficier des droits de retraite, ce dernier doit payer ses cotisations (a) et valider le nombre de trimestres exigé (b). Enfin, ce n’est qu’une fois à la retraite que l’auto-entrepreneur va profiter de ses cotisations (c).

Paiement des cotisations

Le principe est simple : payer pour en bénéficier à la retraite.   En effet, l’auto-entrepreneur doit verser une cotisation trimestrielle d’auto-entrepreneur pour pouvoir en bénéficier à la retraite.  C’est à l’Urssaf qu’il revient d’assurer le paiement auprès de l’organisme concerné[6].

A noter que le montant de la cotisation est en fonction du chiffre d’affaires réalisé et la somme versée sert à financer et la retraite de base et la retraite complémentaire. On remarquera que plus le chiffre d’affaires est élevé, plus la cotisation est importante.

Validation des trimestres

Pour bénéficier d’une retraite à taux plein, le micro-entrepreneur doit valider des trimestres retraite auto-entrepreneur suffisants[7]. En principe, ce dernier peut valider jusqu’à 4 trimestres par an (pour les départs à la retraite à l’âge 62 ans). Néanmoins, si ce départ a lieu à 67 ans, la de validation des trimestres ne tient plus. Dans ce cas, l’auto-entrepreneur pourra profiter d’une retraite à taux plein.

La validation des trimestres nécessite la réalisation  d’un chiffre d’affaires suffisant et doit être déclaré.

Départ à la retraite

Tel que déjà rappelé, c’est le départ à la retraite qui ouvre droit l’auto-entrepreneur au bénéfice des droits de retraite.  En France, on peut partir à la retraite à l’âge de 62 ans. Mais pour bénéficier d’une retraite à taux plein, le micro-entrepreneur doit avoir validé le nombre de trimestres requis.

Le calcul de la retraite de l’auto-entrepreneur

La formule utilisée pour le calcul de la retraite varie selon la caisse d’affiliation.

Pour la SSI : Revenu annuel moyen x Taux x (nombre de trimestres d’assurance validés / durée de référence)[8].

Pour la Cipav : le calcul des droits de retraite dépend en partie du nombre de points acquis par l’auto-entrepreneur[9].

En effet, ici, les cotisations versées par les auto-entrepreneurs sont converties en points dont le nombre est ensuite multiplié à leur valeur.

En somme, seul le versement de cotisations qui varient suivant le chiffre d’affaires réalisé, ouvre des droits de retraite à l’auto-entrepreneur. Pour ce faire, ce dernier doit pendant l’exercice de son activité, valider les trimestres de cotisation requis pour pouvoir y prétendre à la retraite.


  • [1] https://www.legalplace.fr/guides/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/
  • [2] https://www.assistant-juridique.fr/validation_retraite_autoentrepreneur.jsp
  • [3] https://www.aide-sociale.fr/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/
  • [4] Anciennement connu sous le RSI (Régime Social des Indépendants)
  • [5] Liste de la Cipav (https://bpifrance-creation.fr/encyclopedie/trouver-proteger-tester-son-idee/verifiertester-son-idee/liste-professions-liberales)
  • [6] https://www.getcaravel.fr/blog/auto-entrepreneur-quels-sont-vos-droits-a-la-retraite
  • [7] https://www.getcaravel.fr/blog/auto-entrepreneur-quels-sont-vos-droits-a-la-retraite
  • [8] https://www.aide-sociale.fr/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/
  • [9] https://www.aide-sociale.fr/cotisation-retraite-auto-entrepreneur/

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.