What differentiates Medical Interruption of Pregnancy (or therapeutic abortion) fromAbortion : it is the absence of choice.

Framed by the Veil law n ° 75-17 of January 17, 1975 on the right to abortion, IMG or therapeutic abortion, tends to terminate a wanted and desired pregnancy for medical reasons. This is in the interest of the mother in the event of a dangerous pregnancy, or of the fetus suffering from a malformation or an incurable disease.

Prenatal diagnosis has become, since the Perruche judgment, a major issue for both mothers and health professionals. It is for not having been able to detect this risk of fetal malformation nor to give the mother the possibility of performing an IMG that the doctors saw their liability incurred for failure to comply with their information obligation.

The development of prenatal diagnosis and the specialization of physicians have enabled great progress in fetal medicine. The latter work in multidisciplinary centers for prenatal diagnosis created by decree n ° 97-578 of May 8, 1997.

These multidisciplinary centers (CPDNP) whose missions are framed by decree n ° 2006-1661 of December 22, 2006, have a center of clinical, ultrasound and biological skills, the aim of which is to promote access to antenatal screening.

They intervene in particular:

  • In case of affection or suspicion of affection in an embryo or a fetus, or in cells taken from an embryo in vitro
  • To provide theoretical and practical training for practitioners involved in prenatal diagnosis.
  • To provide advisory opinions when requesting an IMG as well as attesting to the indication of an IMG.

Law n ° 94-653 of July 30, 1994 associates the specialist doctors of these centers with the IMG procedure under the conditions set out in article 2313-1 of the public health code.

Law n ° 2001-598 of July 2001 and decree n ° 2002-778 of May 3, 2002 modified the procedure to promote consultation and offer a more human framework to women confronted with IMG by allowing them to choose their doctor. , to be accompanied by psychologists, associations ...

The IMG can be performed for two reasons: The interest of the mother or that of the fetus. Hence the need to clearly distinguish the two applicable procedures.

The mother's interest

It is about ending a pregnancy that endangers the health and even the life of the mother.

The procedure

According to article R. 2213-1 of the public health code “ When a pregnant woman plans to have an IMG on the grounds that the continuation of her pregnancy seriously endangers her health, she requests it from a doctor specializing in gyneco-obstetrics (...) ».

It is therefore the mother who must make the request to an obstetrician gynecologist practicing in a public or private health establishment under the conditions of article L.2322-1 of the public health code.

The doctor contacted the team at the Multidisciplinary Prenatal Diagnosis Center (CPDNP) for an opinion. This team is made up of:

  • A doctor specializing in obstetrical gynecology
  • A doctor chosen by the woman
  • A psychologist or social worker

Before the consultation, the parents or the mother can ask to be heard by one or more members of the team.

After the consultation, minutes of the meeting will be drawn up. If two doctors recognize that the continuation of the pregnancy seriously endangers the health of the woman, the multidisciplinary team will establish a certificate.

All these documents, the report, the certificate and all the examination reports will appear in the mother's medical file which will be kept by the CPDNP.

The IMG will be performed by medication or surgery at any time even after the 12th week of pregnancy and therefore, at a very advanced stage of pregnancy.

Fetal malformation

Framed by law n ° 94-653 of July 29, 1994 relating to respect for the human body, the IMG can only be considered if it exists " a high probability that the unborn child will have a particularly serious condition recognized as incurable at the time of diagnosis ».

The legal definition

Although there is no exhaustive list, the following will be retained as a particularly serious fetal condition:

Chromosomal abnormalities - Ultrasound malformations (for which treatment will be either palliative or impossible) - Disabled genetic diseases - Syndromes or sequences identified - Serious congenital infections - Pathologies of twin pregnancies (STT, etc.) - Environmental pathologies (drugs, alcohol, etc.)

Ultrasound malformations can affect all organs including: Malformations of the nervous system (anencephaly, spina bifida, etc.) - Malformations of the heart and large vessels - Malformations of the bilateral reno-urinary system - Malformations of muscles, bones, of the limbs - Malformations of the abdomen and walls - Edemas, hydrops, tumors of the soft parts - Malformations of the genitals - Extreme growth delays in utero (…)

To know :

IMG cannot be considered for malformations that can be operated on from birth.

The procedure

The request is made by the mother to the obstetrician gynecologist who follows her to forward it to the Multidisciplinary Center for Prenatal Diagnosis (CPDNP).

