Home » Legal news » All about legal aid in France

All about legal aid in France

Many cases remain hidden in the shadows without being judged for lack of resources of the plaintiff. The State then established a system to grant legal aid to those who cannot cover the various legal costs, provided they meet the required conditions. Legal aid covers the fees of legal personnel including the lawyer, the notary and the bailiff, as well as costs related to the trial procedure. Same minors can apply for legal aid, however, it is important to know what the law imposes on this case.

Concept on legal aid

Legal aid is the help that the State grants to people who need to take legal action, but lack the resources. The State bears all or part of the costs of the legal proceedings on behalf of the plaintiffs and undertakes to pay them.

Legal aid has been set up to allow everyone to access justice and enjoy the same rights. Thus, legal aid covers expenses relating to legal proceedings such as the fees of legal assistants, as well as legal costs.

Legal aid is granted during civil proceedings such as divorce, or for criminal proceedings such as conflicts, submitted to the criminal court. Also, it applies during an administrative procedure, following an administrative sanction.

Beneficiaries of legal aid

Justice is accessible to everyone regardless of the nature and seriousness of the case and the financial situation of the citizen. Anyone wishing to bring a legal action or who is affected by the legal proceedings has the right to apply for legal aid.

The list of persons benefiting from legal aid includes the plaintiff, the civil party, the accused, the defendant, the witness, the assisted witnesses, the individuals charged, and the convicted person.

It should be noted that the sums paid before a request for legal aid are no longer reimbursed, the best option is to file the request for legal aid as soon as possible. 

Conditions for obtaining legal aid

Three conditions are required to benefit from legal aid, which are:

  • Be of French or European nationality;
  • Have a permanent residence in France;
  • Compliance with the non-subscription to a legal protection insurance contract, because the latter covers the costs of justice.

As a result, foreigners on short stays cannot benefit from this legal aid.. An income ceiling is put in place by the State. As a result, the applicant's reference tax income must be below the required ceiling, as must these movable and immovable assets.

It should also be noted that French law does not provide legal aid if a person is tried by a foreign court.  On the other hand, it is possible to benefit from legal aid if it is the foreign country which provides it. Thus, a form is to be completed and sent to the justice system, which will forward it to the officials of the country concerned.

However, since January 01, 2021, cases that are tried in another Member State of the European Union except Denmark and the United Kingdom, can benefit from legal aid, according to the rules in force in the country.. It is important to know that legal assistance can only take place in civil and commercial cases.

The litigant must realize that he is obliged to pay the costs of justice and the lawyer in the event that he loses the case, this settlement can be total or partial. However, the lawyer must have won the trial to have the right to request his fees from the litigant.

Exceptions to legal aid

Legal aid has no age limit, as it can be allocated to minors withheld a right of residence, in the event that they are placed in a detention center or because they are assigned for distance measure.

The law is tolerant in certain cases such as that of minors. Hence the law has provided a list of exceptions regarding legal aid for minor applicants.

Legal aid is given to a minor applicant without constraint when the latter wishes to be heard by the judge for family matters or JAF. This is also the case for a neglected minor: temporary aid is issued to him without verification of the parents' eligibility for legal aid. 

Legal aid for victims of crime

Legal aid is given to victims of criminal acts without verification of:

  • Tax income;
  • Heritage value.

Legal aid for victims of domestic violence

An emergency procedure for the denunciation of domestic violence allows the granting of temporary legal aid. The conditions required to benefit from legal aid must be fulfilled during the procedure. Otherwise you will be charged to repay the aid.

The amount of legal aid

The amount of legal aid depends on the applicant's taxable income. Legal aid varies between 50% and 100%. In the case of full legal aid, the expenses relating to the procedure are covered by the State.

In the event that the applicant is the only one to file the tax return, the assets must not exceed a certain value.

It should be noted that for the amount of legal aid, the calculation of the ceilings and the different payment methods are done differently depending on the number of people in a tax household, ranging from 2 to 7 people.

He is required to know that a cohabiting couple each make their tax return since they have a separate tax household. On the other hand, a married couple or an attached adult parent or child share a single tax household.

