In the past, everything concerning the medical act fell within the discretionary power of health professionals.

The patient had no right to be informed about his state of health and had no say in the care provided. Considered as a simple ethical duty, the disclosure of medical information was subject only to the sole will of the doctor.

The patient's right to be informed about his state of health and its corollary, the doctor's obligation to inform his patient, is the result of a long development in case law enshrined in the Kouchner law known as “on the rights of patients” of 4 March 2002.

The patient, now involved in the decision-making of care concerning him, must have all the information relating to his state of health, because, it is up to him and, except in emergencies, to him alone, that will rest with the final decision. 'accept, or refuse, a treatment or an operation.

The recognition of this principle of autonomy of the patient's will has reinforced the obligation to inform the doctor who will be held responsible for the slightest breach.

The foundations of the information obligation

An ethical duty

The code of medical ethics specifies in article 35 that "  The doctor owes the person he examines, treats or advises, loyal, clear and appropriate information on his condition, the investigations and the care he offers. ».

Any breach of this principle will result in disciplinary proceedings.

A jurisprudential principle

It was in the Mercier judgment of May 20, 1936, that the Court of Cassation recognized for the first time the existence of a care contract binding any patient to his doctor and, on whom now weighs, the obligation to provide "conscientious, dedicated, attentive care in accordance with the data acquired from science"

The Teyssier judgment rendered on January 28, 1942 by the appeals chamber of the court of cassation, will specify the extent of the obligation to inform the doctor, which must be delivered with clarity and humanity: "  the duty of conscience, with regard to respect for the human person order clear information from his patient and the collection of his informed consent for the care envisaged and provided ».

Specify :

The duty of information weighs independently on each healthcare professional, whether it be the doctor, the anesthetist, the surgeon, etc. No person involved in the care process can consider himself released from his duty to information on the pretext that one of his colleagues had informed the patient.

A legal obligation

Both at national and international level, legal sources referring directly or indirectly to the information obligation have multiplied in recent years.

The duty to inform the patient is imposed by:

  • Articles L.1111-2, R. 4127-35 and R. 4127-36 of the public health code.
  • Article 16-3 paragraph 2 of the Civil Code “The consent of the person concerned must be obtained beforehand except in the case where his condition makes necessary a therapeutic intervention to which he is not able to consent. "
  • Article 3 of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union, which imposes, in addition to the "right [of everyone] to their physical and mental integrity", that "in the context of medicine and biology, must in particular to be respected […] the free and informed consent of the person concerned, in accordance with the procedures defined by law ”.
  • The Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union adopted in Nice on September 7, 2000
  • The convention on human rights and biomedicine signed in Oviedo on April 4, 1997

The content of the information obligation

The criteria for the content of the information are specified in article 35 of the code of medical ethics and often taken up by case law: " Information must be clear, fair and appropriate ».

The information is transmitted during an individual interview and must be understood by the patient. The doctor must adapt as much to the personality as to the level of intellectual and psychological understanding of his patient.

Because providing information is not everything, there is also the art and the manner of announcing it. Which requires a minimum of attention and humanity.

Any information delivered brutally and / or incomplete will be deemed to be faulty and a source of moral prejudice.

A patient was to undergo a partial removal of the colon, but following a stroke which occurred during the operation, the doctors operated on the total ablation of the colon. There was no therapeutic alternative and the total ablation responded to a life-threatening emergency. However, the judges sanctioned the conditions of delivery of the information which was done in a brutal way in the middle of medical students, without the patient understanding the meaning, until she consult his medical file. (Administrative Court of Appeal of April 7, 2005)

Information must also come at the right time. The legislator provided that the patient should be informed both before, during and after the medical act.

Information prior to the medical act

The doctor is required to inform the patient about:

  • His state of health: Specify the pathology from which the patient is affected and his possibilities of development
  • The envisaged medical act: This covers all the treatments and examinations that can be carried out with an explanation of the results obtained; the treatments and preventive actions that can be considered with regard to the advantages and disadvantages; their usefulness, the urgency of practicing them ...
  • The consequences: These are frequent or foreseeable risks, from the most trivial to the most serious; the solutions of therapeutic alternatives and the risks incurred in the event of refusal of the proposed acts.

