According to case law, the therapeutic hazard is the damage occurring during a medical act, not attributable to a health professional, neither to the patient's previous condition, nor to its endogenous development (an accidental risk inherent in the medical act that cannot be controlled).

Clearly, the therapeutic hazard is "the fault of bad luck!" ".

A hazard is an insurmountable and unpredictable event, the first of which is all medical accidents, iatrogenic diseases and nosocomial infections resulting from prevention, diagnosis or treatment activities.

This hazard, which case law tried to remedy by extending the field of medical liability, was not, however, always repairable in the absence of fault.

It is already difficult to understand that a patient comes out of a healthcare establishment sicker than when he was admitted, but that no one could blame anyone else created situations that were too unbearable to be ignored any longer.

Therefore, how to repair damage arising from a therapeutic hazard?

The answer to this question is provided by the law n ° 2002-303 of March 4, 2002 on the rights of the patients, known as “Kouchner law” by creating a mechanism making weigh the compensation of the victims of the therapeutic hazard on the national solidarity. .

The creation of the Regional Commissions for Conciliation and Compensation for Medical Accidents, Iatrogenic Diseases and Nosocomial Infections (CRCI which became the CRI) and the National Office for Compensation for Medical Accidents (ONIAM).

The compensation mechanism put in place derogates from the principle of medical liability for fault on the part of the doctor and the care establishments.

For nosocomial infections, the law which was inspired by civil and administrative case law, makes a distinction according to whether the involvement of liability concerns a health establishment (hospital, clinics) or a health professional (doctor, surgeon). , anesthesiologist…).

Responsibility of healthcare establishments

Thus, according to article L.1142-1 of the Public Health Code, health establishments "are liable for damage resulting from nosocomial infections, unless they provide proof of a foreign cause". The responsibility of healthcare establishments for nosocomial infections is a very broad responsibility. The patient must provide proof that he was not infected with the infection before his hospitalization and that he did contract the said infection during a stay in the establishment in question or during the treatment provided.

The healthcare establishment will attempt to exonerate itself from its responsibility by proving that the patient has not been infected on its premises…. (he must demonstrate the existence of a foreign cause).

The responsibility of health professionals

Practitioners will only be held liable for the least serious damage. With the mechanism of the “Kouchner” law, the most significant damage from a nosocomial infection will be supported by national solidarity.

The limits of care

The implementation of the specific compensation regime for the most serious damages (CRI and ONIAM) is governed by the law of December 30, 2002, which entered into force on January 1, 2003.

These new provisions codified in article L 1142-1-1 of the Public Health Code are not retroactive. As a result, the consequences and interventions at the origin of nosocomial infection will not be covered by national solidarity until January 1, 2003, the date of its entry into force.

This means that for serious infections contracted before January 1, 2003, it will not be possible to enter ONIAM.

It is up to healthcare establishments, practitioners and therefore their insurers, to compensate patients who are victims of a therapeutic hazard contracted before the promulgation of the law.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

L'Aléa thérapeutique

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

   Selon la jurisprudence, l’aléa thérapeutique est le dommage survenu au cours d’un acte médical, non imputable à un professionnel de santé, ni a l’état antérieur du patient, ni à son évolution endogène (un risque accidentel inhérent à l’acte médical qui ne peut être maîtrisé).

 

En clair, l’aléa thérapeutique c’est « la faute à pas de chance ! ».

 

Un aléa est un événement insurmontable et imprévisible, au premier rang duquel figure tous les accidents médicaux, affections iatrogènes et infections nosocomiales consécutifs à des activités de prévention, de diagnostic ou de soins.

 

Cet aléa, que la jurisprudence tentait de réparer en étendant le champ de la responsabilité médicale n’était cependant pas toujours réparable en l’absence de faute.

 

Qu’un patient ressorte d’un établissement de soin plus malade que lors de son admission, est déjà difficile à comprendre, mais que l’on ne puisse retenir la faute de personne créait des situations trop insupportables pour être plus longtemps ignorées.

 

De ce fait, comment réparer un dommage né d’un aléa thérapeutique ?

 

La réponse à cette question est apportée par la loi n°2002-303 du 4 mars 2002 sur les droits des patients, dite « loi Kouchner » en créant un mécanisme faisant peser l’indemnisation des victimes de l’aléa thérapeutique sur la solidarité nationale.

 

La création des Commissions Régionales de Conciliation et d’Indemnisation des accidents médicaux, des affections iatrogènes et des infections nosocomiales (CRCI devenues les CRI) et l’Office National d’Indemnisation des Accidents Médicaux (ONIAM).

 

Le mécanisme de réparation mis en place déroge au principe de la responsabilité médicale pour faute du médecin et des établissements de soins.


Pour les infections nosocomiales, la loi qui s’est inspirée des jurisprudences civiles et administratives, procède a une distinction selon que la mise en jeu de la responsabilité concerne un établissement de santé (hôpital, cliniques) ou un professionnel de santé (médecin, chirurgien, anesthésiste...).

 

La responsabilité des établissements de soins

 

Ainsi, d'après l'article L.1142-1 du Code de la santé publique, les établissements de santé « sont responsables des dommages résultant d’infections nosocomiales, sauf s’ils rapportent la preuve d’une cause étrangère ».

 

La responsabilité des établissements de santé en matière d’infections nosocomiales est une responsabilité très étendue. Le patient doit rapporter la preuve qu’il n’était pas atteint de l’infection avant son hospitalisation et qu’il a bien contracté ladite infection lors d'un séjour dans l'établissement mis en cause ou au cours des soins prodigués.

 

L’établissement de soin tentera de s'exonérer de sa responsabilité en prouvant que le patient n’a pas été infecté dans ses locaux.... (il doit démontrer l'existence d'une cause étrangère).

 

La responsabilité des professionnels de santé

 

Les praticiens ne verront leur responsabilité engagée que pour les dommages les moins graves. Avec le mécanisme de la loi « Kouchner » les dommages les plus importants d'une infection nosocomiale seront pris en charge par la solidarité nationale.

 

Les limites de la prise en charge

 

La mise en place du régime spécifique d’indemnisation pour les dommages les plus graves (CRI et ONIAM) est encadrée par la loi du 30 décembre 2002 entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2003.

 

Ces nouvelles dispositions codifiées à l’article L 1142-1-1 du Code de la santé publique, ne sont pas rétroactives. De ce fait, les conséquences et les interventions à l’origine de l’infection nosocomiales ne seront prises en charge par la solidarité nationale qu’à compter du 1er janvier 2003, date de son entrée en vigueur.

 

Cela signifie que pour les infections graves contractées avant le 1er janvier 2003, il ne sera pas possible de saisir l’ONIAM.

 

Il appartient aux établissements de soins, aux praticiens et donc, à leurs assureurs, de dédommager les patients victimes d’un aléa thérapeutique contracté avant la promulgation de la loi.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Janvier 2017