The Fault constitutes with the damage and the causal link, the holy trinity of the civil responsibility.

Fault is the cornerstone of medical liability. But it remains difficult to characterize from the sole fact that there is always a part of the hazard inherent in the medical act.

This is the reason why the diet no-fault liability is studied with the therapeutic risk and that fault due to a lack of information is developed on a dedicated page.

The principle of medical liability for fault

The principle according to which the doctor is responsible for faults committed during the treatment provided is laid down by a judgment of the Chamber of Requests of the Court of Cassation dated June 18, 1835.

The Mercier judgment of May 20, 1936, specifies that the basis of this responsibility is contractual: “A real contract is formed between the doctor and his client, comprising for the practitioner the commitment, if not obviously to cure the patient (...) of the patient. less than giving it care, not just any (…) but conscientious attentive and, reserves made of exceptional circumstances, in conformity with the data acquired from science ”.

Case law never ceases to remind people that the doctor's responsibility is only engaged because of his fault (Cass. Civ., 1st, of November 22, 2007) to which, over the course of the decisions, it gives an increasingly broad assessment. .

Principles taken up by the legislator with the law 2000-303 of March 4, 2002 known as the “Kouchner” law relating to the rights of patients and the quality of the health system. As well as the law 2004-806 of August 9, 2004 relating to the health policy and its circular DGS n / 2005/123 of March 7, 2005.

Article 2226 of the Civil Code, provides that a patient can initiate the civil liability of a professional or a health establishment within 10 years following the consolidation of the damage (when the patient's condition has stabilized) . Thus, the prescription does not always run from the day of the operation or the taking of the treatment.

Proof of fault

The burden of proof is on the patient. It is therefore up to him to prove fault. "The responsibility of the doctor is subordinate to the proof of a fault committed in the accomplishment of the medical act" (Cass. Civ., 1st of January 4, 2005, n ° 03-13.579).

Any fault, however slight, may be held against the doctor.

Adjustment of the burden of proof

It consists of reversing the burden of proof in terms of:

Information obligation

In the event of fault, it is up to the doctor to provide proof that he has fulfilled his obligation.

Of presumption of accountability

When the fault cannot be established with certainty, it can be deduced from the way in which the medical act was performed: This is the presumption of imputability.

Certain medical procedures are deemed to be simple to perform. Thus, failing to demonstrate that an unforeseen difficulty arose during the operation, the doctor will be presumed to have committed a fault.

Thus, case law has held that a dental surgeon, bound by an obligation of precision in his dental surgery act, has committed a fault if a simple tooth extraction causes labial and neurological damage in the patient (Cass . civ., 1st of October 9, 2001, n ° 99-20.826).

In a similar case (for a sublingual nerve injured during the extraction of a tooth), the Supreme Court held that “the extraction of the tooth not involving the damage suffered by the patient, it resulted in in favor of the latter a presumption of imputability of the damage to a culpable failure of the practitioner "(allowing to) deduce the imputability of the damage to the imprecision of the medical procedure" (1st Civ., January 17, 2008, appeal n ° 06 -20.568).

A practitioner who, during a ligamentoplasty of a knee, severed the patient's middle popliteal artery, had committed a fault when nothing showed that this artery presented an anomaly making the attack inevitable (Cass. Civ. , 1st of May 23, 2000, n ° 98-19.869).

The characters of the fault

Long before the law of March 4, 2002, case law affirmed that medical liability was based on the demonstration of a fault assessed with regard to a practice carried out by care in accordance with the data acquired from science.

Article L.1142-1 of the Public Health Code provides that the fault is due to "the damaging consequences of acts of prevention, diagnosis or treatment".

The judges extended the scope of this obligation:

  • Investigations (preliminary examinations, etc.)
  • To treatment
  • At the follow-up of this treatment
  • To post-operative care.

The law fixes the extent of the domain of the fault without defining it. It is therefore necessary to refer to the case law.

