The first name, like the last name, is immutable. This principle laid down by the law of 6 Fructidor Year II (yes, August 23, 1794!) And still in force, means that the first names attributed at birth will remain the same until death.

But like any principle, there are exceptions.

And fortunately ! Think of all the first names that have flourished in the wake of American series such as Sue Ellen, Bobby or Stringfellow Hawk (There it's hard!), Not to mention the nostalgic for Alcor, Actarus, Albator ...

Let's face it, before 1993 you couldn't name your child whatever you wanted. This choice was submitted to the good grace of the registrar. He could, if he thought so, forbid you to give a first name not appearing on the calendar, or worn by great historical figures, by simply refusing to enter it on the register. Then it was up to you to wage an epic fight in front of the judge to convince him to accept your choice.

Everything changes with the law of January 8, 1993 (which modified the law of 11 Germinal year IX! Yes…. a law of 1800). From now on, the civil status officer has the obligation to register the first name of your choice on thebirth certificate. In absolute terms, this means that nothing stands in the way of you calling your daughter " Daenarys of the Typhon, mother of dragons, the unburnt ... ».

Finally, a priori! Because if the registrar, your spouse, or… your grown-up daughter felt that such a first name was too difficult to wear, they could well have this first name which you liked so much changed.

The right of reserve of the registrar

In this case, it must be assumed that the parents have chosen a common first name which does not please the registrar. He must first register the first name in the register of civil status, since the law of 1993 deprives him of all discretion, but he can then make a reservation that he will address to the Prosecutor.

The reservation is only founded if the first name chosen is contrary to the interests of the child or prejudices the family name of a third party (Yes, calling your child Rothschild or de Gaulle is an infringement of the patronymic rights of families. above).

Once notified, the public prosecutor alone has the opportunity to seize or not the JAF for the change of first name.

The procedure is contentious since it opposes the parents to the public prosecutor who will summon the parents before the JAF in the form of summary proceedings or on request (the prosecutor does not have a specific procedure to seize the JAF).

Change of first name following disagreement between parents

Yes, the other parent wanted Ernestine, her grandmother's first name and Game of Throne is not her thing ...

The first name is an attribute of parental authority, this means that in the event of joint exercise of parental authority a parent can make certain decisions alone (including the choice of first name), the agreement of the other parent will be always presumed until he disagrees.

The unhappy parent will be able to seize the JAF preferably by request in the form of summary proceedings, because the first name in terms of identifying an individual is a difficulty which must be resolved very quickly.

The proceedings are oral, so the office of a lawyer is not obligatory.

The judgment rendered by the JAF is not accompanied by provisional execution (the civil status of the child will not be changed until a final decision is obtained).

The decision may be appealed 1 month from its notification.

To know: The choice of the child's first name being an attribute of parental authority, the competent judge on the choice of the first name will be the JAF who can:

  • either endorse the choice of first name,
  • or consider that it is contrary to the interests of the child.

In the absence of agreement with the parents on another first name, he will automatically assign another first name and delete the non-compliant first name from the civil status registers.

Mention of the decision will appear in the margin of the child's civil status documents.

A first name that is not in the best interests of the child means that it sounds pejorative, ridiculous, complex or coarse.

Cases where the JAF will not be competent in matters of change of first name:

- As part of a full adoption. It is the judge of the TGI who will modify the first name of the child to facilitate his integration into his new family.

- In the context of a change of nationality. To facilitate his integration into the community, the person concerned may, in the year of granting French nationality, request the francization of his first name by decree (law of 25 October 1972). Once the year has elapsed, the competent judge will be the JAF.

The change of first name at the initiative of the person concerned

Please note that the justice reform of the XNUMXst century provides for entrusting the town hall of the place of birth, and no longer to the JAF, with the processing of requests for a change of first name. It will be up to the civil status officer who considers the request not legitimate or that the first name chosen is contrary to the interests of the child to seize the public prosecutor who may ultimately decide to seize the JAF.

With this new law, only disputes will be submitted to the JAF. Details will be provided with the publication of the application texts.

