Failure to inform the patient constitutes a fault allowing the civil liability of healthcare professionals to be raised. However, when it comes to liability, it is not enough to be at fault. There must be damage and a causal link between the fault (lack of information) and the (bodily) damage to obtain compensation for the damage suffered.

The basis of the liability regime for breach of information obligation is based entirely on the causal link between fault and damage, the mode of assessment of which has undergone such remarkable development that, in order to be understood, it was necessary to go back a little.

The evolution of the Basis of liability for failure to provide information

Sometimes there is no doubt that the failure to inform has caused harm to the patient.

The doctor is bound by an obligation of science and conscience imposed by the code of medical ethics (Cass. Civ, 1st November 27, 2008, n ° 07-15.963). Thus, any technical fault, any delay in the diagnosis of the disease or in the insufficiency of treatment, will constitute a breach of his obligation to inform (the doctor cannot inform his patient of facts that he himself was unaware of. his only negligence!) and the patient will be entitled to compensation for the entire damage.

The same applies when the doctor performs an act on the body of a patient without having taken the trouble to inform him, such as tubal ligation (Cass. Civ, 1ère October 11, 1988, n ° 86- 12.832). Here again, compensation for the damage is necessary because there is no doubt about the causal link between the fault (lack of information) and the damage (making the patient sterile).

In this specific case, the patient would have refused the operation " IF " she had been informed. And the judges had no trouble understanding it because it is human to want to think twice when you perform an act having irremediable consequences on your body (ablation, tubal ligation ...) or when the risks incurred are too much. serious (paralysis, death, etc.).

It is this lack of choice that will condition the fault. The difficulty being that in order to assess it, it is necessary to guess how the patient would have reacted if he had been validly informed. Perhaps he would have given up on care, treatment or the proposed operation… And maybe not… With “ SI »We would put all the healthcare establishments in bottles, and the doctors on the straw.

The fact remains that this doubt weighing on a choice that has never been given to the patient is fraught with consequences. Indeed, how could judges, who still do not have a time machine, assess and therefore repair the damage suffered? It is to get around this “doubt” that case law will first adapt the theory of “ the loss of luck »Which provided partial compensation for the damage suffered (1), before abandoning it in favor of a strict application of legislative texts which, by giving a legal framework to the obligation to inform, upset the method of assessment and compensation for damage suffered (2).

1- Partial compensation for the damage suffered: Loss of luck

The court of cassation lays down the principle according to which, " The violation of an obligation to inform can only be sanctioned by virtue of the loss of a chance suffered by the patient to escape, by a perhaps more judicious decision, the risk which has finally materialized. ”(Cass, civ, July 1, 12; April 2006, 7). A position shared by administrative jurisprudence (when care is given in a public establishment, it is the administrative judge who is competent).

The lack of information constitutes a fault whenever it causes the patient to lose a chance to make the right decision for the improvement of his condition. It is up to the victim (or his beneficiaries) to prove that the failure of the doctor has deprived him of a chance of recovery, to avoid serious consequences, or even to cause his death.

Clearly, the supreme courts reason by varying ad infinitum on the theme of " If I would have known I would not have come !". By not informing him of all the risks involved, the doctor deprived his patient of a chance to make his decision in a conscious and enlightened manner. If the patient had been validly informed of the risks (which have arisen) he could have renounced the act. (Unless the act was essential).

However, even if it benefits the patient, there is still a shadow of doubt. That is why the patient could never claim full compensation for his damage. Its compensation, which could only be partial, was assessed on the one hand, according to the various heads of damage invoked by the victim and, on the other hand, on the assessment of the compensable loss of opportunity.

Illustration :

A doctor recommends treatment but does not warn his patient of the risks involved (libido, behavioral disorders, paralysis, etc.). The patient reacts badly to the drugs and one of these risks occurs. Behavior disorder (he can no longer work and his family life has become hell ..). Well, the judge to assess the harm will put himself in the patient's shoes when the information should have been given and will say to himself: Given the hoped-for benefits (yes, the heart should be better!) There would be I had an 8 in 10 chance that I would accept this treatment, so a 2 in 10 chance that I would refuse it. Here is! The loss of chance is estimated at 20%.