To assess medical malpractice, judges reason by analogy (like this Good father of a family in civil law) and refer to what a normally competent and vigilant doctor, acting in accordance with the data acquired from science and the rules of law. art, would have done if he had been faced with the same conditions.

Medical liability can be held for a simple fault of the doctor in the event of error, delay in diagnosis, clumsiness, imprecision, both in the choice and the implementation of the treatment as in the control of the medical act. .

Cases where fault has been found

Any imprecise, clumsy gesture, any delay in diagnosis… constitutes a fault.

A delay in diagnosis is sufficient to show that the doctor did not bring all the diligence and attention necessary to his contractual obligation. In one case, a patient raised the responsibility of his doctor who diagnosed prostate cancer in 2007 when "the results of the health examination carried out in 2002, (mentioned) clinical signs likely to progress to cancer prostate '. (Cass. Civ., 1st of April 6, 2016, n ° 15-14.253).

A delay in prescribing additional examinations (Cass. Civ., 1st Civ., March 26, 1996)

An erroneous interpretation of the symptoms observed with regard to the data acquired from science (1st Civ., July 8, 1980).

The fault will be deduced from the clumsiness of the practitioner when the simplicity of the act, such as a colonoscopy, leads to a perforation (Cass. Civ., 1st of February 21, 2006, n ° 04-20.685). Or the tear of the trachea during intubation, (Cass. Civ., 1st of April 9, 2002, n ° 00-21.014); even, exercised with brutality causing perforation and damage to the nerves (January 17, 2008); Or the attack on an organ that it was not necessary to touch to carry out the intervention (Cass. Civ., 1st of May 23, 2000).

To note :

The fault could be at the origin of criminal proceedings for manslaughter. It was judged that a doctor on duty who had not made the necessary arrangements to be contacted, exposed the patients in his care to a particularly serious risk (Cass. Crim., February 13, 2007, no. 06-81.089).

However, the fault will be excluded if the doctor demonstrates that he acted in the rules of the art.

Cases where the fault was not retained

Medical malpractice will be excluded whenever "the intervention was in accordance with the rules of the art". Thus, even for a simple act (operation for varicose veins) when the lesion is due to an anatomical peculiarity "of the nerve (located) lower than normal" The fault will not be accepted.

Judgment of June 14, 2005, the 1st Civil Chamber

The fault will not be accepted if “the intervention had been carried out according to a proven technique with the precautions usually recommended, that the practitioner's tactics had been reasonable in view of the difficulties encountered, that no error, imprudence, lack of necessary precaution, negligence or other faulty default could not be held against him ”(Cass. civ., 1st of November 29, 2005, n ° 03-16.308).

It was retained that the lesion of a nerve constitutes a risk inherent to the intervention and does not engage the responsibility of the doctor (Cass. September 18, 2008).

A judgment of March 30, 2007 of the Administrative Court of Appeal of Nantes specified that the delay in diagnosis is not faulty when this diagnosis is difficult to make and that the care and examinations have been in accordance with the data acquired from science.

To note :

In terms of cosmetic surgery and when the purpose of the intervention is not therapeutic, the doctor must respect the principle of proportionality which must lead him to refuse the operation when there is a disproportion between the risks incurred and the random results. envisaged (Paris Court of Appeal June 16, 1995).

In the absence of proven fault on the part of the surgeon, the Court concluded that there was a therapeutic risk inherent in the intervention. We are then in a no-fault liability regime.

The absence of fault does not mean that the patient will not be compensated. Its damage will be supported by national solidarity by seizing ONIAM.

Worsening of the state of health

The fault will be accepted if it contributes to worsening the patient's state of health. It could be a prescription error, dosage, a lack of monitoring ...