The difference between full and partial legal aid

lawyer having a meeting with the client

When it comes to full and partial payment, there are key points to remember. The State covers all legal costs when it grants all legal aid, including legal costs. However, some jurisdictions require the payment of the costs of the argument which is the responsibility of the plaintiff, as well as the lawyer he has chosen for his defense.

Thanks to legal aid, the applicant is free to choose the lawyer who suits him. In the event that it is impossible for the plaintiff to have one, according to the law, he has the right to a court-appointed lawyer. More specifically, it is the President of the Bar Association who makes it available to him.

It is the applicant's duty to communicate to the legal aid office his desire to have another lawyer in the context of a dissatisfaction.

On the other hand, legal aid, even partial, covers the total amount that the State owes the lawyer, the bailiff, the notary, and the costs relating to the procedure (costs of expertise and social investigations.)

Procedure for applying for legal aid

The decree of January 5, 2022 provides information on the model legal aid application form as well as the list of documents to be provided.

Since February 01, 2022, form 16146*03 is the only form to be completed. Once completed, it must be filed with the competent legal aid offices of the residence in the event that the case is appealed to the court of first degree and the Court of Appeal. It must be filed with the Court of Cassation, the Council of State or the National Court for the Right of Asylum in the event that the procedure takes place at the level of these courts.

The enjoyment of legal aid entitles the applicant to one year to bring a legal action.

State contribution

A lawyer who works for the applicant for legal aid benefits from "retribution". The State provides each year for lawyers at the bars a contribution dedicated to those who plead in legal action. The functions of assisting the lawyer in a non-judicial procedure also benefit from it. The calculation of the value of this State subsidy is made according to the number of legal aid missions carried out by the lawyer of the bar, the product, the type of procedure and the unit of reference value or UV reference (It should be noted that for the year 2022, the finance law n° 2021-1900, of December 30, 2021 stipulates an increase in the cost of the UV reference).

 For the remuneration of non-judicial proceedings, the calculation of the cost is made by the number of defenses carried out by the lawyers.

It is imperative to know that according to the law, it is the rules of procedure of each bar which determines the method of payment of lawyers for those who have provided legal aid. The rules of procedure of the bar on legal aid are formulated at the departmental council for legal aid.

Lawyer and legal aid

A lawyer is not always obliged to accept legal aid work. He is entitled not to want to deal with a case for personal reasons or for any other reason whatsoever. However, in a criminal case, the lawyer is appointed ex officio and must obey the President of the Bar. The law requires lawyers in the legal aid service to provide valid reasons for impediment, validated by the authority assigned to them.

Withdrawing legal aid

Fulfilling the required conditions does not necessarily mean that the applicant for legal aid will benefit from it. There are some essential eligibility clauses that the State checks beforehand before accepting the application.

Fraud during the establishment of the application for legal aid

There are some litigants who omit the declaration of income and assets. In this case, the legal aid office is required to re-examine the file before granting legal aid. This omission is frequently present in family matters such as divorce. The parties concerned are obliged to make a declaration of assets for the sharing. The risk is therefore the denunciation of the opposing party of the state of the applicant's assets, from which the legal aid office can refuse aid.

Spouse's denunciation

The law allows the vitiated spouse to denounce the fault committed by the other party to the legal aid office, if the latter has received legal aid, without the spouse being informed either of the existence of the aid or of its amount. Thus, the party who has received legal aid is required to reimburse the State for the sums received in order to alleviate the miscellaneous costs related to the case. The lawyer must also return the fees he received for covering the case.

The law is strict, in the case where the judgment received by the lawyer has enabled the litigant to have a better financial situation after his application for legal aid. The State, after having verified and confirmed this state of affairs, therefore takes the decision to refuse aid to the applicant. Thus, the lawyer has the right to ask for payment of his fees from the litigant because the refusal of legal aid does not allow the lawyer to obtain his compensation. This is also the case for a judgment of divorce. where the winning or winning party acquires a better deal thanks to the advantages obtained by winning the case.