Anyone showing a legitimate interest can request to modify or change their first name (article 60 of the Civil Code). The competent judge is the JAF.

In the presence of a minor, this right can be exercised by their legal representatives. If the child is over 13 years of age, consent must be obtained before proceeding.

The registry must communicate the request to the public prosecutor for an opinion. If he intends to challenge it, the procedure will be contentious and if he abstains from any intervention, the procedure will be free of charge. In any case, if debates are scheduled, the prosecutor must attend (article 800 of the code of civil procedure).

The competent JAF is that of the place where the applicant resides, or of the place where the birth certificate was drawn up. If the applicant is a foreigner, and his birth certificate is archived in Nantes with the central service of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the competent JAF will be that of Nantes.

In this procedure, the presence of a lawyer is compulsory (article 60 of the Code of Civil Procedure).

Unlike the other decisions of the JAF, the judgment is not accompanied by provisional execution (the change of first name will only be effective once the decision has become final).

Namely: The public prosecutor can appeal the decision. The appeal is open 15 days from the notification of the decision.

The ruling is sent to the civil status officer who holds the birth certificate to register the decision alongside the birth certificate.

Details on the notion of "legitimate interest" in changing your first name

Legitimate interest is a different concept specific to each specific case that it is up to the judge to assess. One thing is for sure, it doesn't have to be personal convenience.

It should be noted that requests relating to a second or third first name that one would like to delete or interchange are not considered legitimate. Indeed, among all the first names registered on a birth certificate, everyone is free to choose the one they like and can impose this choice on the administrations. There is therefore no need to refer the matter to the judge for these changes.

Case of recognition of a legitimate interest by case law

In the case of the prolonged use of a first name different from the one entered in his civil status, the request will be legitimate if it is proven that for a very long time (since childhood or better, since birth) everyone has been calls and therefore knows you and recognizes you under this single first name.

But the request will not be considered legitimate if this change comes from your sole will, if you force your entourage to call you differently overnight.

The adopted child born under X will have a legitimate interest in changing his first name to take over the one which, given by his biological mother, initially appeared on his birth certificate.

The court of cassation recognized that it was in the legitimate interest of a person born in Algeria whose name had been Frenchified when obtaining his French nationality, to use a first name in accordance with his origins, since his wife and children had Muslim first names.

Change of first name and change of sex

The Court of Cassation recognized as early as 1975 that any person had a legitimate interest in choosing a first name in line with their morphology and physical appearance, without having to carry out a sex change procedure to modify their civil status. (cass. civ. 1st, December 16, 1975)

It should be noted that the modification of the sex in the civil status will be granted only after therapeutic modification. If it takes place, consideration of the change of sex obeys the principle of respect for private life and the change of first name will be carried out without having to demonstrate the existence of a legitimate interest.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Peut-on m'obliger à changer le prénom de mon enfant ?

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit 

Le prénom, comme le nom, est immuable. Ce principe posé par la loi du 6 fructidor An II (oui, le 23 août 1794 !) et toujours en vigueur, signifie que les prénoms attribués à la naissance, resteront les mêmes jusqu’à la mort.

 

Mais comme tout principe, il y a des exceptions.

 

Et heureusement ! Pensez tous les prénoms qui ont fleuri dans le sillage des séries américaines tels que Sue Ellen, Bobby ou Stringfellow Hawk (Là c’est dur !), sans oublier les nostalgiques d’Alcor, Actarus, Albator...

 

Avouons-le, avant 1993, vous ne pouviez pas nommer votre enfant comme vous le vouliez. Ce choix était soumis à la bonne grâce de l’officier d’État civil. Il pouvait, s’il l’estimait, vous interdire de donner un prénom ne figurant pas sur le calendrier, ou porté par de grands personnages historiques, en refusant tout simplement de l’inscrire sur le registre. Ensuite, c’était à vous de mener un combat épique devant le juge pour le convaincre d’accepter votre choix.

 

Tout change avec la loi du 8 janvier 1993 (qui a modifié la loi du 11 Germinal an IX ! Eh oui.... une loi de 1800). Désormais, l’officier d’État civil à l’obligation d’inscrire le prénom de votre choix sur l’acte de naissance. Dans l’absolu, cela signifie que rien ne s’oppose à ce que vous appeliez votre fille « Daenarys du Typhon, mère des dragons, l’imbrûlée... ».