A prenatal diagnosis will be performed by two doctors, one of whom must be recognized as an expert by the Court of Appeal or the Court of Cassation.

Article R. 162-19 of the public health code specifies that the multidisciplinary team must include two doctors specializing in fetal diagnosis, that is to say: an obstetrician gynecologist, a sonographer, a geneticist or a pediatrician of the Center.

Several examinations can be carried out to establish the prognosis: These could be in utero procedures such as punctures of trophoblasts, amniocentesis (karyotype, FISH, search for pathogenic germs, etc.), fetal blood punctures, blood transfusions. utero… And depending on the fetal pathology, several other practitioners will be able to intervene: Cardiopediatricians, urologists, pediatric neurologists, “digestive” surgeons…

This involves establishing a precise diagnosis, explaining the pathology to the parents and, above all, discussing the prognosis.

It will then be up to the two designated specialist doctors (including the expert near the courts) to rule on the existence of high probabilities " that the unborn child has a particularly serious condition recognized as incurable at the time of diagnosis ».

They will establish a certificate including their names, their specialties, their membership in the multidisciplinary center and their signatures. A copy will be given to the parents and the original will be kept in the patient's medical file.

The multidisciplinary center keeps a medical file for each request including the report, opinions, conclusions, certificate, date of the IMG and the results of examinations.

To know :

Whether it is an IMG performed in the interest of the mother or for fetal malformation, the multidisciplinary team can give an unfavorable opinion if it is a question of disease or malformations that can be treated, corrected to birth such as cleft lip, extra fingers ...

Likewise, parents, although informed of the risks, may refuse the intervention. In this case, they will benefit from appropriate support during pregnancy but also after the birth of the child.

After the IMG, a new meeting is scheduled to inform the couple about the results of the examination carried out, or those to be done, to understand what from a genetic point of view was at the origin of the malformation or incurable disease of the fetus.

Likewise, psychological support can be put in place at any time to help the couple overcome this ordeal.

Pregnancy Medical Interruption: A right recognized and protected by the ECHR

The European Court of Human Rights in a judgment of March 20, 2007 (Tysiax v / Poland) held that a State has a positive obligation to protect the rights of its nationals to respect for their private life in the event of disagreement medical on their right to benefit from a therapeutic abortion

A Polish national suffering from severe myopia who was refused by doctors to perform a therapeutic abortion which risked aggravating her disability. But after giving birth, her condition worsened anyway.

She based her action on the violation of Articles 8 (right to respect for his private life, 3 (prohibition of inhuman and degrading treatment), 13 (right to appeal to a national body) and 14 (principle of non-discrimination) of the European Convention on Human Rights.

The ECHR condemned Poland on Article 8 of the ECHR, for not having put in place a medical procedure in the event of disagreement between a doctor and his patient, or between doctors to resolve the conflict.

To note :

The decision is based on Article 8 of the ECHR, as abortion legislation comes into the realm of privacy.

The right to privacy is a concept which includes in particular, physical and social identity, the right to autonomy and personal development, the right to establish and maintain relations with other human beings and outside world…

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

L'interruption Médicale de Grossesse (IMG)

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     Ce qui différencie l’Interruption Médicale de Grossesse (ou l'avortement thérapeutique) de l’Interruption Volontaire de Grossesse : c’est l’absence de choix.

 

Encadré par la loi Veil n°75-17 du 17 janvier 1975 sur le droit à l’avortement, l’IMG ou l’avortement thérapeutique, tend à mettre fin à une grossesse voulue et désirée pour des raisons médicales. Et ce, dans l’intérêt de la mère en cas de grossesse dangereuse, ou du fœtus atteint d’une malformation ou d’une maladie incurable.

 

Le diagnostic prénatal est devenu, depuis l’arrêt Perruche, un enjeu majeur tant pour la mère que pour les professionnels de santé. C’est pour ne pas avoir su déceler ce risque de malformation du fœtus ni donné à la mère la possibilité de pratiquer une IMG que les médecins ont vu leur responsabilité engagée pour manquement à leur obligation d’information.

 

Le développement du diagnostic prénatal et la spécialisation de médecins a permis de grande avancée en matière de médecine fœtale. Ces derniers exercent dans des centres pluridisciplinaires du diagnostic prénatal créés par le décret n°97-578 du 8 mai 1997.