Refusal of the lawyer in case of State compensation

Following the lawyer's request to the court, the adversary is condemned to pay an indemnity on the lawyers' fees. This request is accepted by law, so the lawyer can waive the state compensation and choose to collect the amount paid by the adversary. In this case, the lawyer is required to inform the legal aid office of the state of affairs. Only, in the event that the adversary refuses to pay the lawyer's fees, it is at this time that he receives the compensation paid by the State.

The court-appointed lawyer

In criminal matters, the State is required to pay the court-appointed lawyer, following the choice of the litigant who has resources above the ceiling. However, it happens that an applicant wishes to change lawyer for one reason or another, he then renounces the legal aid granted and he is required to pay the costs of the lawyer he has chosen for his own account. . In this case, the new lawyer provides an invoice which mentions the requests according to the exact amount of his mission with the other applicants who do not benefit from legal aid. These costs are intended to cover the management of the file, the personal initiative of the lawyer from the beginning of the case until its conclusion. And this, that this outcome of the trial is favorable for the party who has requested his services.

At the end of the mission, a certain period of payment is granted to the lawyer by way of closure and archiving of the file. 

The benefit of legal aid does not modify the risks associated with the trial. This means that the losing party at trial, although the latter has received legal aid, is obliged to pay the costs. She must also reimburse what the State has granted her in the form of aid. It is therefore advisable to estimate the risks in advance with the lawyer before starting a trial, because the beneficiary of legal aid could be required to pay a heavy sum in the event of refusal by the State.

Legal aid, whether total or partial, is made for people who are unable to pay the costs of justice. The amount of this aid is not the same for everyone. If you need this kind of help, certain essential conditions are required and you are required to provide information about yourself in order to determine your eligibility. In France, as in almost all countries in the world, the law requires absolute compliance with these conditions before granting any citizen their right to any legal aid.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Also read

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Accueil » Actualité juridique » Tout savoir sur l’aide juridictionnelle en France

Tout savoir sur l’aide juridictionnelle en France

De nombreuses affaires restent cachées dans l’ombre sans être jugées par faute de ressources du demandeur. L’État a alors établi un système pour octroyer une aide juridictionnelle pour ceux qui ne peuvent couvrir les différents frais de justices, à conditions de remplir les conditions requises. L’aide juridictionnelle couvre les honoraires du personnels de la justice dont l’avocat, le notaire et l’huissier, ainsi que frais liés à la procédure de jugement. Même les mineurs peuvent demander une aide juridictionnelle, toutefois, il est important de connaitre ce que la loi impose sur ce cas.

Notion sur l’aide juridictionnelle

L’aide juridictionnelle est l’aide que l’État attribue aux personnes qui ont besoin d’intenter une action en justice, mais manquent de ressources. L’État prend en charge la totalité ou une partie des frais de la procédure judiciaire pour le compte des demandeurs et s’engage à la payer.

L’aide juridictionnelle a été mis en place pour permettre à tout un chacun d’accéder à la justice et de jouir des mêmes droits. Ainsi, l’aide juridictionnelle couvre les dépenses relatives à la procédure judiciaire comme les honoraires des auxiliaires de la justice, ainsi que les frais de la justice.

L’aide juridictionnelle est accordée lors d’une procédure civile comme le divorce, ou pour une procédure pénale telle les conflits, soumis devant le tribunal correctionnel. Aussi, elle s’applique lors d’une procédure administrative, suite d’une sanction administrative.

Les bénéficiaires de l’aide juridictionnelle

La justice est accessible à tout le monde quelle que soit la nature et la gravité du cas et de la situation financière du citoyen. Toute personne voulant intenter une action en justice ou celui qui est concerné par la procédure judiciaire a le droit de demander une aide juridictionnelle.

La liste des personnes jouissant d’une aide juridictionnelle comporte le plaignant, la partie civile, l’accusé, le prévenu, le témoin, les témoins assistés, les individus mise en examen, et le condamné.

Il convient de savoir que les sommes versées avant une demande d’aide juridictionnelle ne sont plus remboursées, la meilleure option est de déposer la demande d’aide juridictionnelle le plutôt possible. 