Thus, the Council of State held that the repeated prescription of drugs outside the therapeutic indications constitutes a breach of the honor and probity of the doctor (judgment of September 19, 2007)

Failure to monitor a patient with a high blood sugar level constitutes a serious fault within the meaning of article 121-3 paragraph 4 of the Criminal Code for manslaughter following the death of the patient (Cass. Crim., September 12, 2006 ). Or a lack of monitoring of the patient at the postoperative stage (Cass. Crim., February 13, 2007, n ° 06-82.202)

When a fault is at the origin of an aggravation of a damage already constituted, only this aggravation gives rise to the right to compensation and the victim cannot claim full compensation.

Partial compensation was granted in a case where the pediatrician had prescribed a gavage by gastric tube to a child victim of an accident of hypoglycemia a few hours after his birth when his situation required an infusion; this fault was not at the origin of the entire damage but only of its aggravation because the child already presented irreversible consequences. (Cass. Crim., March 21, 2006)

The victim's fault

The fault of the patient may justify a sharing of responsibility which will only entitle him to partial compensation.

In one case, a compress was left in the patient's abdomen after an operation. The hospital was held responsible but, the patient not having followed the prescriptions of her doctor who asked her to have her abdomen x-rayed after the operation was also found at fault and was only entitled to partial repair. If she had followed her doctor's prescriptions, he would have removed the compress and prevented the complications that followed. Rennes Administrative Court (February 8, 2007)

Psychiatry

The psychiatrist in charge of monitoring a patient must prescribe care and monitoring measures appropriate to the patient's condition; he is liable in the event of suicide when these measures were not taken because he did not sufficiently inform the nursing staff about the risks ”(Cass. civ., 1st of June 21, 2005).

Thus, in the event of aggression of a patient by another, the responsibility of a psychiatric establishment will only be retained if it is demonstrated that there has been a fault in the organization and functioning of the service. November 14, 2006 the Administrative Court of Appeal of Bordeaux

It should be observed that the responsibility of the psychiatrist tends to extend dangerously. Recently, a psychiatrist was prosecuted for acts committed by one of his patients outside the establishment.

The fault of the Service

This is a fault committed in the organization of the service.

It is due to a lack of surveillance, presence, medical competence, or insufficient resources provided by the clinic or hospital.

It was held that the damage suffered by a patient was due to a defect in the organization of the service of the private clinic. In this case, the doctors were absent and intervened only late to respond to a difficulty that arose during childbirth (Cass. Civ., 1st of December 15, 1999, n ° 97-22.652).

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

La Faute médicale

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     La Faute constitue avec le préjudice et le lien de causalité, la sainte trinité de la responsabilité civile.  

 

La faute est la pierre angulaire de la responsabilité médicale. Mais elle reste difficile à caractériser du seul fait qu'il y a toujours une part d'aléa inhérent à l'acte médical.  

 

C'est la raison pour laquelle le régime de la responsabilité sans faute est étudiée avec l’aléa thérapeutique et que la faute due à un défaut d’information est développée sur une page dédiée.

 

Le principe de la responsabilité médicale pour faute

 

Le principe selon lequel le médecin est responsable des fautes commises à l’occasion des soins prodigués est posé par un arrêt de la Chambre des Requêtes de la Cour de Cassation en date du 18 juin 1835.

 

L’arrêt Mercier du 20 mai 1936, précise que le fondement de cette responsabilité est contractuel : «  Il se forme entre le médecin et son client un véritable contrat comportant pour le praticien l’engagement sinon bien évidemment de guérir le malade (...) du moins de lui donner des soins non pas quelconques (…) mais consciencieux attentifs et, réserves faites de circonstances exceptionnelles, conformes aux données acquises de la science ».

 

La jurisprudence ne cesse de rappeler que la responsabilité du médecin n’est engagée qu’en raison de sa faute (Cass. Civ., 1ère, du 22 novembre 2007) à laquelle elle donne au fil des décisions une appréciation de plus en plus large.