So if the patient assesses his damage at 10 euros, and the judge assesses the loss of chance at 000%, the damage will only be compensated up to a maximum of 20 euros (but the judge freely assesses the final amount).

1st consequence of the loss of luck:

Even if the information had not been correctly delivered but the patient's state of health had improved, or the benefit of the act outweighed the disadvantages, or the operation had been successful. Failure to comply with the information obligation did not constitute reparable damage. This amounted to recognizing a posteriori that the doctor did not incur any sanction even if it was proven that he had failed in his obligation to inform. After all, the patient hadn't complained that he had done so well.

2nd consequence of the loss of luck:

Failure to comply with the information obligation only allowed partial compensation for the damage. Case law constantly recalls this principle "The violation of an obligation to provide information can only be penalized for the loss of a chance suffered by the patient to escape by a decision may be more judicious at the risk that has finally come true. ". (Cass, civ, July 1, 12).

Many voices have been raised against the excesses caused by the application of the theory of loss of chance. On the one hand, this placed the risk of the therapeutic hazard on the medical professions and on the other hand it required the judge to assess the damage, to retrospectively put himself in the victim's place to guess what she would have done. if she had been aware of all the risks involved.

To render justice as one renders the auspices such as the pythia in a mode close to divination, we may say, it is messy. All the more so as "to put yourself in the place of ..." to render a court decision is already to take sides, which is contrary to the principles of impartiality and fairness which should guide the judge in his office. Of course, “it's not good” but let's keep in mind that without these small adjustments very little, even no repair would have been possible!

Finally, it is the law on patients' rights of March 4, 2002 which, by making the obligation to provide information on the medical professions a legal obligation, imposed the abandonment of the loss of opportunity to assess and repair the harm suffered by patients.

2 - Full compensation for the damage suffered

The law on patients' rights of 2002 will impose a new basis for the compensation of the damage suffered by making the duty to inform all medical professions a legal obligation. But case law will go further by including patients' right to know among human rights, which will upset the entire liability regime for physicians who have failed in their obligation to provide information.

Well, we might as well prevent, the concept is legally difficult, so to make it accessible to as many people as possible, we will come back step by step to the reasoning held by the judges of cassation.

It all started with a judgment handed down on October 9, 2001 (Cass. Civ. 1ère, October 9, 2001, n ° 00-14.564) which announced a precursor change in two stages:

1) The information obligation was no longer referred to in Article 1147 of the Civil Code (contractual liability) but in Article 1382 of the Civil Code (tort liability) which requires full compensation for the damage suffered, so that contractual liability only admits compensation limited to foreseeable risks arising during the execution of the contract.

2) The information obligation is now based on texts: It is a legal obligation. But we are before the Kouchner law, the judges will therefore be based on texts protecting fundamental rights, namely:

  • Article 3 of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union "Within the framework of medicine and the law, the free and informed consent of the person must in particular be respected. »
  • Article 16 of the Civil Code: "The law ensures the primacy of the person, prohibits any attack on the dignity of this one and guarantees the respect of the human being from the beginning of his life. »
  • Article 16-3 of the Civil Code: " The integrity of the human body can only be violated in the event of medical necessity for the person or exceptionally in the therapeutic interest of others. The consent of the interested party must be obtained beforehand except in the case where his condition makes necessary a therapeutic intervention to which he is not able to consent. »

Then comes a judgment rendered by the Court of Cassation of June 3, 2010 (Cass, civ, 1st of June 3, 2010, n ° 09-13.591) which will set the framework for the assessment of the damage in terms of lack of information. .

The facts of this case are straightforward. A patient was operated on without having been informed of the risks inherent in the operation. He incurred if he refused a risk of infection and, if he accepted a risk of impotence (which finally came true). The trial judges, ruled according to the good old method of the " loss of luck And judged that even if he had been informed of the risks, he would not have abandoned the operation since there was an emergency. As a result, whether or not he had been validly informed, he was running a risk in both cases. In short, having the choice only between plague and cholera, he could only claim partial compensation for the damage suffered.