Les conditions d’obtention d’une aide juridictionnelle

Trois conditions sont requises pour jouir d’une aide juridictionnelle, qui sont :

  • Être de nationalité française ou européenne ;
  • Avoir une résidence permanente en France ;
  • Respect de la non-souscription à un contrat d’assurance de protection juridique, car ce dernier couvre les frais de la justice.

De ce fait, les étrangers en court séjour ne peuvent pas bénéficier de cette aide juridictionnelle. Un plafond de revenu est mis en place par l’État. De ce fait, il faut que le revenu fiscal de référence du demandeur soit au-dessous du plafond exigé, tout comme ces patrimoines mobilier et immobilier.

Il convient aussi de savoir, que la loi française ne donne pas d’aide juridictionnelle si une personne est jugée par un tribunal étranger.  En revanche, il est possible de bénéficier de l’aide juridictionnelle si c’est le pays étranger qui la procure. Ainsi, un formulaire est à remplir et à envoyer à la justice, qui le transmettra aux responsables du pays concerné.

Cependant, depuis 01 janvier 2021, les affaires qui sont jugées dans un autre état membre de l’Union européenne sauf Danemark et Royaume-Uni, peuvent bénéficier d’une aide juridictionnelle, suivant les règles en vigueur dans le pays. Il est important de savoir que l’assistance juridique ne peut avoir lieu que dans les affaires civiles et commerciales.

Le justiciable doit se rendre compte qu’il est dans l’obligation de payer les frais de justice et de l’avocat dans le cas où il perd le procès, ce règlement peut être total ou partiel. Seulement, l’avocat doit avoir gagné le procès pour avoir le droit de demander ses honoraires au justiciable.

Les exceptions à une aide juridictionnelle

L’aide juridictionnelle n’a pas de limite d’âge, car elle peut être allouée aux mineurs retenus d’un droit de séjour, dans le cas où ils sont placés dans un centre de rétention ou parce qu’ils sont affectés pour une mesure d’éloignement.

La loi est tolérante dans certains cas comme celui des mineurs. D’où la loi a fourni une liste des exceptions concernant l’aide juridictionnelle des demandeurs mineurs.

L’aide juridictionnelle est donnée à un demandeur mineur sans contrainte lorsque celui-ci désire être entendu par le juge pour des affaires familiales ou JAF. C’est également le cas d’un mineur délaissé : une aide provisoire lui est délivré sans vérification de l’éligibilité des parents à une aide juridictionnelle. 

Une aide juridictionnelle aux victimes d’actes criminels

L’aide juridictionnelle est donnée aux victimes d’actes criminels sans vérification de :

  • Revenu fiscal ;
  • Valeur du patrimoine.

Une aide juridictionnelle aux victimes de la violence conjugale

Une procédure d’urgence pour cause de dénonciation d’une violence conjugale permet l’octroi d’une aide juridictionnelle provisoire. Les conditions requises pour bénéficier l’aide juridictionnelle sont à remplir au cours de la procédure. Autrement vous serez imputé pour rembourser l’aide.

Le montant d’une aide juridictionnelle

Le montant d’une aide juridictionnelle dépend du revenu fiscal du demandeur. L’aide juridictionnelle varie entre 50 % à 100 %. Dans le cas d’une aide juridictionnelle totale, les dépenses relatives à la procédure sont couvertes par l’État.

Dans le cas où le demandeur serait le seul à faire la déclaration de revenus, les valeurs patrimoniales ne doivent pas dépasser une certaine valeur.

Il convient de savoir que pour le montant d’une aide juridictionnelle, le calcul des plafonds et les différents modes de règlements se font différemment en fonction du nombre de personnes dans un foyer fiscal, allant de 2 à 7 personnes.

Il est tenu de connaître qu’un couple concubin font chacun leur déclaration de revenus puisqu’il a un foyer fiscal séparé. Par contre, un couple marié ou un parent ou enfant majeur rattaché partagent un unique foyer fiscal.

La différence entre aide juridictionnelle totale et partielle

avocat ayant une reunion avec le client

En ce qui concerne le paiement total et partiel, il y a des points essentiels à retenir. L’État couvre tous les frais de la justice lorsqu’il accorde la totalité de l’aide juridictionnelle, y compris les frais de la justice. Toutefois, certaines juridictions requièrent le paiement du frais de la plaidoirie qui est à la charge du demandeur, ainsi que l’avocat qu’il a choisi pour sa défense.