 

Des principes repris par le législateur avec la loi 2000-303 du 4 mars 2002 dite loi “Kouchner” relative aux droits des malades et à la qualité du système de santé. Ainsi que la loi 2004-806 du 9 août 2004 relative à la politique de santé et sa circulaire DGS n/ 2005/123 du 7 mars 2005.

 

L’article 2226 du Code civil, prévoit qu’un patient peut engager la responsabilité civile d’un professionnel ou d’un établissement de santé dans les 10 ans suivant la consolidation du dommage (quand l’état du patient s’est stabilisé). Ainsi, la prescription ne court pas toujours à compter du jour de l’opération ou de la prise du traitement.

 

La preuve de la faute

 

La charge de la preuve pèse sur le patient. C’est donc à lui qu’il revient de prouver la faute. « la responsabilité du médecin est subordonnée à la preuve d’une faute commise dans l’accomplissement de l’acte médical » (Cass. civ., 1ère du 4 janvier 2005, n° 03-13.579).

 

Toute faute aussi légère soit-elle pourra être retenue à l’encontre du médecin.

 

L’aménagement de la charge de la preuve

 

Elle consiste à opérer un renversement de la charge de la preuve en matière :

 

D’obligation d’information

 

En cas de faute, il appartient au médecin de rapporter la preuve qu’il a satisfait à son obligation.

 

De présomption d’imputabilité

 

Quand la faute ne peut pas être établie avec certitude elle pourra être déduite de la manière dont a été exécuté l’acte médical : C’est la présomption d’imputabilité.

 

Certains actes médicaux sont réputés simples à réaliser. Ainsi à défaut de démontrer qu’une difficulté imprévue est survenue en cours d’opération, le médecin sera présumé avoir commis une faute.

 

C’est ainsi que la jurisprudence a retenu qu’un chirurgien-dentiste, tenu à une obligation de précision dans son geste de chirurgie dentaire, a commis une faute si une simple extraction de dent provoque chez le patient des atteintes labiales et neurologiques (Cass. civ., 1ère du 9 octobre 2001, n° 99-20.826).

 

Dans une affaire similaire (pour un nerf sublingual lésé lors de l’extraction d’une dent), la cour de cassation a retenu que  « l’extraction de la dent n’impliquant pas les dommages subis par la patiente, il en résultait en faveur de celle-ci une présomption d’imputabilité du dommage à un manquement fautif du praticien » (permettant de) déduire l’imputabilité du dommage à l’imprécision du geste médical » (1re Civ., 17 janvier 2008, pourvoi n° 06-20.568).

 

Un praticien ayant au cours d’une ligamentoplastie d’un genou, sectionné l’artère poplitée moyenne de la patiente, avait commis une faute dès lors que rien ne démontrait que cette artère présentait une anomalie rendant l’atteinte inévitable (Cass. civ., 1ère du 23 mai 2000, n° 98-19.869).

 

Les caractères de la faute

 

Bien avant la loi du 4 mars 2002, la jurisprudence a affirmé que la responsabilité médicale reposait sur la démonstration d’une faute évaluée au regard d’une pratique exercée par des soins conformes aux données acquises de la science.

 

L'article L.1142-1 du Code de la santé publique dispose que la faute est due aux « conséquences dommageables d’actes de prévention, de diagnostic ou de soins».

 

Les juges ont étendu la portée de cette obligation :

- Aux investigations (examens préalables...)

- Au traitement

- Au suivi de ce traitement

- Aux soins post-opératoires.

 

La loi fixe l’étendue du domaine de la faute sans pour autant la définir. Il faut donc se référer à la jurisprudence.

 

Pour apprécier la faute médicale les juges font un raisonnement par analogie (comme ce Bon père de famille en droit civil) et se réfèrent à ce qu’un médecin normalement compétent et vigilant, agissant conformément aux données acquises de la science et aux règles de l’art, aurait fait s’il avait été confronté aux mêmes conditions.