But the judges quashed the judgment in favor of a new legal reasoning to assess compensation for the damage.

The information obligation is a legal obligation. There is no longer any doubt since the Kouchner law of 2002 imposes the obligation to inform in an article 1142-1-1 of the public health code (Cass, civ.1ère of October 14, 2010).

But our decision of June 3, 2010 goes further because it does not base the information obligation on the public health code.

It bases its decision on the visas of articles 16 and 16-3 of the civil code (yes, like the decision of October 9, 2001). And that changes everything! These articles are linked to the rights of individuals and therefore to the rights of personality protected by Article 9 of the Civil Code according to which any finding of an infringement of the rights of individuals gives rise to the right to compensation.

Combined with article 16-1 paragraph 2, on the inviolability of the human body, we end up with a completely new reasoning: Touching the human body means touching the person and therefore necessarily the violation of personality rights.

With this case law, the judges applied to the letter of the fundamental principles to the right to the obligation of information weighing on the medical profession.

The medical act leads to touching the bodily integrity of people. Whether through the action of drugs, an operation, a manipulation ... Directly or indirectly, we touch the body. And you can only attack a person's integrity with their free and informed consent.

So, not informing your patient amounts to a violation of the right to respect for the bodily integrity of the person (art. 16-3 of the civil code) and the violation of the right to respect for the dignity of persons (art. 16 of the civil code).

From now on, the sole finding of the lack of information constitutes in itself a loss which will give rise to full compensation for the damage (art. 1382 of the civil code). Regardless of whether the operation went well or not (and therefore whether the risk materialized or not), the physician's responsibility could always be raised and this, contrary to the theory of loss of chance which, in the absence of damage, did not allow the fault of the doctor to be accepted.

The duty to inform is a legal obligation based on human rights.

And the case law does not stop there. In a decision of April 23, 2014 (Cass, civ. April 23, 2014, n ° 12-22.123) the judges extended the right of compensation to non-pecuniary damage.

Let us recall that the theory of loss of chance did not give rise to the right to non-pecuniary damage, unlike the Council of State which, following the opinion of its rapporteur, had admitted in 2012 that " reparation for any troubles he may have suffered due to the fact that he could not prepare for this eventuality by making personal arrangements ... »Gave the right to compensation for the moral prejudice of the patient. (CE October 10, 2012, n ° 350 426 rec. Lebon)

In its decision of 23 April 2014, the Court of Cassation operates the same reasoning as the administrative judges by granting a right of compensation for “ damage resulting from a lack of preparation for the consequences of such a risk that the judge cannot leave without compensation ».

Article 1382 of the Civil Code considerably opens up the field of reparable damage since now all damage can be repaired. (inability to return to work, home help, moral preparation before the operation, etc.).

The case law developed since 2010 around the duty to provide information may seem "surprising" because few decisions are ultimately made under article 1142-1-1 of the public health code to favor articles and fundamental principles that did exist. before the Kouchner law of 2002.

Then ? You will say to me, why elaborate the theory of the loss of chance when more appropriate texts made it possible to base the total compensation for the damage suffered?

Well, and this is a personal opinion, the main innovation of the Kouchner law was not to give a regulatory framework to the information obligation that already existed in national and international texts. But to make the repair of the therapeutic risk weigh on society by creating commissions responsible for evaluating and repairing prejudices that could not be linked to any fault on the part of the doctor.

Therapeutic hazard or " the fault is bad luck Was the main flaw in the information obligation breastplate. There is always an element of randomness in the medical act (physical disorders, disability, death, etc.), whether the patient has been validly informed or not. Only the theory of loss of chance made it possible to circumvent the devastating effects of the refusal to repair the damage suffered.