Grâce à l’aide juridictionnelle, le demandeur est libre de choisir l’avocat qui lui convient. Dans le cas où il serait impossible au demandeur d’en avoir, selon la loi, il a droit à un avocat commis d’office. Plus précisément, c’est le bâtonnier de l’ordre des avocats qui le met à sa disposition.

Il est du devoir du demandeur de communiquer au bureau de l’aide juridictionnelle son désir d’avoir un autre avocat dans le cadre d’une insatisfaction.

En revanche, une aide juridictionnelle, même partielle, couvre le total du montant que l’État doit à l’avocat, l’huissier, le notaire, et les frais relatifs à la procédure (frais d’expertises et enquêtes sociales.)

Procédure pour une demande d’aide juridictionnelle

L’arrêté du 5 janvier 2022 fournit des renseignements sur le modèle de formulaire de demande d’aide juridictionnelle ainsi que la liste des pièces à fournir.

Depuis le 01 février 2022, le formulaire 16146*03 est l’unique formulaire à remplir. Une fois rempli, il doit être déposé aux bureaux de l’aide juridictionnelle compétant de la résidence dans le cas où l’affaire est du recours du tribunal du premier degré et la Cour d’appel. Il est à déposer à la Cour de Cassation, le Conseil d’État ou Cour nationale du droit d’asile dans le cas où la procédure se déroule au niveau de ces tribunaux.

La jouissance d’aide juridictionnelle donne droit au demandeur un an pour intenter une action en justice.

La contribution de l’État

Un avocat qui travaille au service du demandeur d’aide juridictionnelle bénéficie d’une « rétribution ». L’État procure chaque année pour les avocats aux barreaux une contribution dédiés à ceux qui plaident en action juridictionnelle. Les fonctions d’aide de l’avocat dans une procédure non-juridictionnelle en bénéficient également. Le calcul de la valeur de cette subvention de l’État se fait en fonction du nombre de missions d’aide juridictionnelle effectué par l’avocat du barreau, du produit, du type de la procédure et de l’unité de valeur de référence ou UV référence (Il convient de savoir que pour l’année 2022, la loi de finance n° 2021-1900, du 30 décembre 2021 stipule une augmentation du coût de l’UV référence).

 Pour la rétribution des procédures non-juridictionnelle, le calcul du coût se fait par le nombre des défenses réalisées par les avocats.

Il est impératif de savoir que selon la loi, c’est le règlement intérieur de chaque barreau qui détermine le mode de paiement des avocats pour ceux qui ont effectué une aide juridictionnelle. Le règlement intérieur du barreau sur l’aide juridictionnelle est formulé au conseil départemental de l’aide juridique.

L’avocat et l’aide juridictionnelle

Un avocat n’est pas tout le temps dans l’obligation d’accepter un travail d’aide juridictionnelle. Il est dans son droit de ne pas vouloir traiter une affaire pour des raisons personnelles ou pour tout autres motifs quelconques. Toutefois, dans une affaire pénale, l’avocat est commis d’office et se doit d’obéir au Bâtonnier. La loi impose aux avocats dans le service d’aide juridictionnelle de fournir des motifs d’empêchement valables et validé par l’autorité qui lui est commis d’office.

Le retrait d’une aide juridictionnelle

Remplir les conditions requises ne signifie pas obligatoirement que le demandeur d’une aide juridictionnelle va en bénéficier. Il existe quelques clauses d’éligibilité indispensables que l’Etat vérifie au préalable avant d’accepter la demande.

La fraude pendant l’établissement de la demande de l’aide juridictionnelle

Il y a certaines justiciables qui omettent la déclaration de revenus et de patrimoine. Dans ce cas, le bureau de l’aide juridictionnelle est tenu de réexaminer le dossier avant l’octroi d’une aide juridictionnelle. Cette omission est fréquemment présente dans les affaires familiales comme le divorce. Les parties concernées sont obligées de faire une déclaration de patrimoine pour le partage. Le risque est donc la dénonciation de la partie adverse de l’état du patrimoine du demandeur d’où le bureau de l’aide juridictionnelle peut refuser l’aide.