 

Ces centres pluridisciplinaires (CPDNP) dont les missions sont encadrées par le décret n°2006-1661 du 22 décembre 2006, disposent d’un pôle de compétences cliniques, échographiques et biologiques dont le but est de favoriser l’accès au dépistage anténatal.

 

Ils interviennent notamment :

- En cas d’affection ou de suspicion d’affection chez un embryon ou un fœtus, ou sur des cellules prélevées sur un embryon in vitro

- Pour assurer la formation théorique et pratique des praticiens concernés par le diagnostic prénatal.

- Pour rendre des avis consultatifs lors d’une demande d’IMG ainsi que les attestations de l’indication d’une IMG.

 

la loi n° 94-653 du 30 juillet 1994 associe les médecins spécialisés de ces centres à la procédure de l’IMG dans les conditions fixées à l’article 2313-1 du code de la santé publique.

 

La loi n° 2001-598 du juillet 2001 et le décret n°2002-778 du 3 mai 2002 ont modifié la procédure pour favoriser la concertation et offrir un cadre plus humain aux femmes confrontées à l’IMG en leur permettant de choisir leur médecin, d’être accompagnées de psychologues, des associations...

 

L’IMG peut être pratiquée pour deux motifs : L’intérêt de la mère ou celle du fœtus. D’où la nécessité de bien distinguer les deux procédures applicables.

 

L’intérêt de la mère

 

Il s’agit de mettre fin à une grossesse qui met en péril la santé voire la vie de la mère.

 

La procédure

 

Selon l’article R. 2213-1 du code de santé publique « Lorsqu’une femme enceinte envisage de recourir à une IMG au motif que la poursuite de sa grossesse met en péril grave sa santé, elle en fait la demande auprès d’un médecin spécialisé en gynéco-obstétrique (...) ».

 

C’est donc la mère qui doit en faire la demande auprès d’un gynécologue obstétricien exerçant dans un établissement de santé public ou privé dans les conditions de l’article L.2322-1 du code de la santé publique.

 

Le médecin saisit l’équipe du Centre pluridisciplinaire de diagnostic prénatal (CPDNP) pour qu’elle rende un avis. Cette équipe est constituée par :

- Un médecin spécialisé en gynécologie obstétrique

- Un médecin choisi par la femme

- Un psychologue ou un(e) assistant(e) social(e)

 

Avant la concertation, les parents, ou la mère, peuvent demander à être entendue par un ou plusieurs membres de l’équipe.

 

Après la concertation, il sera établi un procès verbal de la réunion. Si deux médecins reconnaissent que la poursuite de la grossesse met en péril grave la santé de la femme, l’équipe pluridisciplinaire établira une attestation.

 

Tous ces documents, le procès verbal, l’attestation et tous les comptes rendus d’examens figureront dans le dossier médical de la mère qui sera gardé par le CPDNP.

 

L’IMG sera pratiquée par voie médicamenteuse ou chirurgicale à tout moment même après la 12ème semaine de grossesse et donc, à un stade très avancé de la grossesse.

 

La malformation fœtale

 

Encadrée par la loi n° 94-653 du 29 juillet 1994 relative au respect du corps humain, l’IMG ne pourra être envisagée que s’il existe « une forte probabilité que l’enfant à naître soit atteint d’une affection d’une particulière gravité reconnue comme incurable au moment du diagnostic ».

 

La définition légale 

 

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de liste exhaustive, seront retenues comme affection fœtale d’une particulière gravité :

 

Les anomalies chromosomiques – Les malformations échographiques (dont le traitement sera soit palliatif, soit impossible) – Les maladies génétiques avec handicap – Les syndromes ou séquences identifiés – Les infections congénitales graves – Les pathologies des grossesses gémellaires (STT,…) - Les pathologies environnementales (médicaments, alcool,…)

 

Les malformations échographiques peuvent toucher tous les organes dont : Les malformations du système nerveux (anencéphalie, spina bifida,…) - Les malformations du cœur et des gros vaisseaux – Les malformations du système réno-urinaire bilatéral – Les malformations des muscles, des os, des membres – Les malformations de l’abdomen et des parois – Les oedèmes, anasarques, tumeurs des parties molles – Les malformations des organes génitaux – Les retards de croissance in utero extrême  (...)

 

À savoir :

 

L’IMG ne peut pas être envisagée pour des malformations pouvant être opérées dès la naissance.

 

La procédure

 

La demande est faite par la mère auprès du gynécologue obstétricien qui la suit pour la transmettre au Centre pluridisciplinaire de diagnostic prénatal (CPDNP).