Now things are clear. The therapeutic contingency being taken care of, only will be referred to the courts real case of lack of information. A legal obligation, reinforced and therefore more severely repressed.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Le régime de la responsabilité du défaut d'information

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     Ne pas informer le patient est constitutif d’une faute permettant de soulever la responsabilité civile des professionnels de santé. Cependant, en matière de responsabilité, commettre une faute ne suffit pas. Il faut qu’il y ait un dommage et un lien de causalité entre la faute (le défaut d’information) et le dommage (corporel) pour obtenir la réparation du préjudice subi.

 

Le fondement du régime de la responsabilité pour manquement à l’obligation d’information repose entièrement sur le lien de causalité entre la faute et le dommage dont le mode d’appréciation a connu une évolution si remarquable que, pour être comprise, il était nécessaire de faire un petit retour en arrière.

 

L'évolution du Fondement de la responsabilité pour manquement à l'obligation d'information

 

Parfois, il ne fait aucun doute que le manquement à l’obligation d’information a causé un préjudice au patient.

 

Le médecin est tenu à une obligation de science et de conscience imposée par le code de déontologie médical (Cass. civ, 1ère 27 novembre 2008, n°07-15.963). Ainsi, toute faute technique, tout retard d’exécution dans le diagnostic de la maladie ou dans l’insuffisance de traitement, constituera un manquement à son obligation d’information (le médecin ne peut informer son patient de faits que lui-même ignorait par sa seule négligence !) et le patient aura droit à la réparation de l’entier préjudice.

 

Il en va de même lorsque le médecin pratique un acte sur le corps d’un patient sans avoir pris la peine de l’en informer, telle qu’une ligature des trompes (Cass. civ, 1ère 11 octobre 1988, n° 86-12.832). Là encore, la réparation du préjudice s’impose car aucun doute ne pèse sur le lien de causalité entre la faute (défaut d’information) et le dommage (rendre la patiente stérile).

 

Dans ce cas précis, la patiente aurait refusé l'opération "SI" elle en avait été informée.  Et les juges n'ont eu aucun mal à le comprendre car il est humain de vouloir y réfléchir à deux fois quand on pratique un acte ayant des conséquences irrémédiables sur votre corps (ablation, ligature des trompes...) ou que les risques encourus soient trop graves (paralysie, décès...).

 

C'est cette absence de choix qui va conditionner la faute. La difficulté étant que pour l'évaluer, il faut deviner comment aurait réagi le patient s'il avait été valablement informé.  Peut-être aurait-il renoncé aux soins, aux traitements ou à l'opération proposée... Et peut-être que non... Avec des "SI" on mettrait tous les Etablissements de soins en bouteille, et les médecins sur la paille.

 

Il n'en demeure pas moins que ce doute pesant sur un choix qui n'a jamais été donné au patient est lourd de conséquences. En effet, comment les juges, qui ne disposent toujours pas d'une machine à remonter le temps, pourraient-ils évaluer et donc réparer le préjudice subi ? C'est pour contourner ce « doute » que la jurisprudence va dans un premier temps adapter la théorie de « la perte de chance » qui assurait une réparation partielle du préjudice subi (1), avant de l’abandonner au profit d’une application stricte des textes législatifs qui, en donnant un cadre légal à l’obligation d’information a bouleversé le mode d’évaluation et de réparation des préjudices subis (2).

 

1- La réparation partielle du préjudice subi : La perte de chance

 

La cour de cassation pose le principe selon lequel, « La violation d’une obligation d’information ne peut être sanctionnée qu’au titre de la perte d’une chance subie par le patient d’échapper par une décision peut-être plus judicieuse au risque qui s’est finalement réalisé » (Cass, civ, 1ère 12 juillet 2006 ; 7 avril 1990). Une position partagée par la jurisprudence administrative (quand les soins sont donnés dans un établissement public, c'est le juge administratif qui est compétent) .

 

Le défaut d'information d'information constitue une faute toute les fois qu'il fait perdre au patient une chance de prendre la bonne décision pour l'amélioration de son état. Il appartient à la victime (ou ses ayants-droit) de prouver que le manquement du médecin l’a privé d’une chance de guérison, d’éviter de graves séquelles, voire de causer son décès.