La dénonciation du conjoint

La loi permet au conjoint vicié de dénoncer la faute commise par l’autre partie au bureau de l’aide juridictionnelle, si ce dernier a reçu une aide juridictionnelle, sans que le conjoint soit informé ni de l’existence de l’aide ni de son montant. Ainsi, la partie qui a reçu l’aide juridictionnelle est tenue de rembourser à l’État les sommes perçues dans le but de lui alléger les frais divers liés à l’affaire. L’avocat doit également restituer les honoraires qu’il a perçu pour la couverture de l’affaire.

La loi est stricte, dans le cas où le jugement reçu par l’avocat a permis au justiciable d’avoir une meilleure situation financière après sa demande d’aide juridictionnelle. L’État, après avoir vérifié et eu confirmation de cet état des faits, prend par conséquent la décision de refuser l’aide au demandeur. Ainsi, l’avocat est dans le droit de demander le règlement de son honoraire au justiciable car le refus d’une aide juridictionnelle ne permet pas à l’avocat d’obtenir sa rétribution. C’est également le cas d’un jugement de divorce où la partie gagnante ou qui a obtenu gain de cause acquiert une meilleure conjoncture grâce aux avantages obtenus par le gain du procès.

Refus de l’avocat en cas de rétribution de l’État

Suite à la demande de l’avocat au tribunal, l’adversaire est condamné à payer une indemnité sur les frais d’avocats. Cette demande est acceptée par la loi, ainsi, l’avocat peut renoncer à la rétribution de l’État et choisi de percevoir le montant versé par l’adversaire. Dans ce cas, l’avocat est tenu d’informer le bureau de l’aide juridictionnelle de l’état des choses. Seulement, dans le cas où l’adversaire refuserait de payer les honoraires de l’avocat, c’est à ce moment qu’il perçoit l’indemnité payée par l’État.

L’avocat commis d’office

En matière pénale, l’État est tenu de payer l’avocat commis d’office, suite au choix du justiciable qui possède des ressources supérieures au plafond. Cependant il arrive qu’un demandeur désire changer d’avocat pour une raison ou pour une autre, il renonce alors à l’aide juridictionnelle octroyée et il est tenu de payer les frais de l’avocat qu’il a choisi pour son propre compte. Dans ce cas, le nouvel avocat fournit une facture qui mentionne les demandes suivant le montant exact de sa mission avec les autres demandeurs non-bénéficiaire d’une aide juridictionnelle. Ces frais ont pour vocation de recouvrir la gestion du dossier, l’initiative personnelle de l’avocat depuis le début de l’affaire jusqu’à son aboutissement. Et ce, que cet aboutissement du procès soit favorable pour la partie qui a sollicité ses services.

À la fin de la mission, un certain délai de paiement est accordé à l’avocat en guise de clôture et archivage du dossier. 

Le bénéfice de l’aide juridictionnelle ne modifie pas les risques liés au procès. Ce qui signifie que la partie perdante au procès, bien que cette dernière a reçu l’aide juridictionnelle est tenu de payer les frais. Elle doit aussi rembourser ce que l’État lui a octroyé en guise d’aide. Il convient de ce fait d’estimer au préalable les risques avec l’avocat avant d’entamer un procès, car le bénéficiaire d’une aide juridictionnelle pourrait être tenu de supporter une lourde somme en cas de refus de l’État.

L’aide juridictionnelle, qu’elle soit totale ou partielle est faite pour les personnes se trouvant dans l’impossibilité de payer les frais de la justice. Le montant de cette aide n’est pas le même pour tout le monde. Dans le cas où vous avez besoin d’avoir recours à ce type d’aide, certaines conditions essentielles sont requises et vous êtes dans l’obligation de renseigner des informations vous concernant afin de déterminer votre éligibilité. En France comme dans quasi tous les pays du monde, la loi impose le respect absolu de ces conditions avant d’octroyer à tout citoyen son droit à n’importe quelle aide juridictionnelle.

★★★★★

A lire également

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.