 

La responsabilité médicale peut être retenue pour une faute simple du médecin en cas d’erreur, de retard de diagnostic, de maladresse, d’imprécision, tant dans le choix et la mise en œuvre du traitement que dans la maîtrise de l’acte médical.

 

Les cas où la faute a été retenue

 

Tout geste imprécis, maladroit, tout retard de diagnostic... constituent une faute.

 

Un retard de diagnostic suffit à démontrer que le médecin n’a pas apporté toute la diligence et l’attention nécessaire à son obligation contractuelle. Dans une espèce, un patient a soulevé la responsabilité de son médecin ayant diagnostiqué un cancer de la prostate en 2007 alors que « des résultats de l'examen de santé pratiqué en 2002, (mentionnaient) des signes cliniques susceptibles d'évoluer vers un cancer de la prostate ». (Cass. civ., 1ère du 6 avril 2016, n°15-14.253).

 

Un retard à prescrire des examens complémentaires (Cass. civ., 1re Civ., 26 mars 1996)

 

Une interprétation erronée des symptômes observés au regard des données acquises de la science (1re Civ., 8 juillet 1980).

 

La faute sera déduite de la maladresse du praticien quand la simplicité de l’acte, telle qu’une coloscopie, entraîne une perforation (Cass. Civ., 1ère du 21 février 2006, n° 04-20.685). Ou la déchirure de la trachée lors d’une intubation, (Cass. civ., 1ère du 9 avril 2002, n° 00-21.014) ; voire, exercé avec une brutalité ayant causée une perforation et une lésion des nerfs (17 janvier 2008) ; Ou l’atteinte portée à un organe qu’il n’était pas nécessaire de toucher pour mener à bien l’intervention (Cass. civ., 1ère du 23 mai 2000).

 

À noter :

 

La faute pourra être à l’origine de poursuites pénales pour homicide involontaire. Il a été jugé qu’un médecin de garde n’ayant pas pris les dispositions nécessaires pour être joint, exposait les patients dont il avait la garde à un risque d’une particulière gravité (Cass. crim., 13 février 2007, n° 06-81.089).

 

Cependant, la faute sera exclue si le médecin démontre qu’il a agi dans les règles de l’art.

 

Les cas ou la faute n’a pas été retenue

 

La faute médicale sera exclue toutes les fois que « l’intervention était conforme aux règles de l’art ». Ainsi, même pour un acte simple (opération de varices) quand la lésion est due à une particularité anatomique « du nerf (situé) plus bas que la normale » La faute ne sera pas retenue.

arrêt du 14 juin 2005, la 1ère Chambre civile

 

La faute ne sera pas retenue si «  l'intervention avait été menée suivant une technique éprouvée avec les précautions habituellement recommandées, que la tactique du praticien avait été raisonnable au vu des difficultés rencontrées, qu'aucune erreur, imprudence, manque de précaution nécessaire, négligence ou autre défaillance fautive ne pouvait être retenue à son encontre » (Cass. civ., 1ère du 29 novembre 2005, n°03-16.308).

 

Il a été retenu que la lésion d’un nerf constitue un risque inhérent à l’intervention et n’engage pas la responsabilité du médecin (Cass. 18 septembre 2008).

 

Un arrêt du 30 mars 2007 de la Cour administrative d’appel de Nantes a précisé que le retard de diagnostic n’est pas fautif quand ce diagnostic est difficile à poser et que les soins et examens ont été conformes aux données acquises de la science.

 

À noter :

 

En matière de chirurgie esthétique et dès lors que la finalité de l’intervention n’est pas thérapeutique le médecin doit respecter le principe de proportionnalité qui doit le conduire à refuser l’opération quand il existe une disproportion entre les risques encourus et les résultats aléatoires envisagés (Cour d’appel de Paris 16 juin 1995).

 

En l’absence de faute prouvée du chirurgien, la Cour conclut à un aléa thérapeutique inhérent à l’intervention. Nous sommes alors dans un régime de responsabilité sans faute.