 

En clair, les juridictions suprêmes raisonnent en variant à l’infini sur le thème du « Si j’aurais su j’aurais pas venu !». En ne l’informant pas de tous les risques encourus, le médecin a ôté une chance à son patient de prendre sa décision de manière consciente et éclairée. Si le patient avait été valablement informé des risques (qui se sont réalisés) il aurait pu renoncer à l’acte. (Sauf si l’acte était indispensable).

 

Cependant même s’il profite au patient l’ombre du doute subsiste toujours. C’est pourquoi le patient ne pouvait jamais prétendre à la réparation totale de son préjudice. Son indemnisation qui ne pouvait être que partielle était appréciée d’une part, en fonction des différents chefs de préjudices invoqués par la victime et, d’autre part, sur l’évaluation de la perte de chance indemnisable. 

 

Illustration:

 

Un médecin préconise un traitement mais ne prévient pas son patient des risques encourus (troubles de la libido, du comportement, paralysie...). Le patient réagit mal aux médicaments et un de ces risques survient.:Trouble de comportements (il ne peut plus travailler et sa vie familiale est devenue un enfer..). Et bien le juge pour évaluer le préjudice va se mettre à la place du patient au moment où l'information aurait dû être donnée et va se dire: Compte tenu des avantages espérés ( Eh oui, le coeur devrait aller mieux !) il y aurait eu 8 chance sur 10 pour que j' accepte ce traitement, donc 2 chances sur 10 pour que je le refuse. Voilà! La perte de chance est évaluée à 20% .

 

Donc si le patient évalue son préjudice à 10 000 euros, et que le juge évalue la perte de chance à 20%, le préjudice ne sera indemnisé qu'à hauteur de 2 000 euros maximum ( mais le juge apprécie librement le montant final).

 

1ère conséquence de la perte de chance :

 

Même si l’information n’avait pas été correctement délivrée mais que l’état de santé du malade s'était amélioré, ou que le bénéfice de l’acte était supérieur aux inconvénients, ou que l’opération avait réussie. Le manquement à l’obligation d’information ne constituait pas un préjudice réparable. Cela revenait à reconnaître a posteriori que le médecin n’encourait aucune sanction même s’il était avéré qu’il avait manqué à son obligation d’information. Après tout, le patient n’avait pas se plaindre de s’en être aussi bien sorti.

 

2ème conséquence de la perte de chance :

 

Le manquement à l’obligation d’information ne permettait qu’une réparation partielle du dommage. La jurisprudence rappelle ce principe de manière constante «  La violation d’une obligation d’information ne peut être sanctionnée qu’au titre de la perte d’une chance subie par le patient d’échapper par une décision peut être plus judicieuse au risque qui s’est finalement réalisé. ». (Cass, civ, 1ère 12 juillet 2006).

 

Beaucoup de voix se sont élevées contre les dérives qu’entraînaient l’application de la théorie de la perte de chance. D’une part cela faisait reposer le risque de l’aléa thérapeutique sur les professions médicales et d’autre part cela imposait au juge pour apprécier le préjudice, de se mettre rétrospectivement à la place de la victime pour deviner ce qu’elle aurait fait si elle avait eu connaissance de tous les risques encourus.

 

Rendre la justice comme on rend les auspices telle la pythie sur un mode proche de la divination, on a beau dire, ça fait désordre. D'autant que "se mettre à la place de.." pour rendre une décision de justice, c'est déjà prendre parti, ce qui est contraire aux principes d'impartialité et d'équité devant guider le juge dans son office.. Certes, "ce n'est pas bien" mais gardons quand même à l’esprit que sans ces petits aménagements très peu, voire aucune réparation n’aurait été envisageable !

 

Finalement, c’est la loi sur les droits des patients du 4 mars 2002 qui en faisant de l’obligation d’information pesant sur les professions médicales une obligation légale, a imposé l’abandon de la perte de chance pour évaluer et réparer le préjudice subi par les patients.