 

Un diagnostic prénatal sera pratiqué par deux médecins dont l’un devra être reconnu comme expert auprès de la Cour d’appel ou de la Cour de Cassation.

 

L’article R. 162-19 du code de santé publique précise que l’équipe pluridisciplinaire, devra impérativement comprendre deux médecins spécialisés en diagnostic fœtal, c’est-à-dire : un gynécologue obstétricien, un échographiste, un généticien ou un pédiatre du centre.

 

Plusieurs examens peuvent être réalisés pour établir le pronostic :

 

Il pourra s’agir de gestes in utero tels que des ponctions de trophoblastes, des amniocentèses (caryotype, FISH, recherche de germes pathogènes,…), des ponctions de sang foetal, des transfusions in utero… Et selon la pathologie foetale, plusieurs autres praticiens vont pouvoir intervenir : Cardiopédiatres, urologues, neuropédiatres, chirurgiens « digestif »…

 

Il s’agit d’établir un diagnostic précis, d’expliquer la pathologie aux parents et, surtout, de discuter du pronostic.

 

Il appartiendra ensuite aux deux médecins spécialisés désignés (dont l’expert près des tribunaux) de se prononcer sur l’existence de fortes probabilités « que l’enfant à naître soit atteint d’une affection d’une particulière gravité reconnue comme incurable au moment du diagnostic ».

 

Ils établiront une attestation comportant leurs noms leurs spécialités, leurs appartenances au centre pluridisciplinaire et leurs signatures. Un exemplaire sera remis aux parents et l’original sera gardé dans le dossier médical de la patiente.

 

Le centre pluridisciplinaire conserve pour chaque demande un dossier médical comprenant le procès verbal, les avis, les conclusions, l’attestation, la date de l’IMG et les résultats d’examens.

 

À savoir :

 

Qu’il s’agisse d’un IMG pratiqué dans l’intérêt de la mère ou pour malformation fœtale, l’équipe pluridisciplinaire peut rendre un avis défavorable s’il s’agit de maladie ou de malformations qui peuvent être soignée, rectifiées à la naissance telles que la fente labiale, les doigts surnuméraires...

 

De même que les parents bien qu’informés des risques peuvent refuser l’intervention. Ils bénéficieront dans ce cas d’un accompagnement adapté pendant la grossesse mais aussi après la naissance de l’enfant.

 

Après l’IMG, un nouveau rendez-vous est prévu afin de renseigner le couple sur les résultats d’examen effectués, ou ceux devant être fait, pour comprendre ce qui d’un point de vue génétique à été à l’origine de la malformation ou de la maladie incurable du fœtus.

 

De même qu’un accompagnement psychologique pourra être mis en place à tout moment pour aider le couple à surmonter cette épreuve.

 

L’Interruption Médicale de Grossesse: Un droit reconnu et protégé par la CEDH

 

La cour européenne des droits de l’homme dans un arrêt du 20 mars 2007 (Tysiax c/ Pologne) a retenu qu’un État avait l’obligation positive de protéger les droits de ses ressortissantes au respect de leur vie privée en cas de désaccord médical sur leur droit à bénéficier d’un avortement thérapeutique

 

Une ressortissante polonaise atteinte d’une grave myopie à qui les médecins ont refusé de pratiquer un avortement thérapeutique qui risquait d’aggraver son invalidité. Mais après l’accouchement, son état s’est quand même aggravé.

 

Elle a fondé son action sur la violation des articles 8 (droit au respect de sa vie privée, 3 (prohibition de traitement inhumain et dégradants), 13 (droit au recours devant une instance nationale) et 14 (principe de non-discrimination) de la convention européenne des droits de l’homme.

 

La CEDH a condamné la Pologne sur l’article 8 de la CEDH, pour ne pas avoir mis en place de procédure médicale en cas de désaccord entre un médecin et son patient, ou entre médecins pour résoudre le conflit.

 

À noter :

 

La décision est fondée sur l’article 8 de la CEDH, car la législation de l’avortement entre dans le domaine de la vie privée.

 

Le droit à la vie privée est une notion qui comprend notamment, l’identité physique et sociale, le droit à l’autonomie et au développement personnel, le droit d’établir et d’entretenir des relations avec d’autres êtres humains et le monde extérieur...

 

  

Mon droit mes libertés- Novembre 2016