 

Enfin, a priori ! Car si l’officier d’État civil, votre conjoint(e), ou... votre fille devenue grande, estimaient qu’un tel prénom était trop difficile à porter, ils pourraient bien faire modifier ce prénom qui vous plaisait tant.

 

Le droit de réserve de l’officier d’État civil

 

Dans ce cas, il faut supposer que les parents ont choisi un prénom en commun qui ne plaît pas à l’officier d’état civil. Il devra dans un premier temps inscrire le prénom sur le registre de l’État civil, puisque la loi de 1993 lui ôte tout pouvoir d’appréciation, mais il pourra ensuite émettre une réserve qu’il adressera au Procureur.

 

La réserve n’est fondée que si le prénom choisi est contraire à l’intérêt de l’enfant ou attentatoire au nom de famille d’un tiers (Eh oui, appeler son enfant Rothschild ou de Gaulle est une atteinte au droit patronymique des familles susnommées).

 

Une fois avisé, le procureur de la République détient seul l’opportunité de saisir ou non le JAF pour le changement de prénom.

 

La procédure est contentieuse puisqu’elle oppose les parents au procureur de la République qui assignera les parents devant le JAF en la forme des référés ou sur requête (le procureur ne dispose pas de procédure particulière pour saisir le JAF).

 

Le changement de prénom suite au désaccord entre parent

 

Eh oui, l’autre parent voulait Ernestine, le prénom de sa grand-mère et Game of Throne c’est pas son truc...

 

Le prénom est un attribut de l’autorité parentale, cela signifie qu’en cas d’exercice conjoint de l’autorité parentale un parent peut prendre seul certaines décisions (dont le choix du prénom), l’accord de l’autre parent sera toujours présumé jusqu’à ce qu’il manifeste son désaccord.

 

Le parent mécontent pourra saisir le JAF de préférence par requête en la forme des référés, car le prénom en termes d’identification d’un individu est une difficulté qui doit être tranchée très rapidement.

 

La procédure est orale, donc l’office d’un avocat n’est pas obligatoire.

 

Le jugement rendu par le JAF n’est pas assorti de l’exécution provisoire (On ne changera l’État civil de l’enfant qu’à l’obtention d’une décision définitive).

 

Il pourra être fait appel de la décision 1 mois à compter de sa notification.

 

A savoir :

 

Le choix du prénom de l’enfant étant un attribut de l’autorité parentale, le juge compétent sur le choix du prénom sera le JAF qui pourra :

- soit entériner le choix du prénom,

- soit estimer qu’il est contraire aux intérêts de l’enfant.

 

A défaut d’accord avec les parents sur un autre prénom, il attribuera d’office un autre prénom et supprimera le prénom non conforme sur les registres de l’état civil.

 

La mention de la décision figurera en marge des actes de l’état civil de l’enfant.

 

Un prénom non conforme à l’intérêt de l’enfant signifie qu’il comporte une consonance péjorative, ridicule, complexe ou grossière.

 

Cas où le JAF ne sera pas compétent en matière de changement de prénom :

 

- Dans le cadre d’une adoption plénière. C’est le juge du TGI qui modifiera le prénom de l’enfant pour faciliter son intégration au sein de sa nouvelle famille.

- Dans le cadre d’un changement de nationalité. Pour faciliter son intégration à la communauté, l’intéressé pourra, dans l’année de l’octroi de la nationalité française, demander la francisation de son prénom par décret (loi du 25 octobre 1972). Une fois l’année écoulée, le juge compétent sera le JAF.

 

Le changement de prénom à l’initiative de la personne intéressée

 

Attention la réforme de la justice du XXI ème siècle prévoit de confier à la mairie du lieu de naissance, et non plus au JAF,  le traitement des demandes de changement de prénom. Il appartiendra à l'officier d'Etat civil qui estime la demande non légitime ou que le prénom choisi est contraire à l'intérêt de l'enfant de saisir le procureur de la République qui en dernier lieu pourra décider de saisir le JAF.