 

2 - La réparation totale du préjudice subi

 

La loi sur les droits des patients de 2002 va imposer un nouveau fondement à la réparation du préjudice subi en faisant du devoir d’information pesant sur toutes les professions médicales une obligation légale. Mais la jurisprudence va aller plus loin en inscrivant le  droit de savoir des patients au rang des droits de la personne, ce qui va bouleverser tout le régime de la responsabilité des médecins ayant manqués à leur obligation d'information.

 

Bon, autant prévenir, la notion est juridiquement ardue, donc pour la rendre accessible au plus grand nombre, nous reviendrons pas à pas sur le raisonnement tenu par les juges de cassation.

 

Tout commence par un arrêt rendu le 9 octobre 2001 (Cass. civ. 1ère, 9 octobre 2001, n°00-14.564) qui annonçait un changement précurseur en deux temps :

 

1) L’obligation d’information était visée non plus sur l’article 1147 du code civil (responsabilité contractuelle) mais sur l’article 1382 du code civil (responsabilité délictuelle) ce qui oblige à l’entière réparation du préjudice subi, alors que la responsabilité contractuelle n’admet qu’une réparation limitée aux risques prévisibles survenus au cours de l’exécution du contrat.

 

2) L’obligation d’information est désormais fondée sur des textes : C’est une obligation légale. Mais nous sommes avant la loi Kouchner, les juges vont donc se fonder sur des textes protégeant des droits fondamentaux, à savoir:

 

- l’article 3 de la Charte des droits fondamentaux de l’Union européenne « Dans le cadre de la médecine et de la loi, doivent notamment être respectés le consentement libre et éclairé de la personne »

 

- L’article 16 du code civil : « La loi assure la primauté de la personne, interdit toute atteinte à la dignité de celle-ci et garantit le respect de l'être humain dès le commencement de sa vie. »

 

- L’article 16-3 du code civil : « Il ne peut être porté atteinte à l'intégrité du corps humain qu'en cas de nécessité médicale pour la personne ou à titre exceptionnel dans l'intérêt thérapeutique d'autrui. Le consentement de l'intéressé doit être recueilli préalablement hors le cas où son état rend nécessaire une intervention thérapeutique à laquelle il n'est pas à même de consentir. »

 

Puis, vient un arrêt rendu par la cour de cassation du 3 juin 2010 (Cass, civ, 1ère du 3 juin 2010, n°09-13.591) qui va poser le cadre de l’évaluation du préjudice en matière de défaut d’information.

 

Les faits de l’espèce sont simples. Un patient était opéré sans avoir été informé des risques inhérents à l’opération. Il encourait s’il refusait un risque d’infection et, s’il acceptait un risque d’impuissance (qui finalement s’est réalisé). Les juges du fond, ont tranché selon la bonne vieille méthode de la "perte de chance" et jugé que même s’il avait été informé des risques, il n’aurait pas renoncé à l’opération puisqu'il y avait urgence. De ce fait, qu’il ait été valablement informé ou pas il encourait un risque dans les deux cas. Bref, n'ayant le choix qu'entre la peste et le choléra, il ne pouvait prétendre qu'à la réparation partielle du préjudice subi.

 

Mais les juges  ont cassé l’arrêt au profit d’un nouveau raisonnement juridique pour évaluer la réparation du préjudice.

 

L’obligation d’information est une obligation légale. Cela ne fait plus aucun doute puisque la loi Kouchner de 2002 impose l’obligation d’informer dans un article 1142-1-1 du code de santé publique (Cass, civ.1ère du 14 octobre 2010).

 

Mais notre décision du 3 juin 2010 va plus loin car elle ne fonde pas l’obligation d'information sur le code de santé publique.

 

Elle fonde sa décision aux visas des articles 16 et 16-3 du code civil (eh oui, comme la décision du 9 octobre 2001). Et cela change tout ! Ces articles sont rattachés aux droits des personnes et donc aux droits de la personnalité protégés par l’article 9 du code civil selon lequel toute constatation d’une atteinte au droit des personnes ouvre droit à réparation.

 

Combiné avec l’article 16-1 alinéa 2, sur l'inviolabilité du corps humain, on aboutit à un tout nouveau raisonnement : Toucher au corps humain signifie toucher à la personne et donc nécessairement à la violation des droits de la personnalité.