 

L’absence de faute ne signifie pas que le patient ne sera pas dédommagé. Son préjudice sera pris en charge par la solidarité nationale en saisissant l’ONIAM.

 

L’aggravation de l’état de santé

 

La faute sera retenue si elle contribue à aggraver l’état de santé du patient. Il pourra s’agir d’une erreur de prescription, de dosage, d’un défaut de surveillance...

 

Ainsi, le Conseil d’état a retenu que la prescription répétée de médicaments en dehors des indications thérapeutiques constitue un manquement à l’honneur et à la probité du médecin (arrêt du 19 septembre 2007)

 

Le défaut de surveillance d’un patient présentant un taux de glycémie élevé constitue une faute caractérisée au sens de l’article 121-3 alinéa 4 du Code pénal pour un homicide involontaire suite au décès du patient (Cass. crim.,12 septembre 2006). Ou un défaut de surveillance du patient au stade post-opératoire (Cass. crim., 13 février 2007, n° 06-82.202)

 

Lorsqu’une faute est à l’origine d’une aggravation d’un dommage déjà constitué seule cette aggravation ouvre droit à réparation et la victime ne peut prétendre à une indemnisation totale.

 

Une réparation partielle a été accordée dans un cas où le pédiatre avait prescrit un gavage par sonde gastrique à un enfant victime d’un accident d’hypoglycémie quelques heures après sa naissance alors que sa situation nécessitait une perfusion; cette faute n’était pas à l’origine de l’entier dommage mais seulement de son aggravation car l’enfant présentait déjà de séquelles irréversibles. (Cass. crim., 21 mars 2006)

 

La faute de la victime

 

La faute du patient peut justifier un partage de responsabilité qui ne lui ouvrira droit qu’à une réparation partielle.

 

Dans une espèce, une compresse avait été oubliée dans l’abdomen de la patiente après une opération. La responsabilité de l’hôpital a été retenue mais, la patiente n’ayant pas suivi les prescriptions de son médecin qui lui demandait de faire une radio de son abdomen après l’opération a également été reconnue fautive et n’a eu droit qu’à une réparation partielle. Si elle avait suivi les prescriptions de son médecin, il aurait enlevé la compresse et empêché les complications qui ont suivies. Le Tribunal administratif de Rennes ( 8 février 2007)

 

Psychiatrie

 

Le psychiatre chargé au sein d’un établissement de suivre un patient doit prescrire des mesures de soins et de surveillance appropriées à l’état de ce dernier; il engage sa responsabilité en cas de suicide lorsque ces mesures n’ont pas été prises parce qu’il n’a pas suffisamment informé le personnel soignant sur les risques » (Cass. civ., 1ère du 21 juin 2005).

 

Ainsi, en cas d’agression d’un patient par un autre la responsabilité d’un établissement psychiatrique ne sera retenue que s’il est démontré qu’il y a eu faute dans l’organisation et le fonctionnement du service. 14 novembre 2006 la Cour administrative d’appel de Bordeaux

 

Il doit être observé que la responsabilité du psychiatre tend à s’étendre dangereusement. Récemment, un psychiatre a été poursuivi au pénal pour les actes commis par un de ses patients à l’extérieur de l’établissement.

 

La faute du Service

 

Il s’agit d’une faute commise dans l'organisation du service.

 

Elle est due à un défaut de surveillance, de présence, de compétence médicale, ou d'insuffisance des moyens fournis par la clinique ou l'hôpital.

 

Il a été retenu que le dommage subi par une patiente était dû à un défaut dans l’organisation du service de la clinique privée. Dans cette espèce, les médecins s’étaient absentés et ne sont intervenus que tardivement pour répondre à une difficulté survenue en cours d’accouchement (Cass. civ., 1ère du 15 décembre 1999, n° 97-22.652).  

 

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Décembre 2016