 

Avec cette nouvelle loi, seules les contestations seront soumises au JAF.  Des précisions seront apportées avec la parution des textes d'application.

 

Toute personne justifiant d’un intérêt légitime peut demander à modifier ou à changer de prénom (article 60 du code civil). Le juge compétent est le JAF.

 

En présence d’un mineur, ce droit peut être exercé par ses représentants légaux. Si l’enfant a plus de 13 ans il faut recueillir son consentement avant d’intenter la procédure.

 

Le greffe doit communiquer la demande au procureur de la République pour avis. S’il entend la contester la procédure sera contentieuse et s’il s’abstient de toute intervention, la procédure sera gracieuse. En tout état de cause, si des débats sont prévus, le procureur devra y assister (article 800 du code de procédure civile).

 

Le JAF compétent est celui du lieu ou demeure le demandeur, ou du lieu où l’acte de naissance à été dressé. Si le demandeur est étranger, et que son acte de naissance est archivé à Nantes auprès du service central du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, le JAF compétent sera celui de Nantes.

 

Dans cette procédure, la présence d’un avocat est obligatoire (article 60 du Code de procédure civile).

 

Contrairement aux autres décisions du JAF, le jugement n’est pas assorti de l’exécution provisoire (le changement de prénom ne sera effectif qu’une fois la décision devenue définitive).

 

À savoir :

 

Le procureur de la République peut faire appel de la décision. L’appel est ouvert 15 jours à compter de la notification de la décision.

 

Le dispositif du jugement est transmise à l’officier d’état civil qui détient l’acte de naissance pour inscrire la décision en marge de l’acte de naissance.

 

Précisions sur la notion de "l’intérêt légitime" à changer de prénom

 

L’intérêt légitime est une notion différente et propre à chaque cas d’espèces qu’il appartient au juge d’apprécier. Une chose est sûre, il ne doit pas s’agir de convenances personnelles.

 

Il est à préciser que les demandes portant sur un deuxième ou un troisième prénom que l’on voudrait supprimer ou interchanger ne sont pas considérées comme légitimes. En effet, parmi tous les prénoms inscrits sur un acte de naissance, chacun est libre de choisir celui qui lui plaît et peut imposer ce choix aux administrations. Il n’y a donc pas lieu de saisir le juge pour ces changements.

 

Cas de reconnaissance d’un intérêt légitime par la jurisprudence

 

Dans le cas de l’usage prolongé d’un prénom différent que celui inscrit sur son état civil, la demande sera légitime s’il est avéré que depuis très longtemps (depuis l’enfance ou mieux, depuis la naissance) tout le monde vous appelle et donc vous connaît et vous reconnaît sous ce seul prénom.

 

Mais la demande ne sera pas considérée légitime si ce changement procède de votre seule volonté, si vous imposer du jour au lendemain à votre entourage de vous appeler différemment.

 

L’enfant adopté et né sous X se verra reconnaître un intérêt légitime à changer de prénom pour reprendre celui qui, donné par sa mère biologique, figurait initialement sur son acte de naissance.

 

La cour de cassation a reconnu qu’il était de l’intérêt légitime d’une personne née en Algérie dont le nom avait été francisé lors de l’obtention de sa nationalité française, de reprendre un prénom conforme à ses origines, dès lors que sa femme et ses enfants avaient des prénoms musulmans.

 

Changement de prénom et changement de sexe

 

La cour de cassation a reconnu dès 1975, que toute personne avait un intérêt légitime à choisir un prénom en adéquation avec sa morphologie et son apparence physique, sans avoir à exercer une procédure de changement de sexe pour modifier son état civil. (cass. civ. 1ère, 16 décembre 1975)

 

Il est à préciser que la modification du sexe à l’état civil ne sera accordée qu’après modification thérapeutique. Si elle a lieu, la prise en considération du changement de sexe obéit au principe du respect de la vie privée et il sera procédé au changement de prénom sans avoir à démontrer l’existence d’un intérêt légitime.

 

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Août 2016