 

Avec cette jurisprudence, les juges ont appliqué à la lettre des principes fondamentaux au droit à l’obligation d’information pesant sur le corps médical.

 

L’acte médical conduit à toucher à l’intégrité corporelle des personnes. Que se soit par l’action de médicaments, d’une opération, d’une manipulation... Directement ou indirectement, on touche au corps. Et on ne peut porter atteinte à l’intégrité d’une personne qu’avec son consentement libre et éclairé.

 

Ainsi, ne pas informer son patient revient à la violation du droit au respect de l’intégrité corporelle de la personne (art. 16-3 du code civil) et à la violation du droit au respect de la dignité des personnes (art. 16 du code civil).

 

Désormais la seule constatation du défaut d’information constitue en elle-même un préjudice qui donnera lieu à la réparation intégrale du préjudice ( art. 1382 du code civil). Peu importe que l’opération se soit bien passée ou non (et donc que le risque se réalise ou pas), la responsabilité du médecin pourra toujours être soulevée et ce, contrairement à la théorie de la perte de chance qui, en l’absence de préjudice, ne permettait pas de retenir la faute du médecin.

 

L’obligation d’information est une obligation légale fondée sur les droits de la personne.

 

Et la jurisprudence ne s’arrête pas là. Dans une décision du 23 avril 2014 (Cass, civ. 23 avril 2014, n° 12-22.123) les juges ont étendu le droit de réparation au préjudice moral.

 

Rappelons, que la théorie de la perte de chance n’ouvrait pas droit au préjudice moral contrairement au Conseil d’Etat qui suivant l’avis de son rapporteur avait admis dès 2012 que « la réparation des troubles qu’il a pu subir du fait qu’il n’a pas pu se préparer à cette éventualité en prenant des dispositions personnelles... » ouvrait droit à la réparation du préjudice moral du patient. (CE 10 octobre 2012, n° 350 426 rec. Lebon)

 

Dans sa décision du 23 avril 2014, la cour de cassation opère le même raisonnement que les juges administratifs en accordant un droit de réparation du « préjudice résultant d’un défaut de préparation aux conséquences d’un tel risque que le juge ne peut laisser sans réparation ».

 

L’article 1382 du code civil, ouvre considérablement le champ du préjudice réparable puisque désormais tous les préjudices pourront être réparés. (impossibilité de reprendre le travail, aide à domicile, préparation morale avant l'opération...).

 

La jurisprudence élaborée depuis 2010 autour du devoir d’information peut paraître « étonnante » car peu de décision sont finalement rendues au visas de l’article 1142-1-1 du code de santé public pour privilégier des articles et des principes fondamentaux qui existaient bien avant la loi Kouchner de 2002.

 

Alors ? Me direz-vous, pourquoi élaborer la théorie de la perte de chance quand des textes plus appropriés permettaient de fonder la réparation totale du préjudice subi ?

 

Et bien, et c’est un avis personnel, la principale innovation de la loi Kouchner n’a pas été de donner un cadre réglementaire à l’obligation d’information qui existait déjà dans des textes nationaux et internationaux. Mais de faire peser la réparation de l’aléa thérapeutique sur la société en créant des commissions chargées d’évaluer et de réparer des préjudices qui ne pouvaient pas être rattachés à une quelconque faute du médecin.

 

L’aléa thérapeutique ou « la faute à pas de chance » était le principal défaut de la cuirasse de l’obligation d’information. Il y a toujours une part d’aléa dans l’acte médical (troubles physiques, handicap, décès...) et ce, que le patient ait été valablement informé ou non. Seule la théorie de la perte de chance permettait de contourner les effets dévastateurs du refus de réparer le préjudice subi.

 

Désormais les choses sont claires. L’aléa thérapeutique étant pris en charge, seuls seront renvoyés devant les tribunaux les vrais cas de défaut d’information. Une obligation légale, renforcée et donc plus sévèrement réprimée.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Octobre 2016