To note :

Civil and administrative case law was more severe since it made the doctor responsible for informing the patient of all “serious risks, even exceptional ones”. (1st civ. October 7, 1998 - CE January 5, 2000). While the Kouchner law only considers “frequent or serious normally foreseeable” risks. Serious risk is one the consequences of which are fatal or disabling.

The particular case of cosmetic surgery

The case law included in article 6322-2 of the public health code considers that a medical act devoid of therapeutic necessity places a heightened obligation on the doctor to provide information. The information covers all the risks and complications incurred, the prices charged and a statutory cooling-off period of 7 days.

Information after the medical procedure

The doctor's obligation to provide information does not end with the operation.

Once performed, the doctor is required to inform the patient about how the medical procedure was carried out. If the operation does not go as planned, the patient has the right to complete information on the causes and consequences that the damaging act may cause.

  • Article 1111-2 of the public health code extends the obligation to post-operative risks, to all the precautions to be taken and to the treatment practiced.
  • Article 1142-4 of the public health code imposes, in the event of damage occurring after the medical act, monitoring of the patient with interviews to be carried out all 15 days.
  • In this case, article 1111-7 of the public health code allows "any person direct access to all information concerning their health, held by health professionals and personnel". In all cases, the patient must have access to his medical file.

Details:

The information relates only to risks known to the physician. Knowledge assessed in the light of data acquired from science.

Beneficiaries of the right to information

Minors

Minors have the right to be informed and to participate in decision-making. It is up to the holders of parental authority to inform it. However, the law of March 4, 2002, allows minors to oppose their parents 'medical confidentiality on their state of health and allows doctors to perform acts without the parents' consent.

According to Article L. 1111-5 of the Public Health Code, amended by Law No. 2016-41 of January 26, 2016, “ By way of derogation from article 371-1 of the Civil Code, the doctor or midwife may dispense with obtaining the consent of the holder (s) of parental authority on the medical decisions to be taken when the preventive action, screening, diagnosis, treatment or intervention is necessary to safeguard the health of a minor, in the event that the latter expressly opposes the consultation of the holder (s) of parental authority in order to keep the secret of his state of health. However, the doctor or midwife must first try to obtain the minor's consent to this consultation. If the minor maintains his opposition, the doctor or midwife can implement the preventive action, screening, diagnosis, treatment or intervention. In this case, the minor is accompanied by an adult of his choice. "

« When a minor, whose family ties are broken, benefits on a personal basis from the reimbursement of benefits in kind from sickness and maternity insurance and from the additional cover set up by law 99 641 of July 27, 1999 establishing universal health coverage, his only consent is required»

Protected adults

Article 1111-2 of the CSP provides that the doctor must adapt to the discernment capacities of the adult under tutorship in order to obtain his consent in the same way as that of the tutor.

Informing relatives and family

The principle is that the information is due to the patient and not to third parties, such as relatives or family. The court of cassation recalled that if the patient had understood the information and consented to the operation (following which he died), the doctor was not bound by the obligation of information towards the widow or the patient's children.

This supposes, on the contrary, that the exception to this rule of confidentiality is admitted when the patient is not in a state to consent to the medical intervention (Cass, civ. 1st December 6, 2007, no. 03-19.365).

Except in the event of express opposition from the patient, article 1110-4 of the public health code provides that in the event of a serious prognosis, medical confidentiality does not apply to relatives, people of trust and the family. of the patient (determined by the patient himself as permitted by article 1111-6 of the Public Health Code) in order to provide him with support.

Precision:

If the attending physician refers the patient to a specialist physician, it is the latter's responsibility to inform the attending physician of the results, conclusions and suggestions for appropriate treatment following the examination carried out. In a judgment, the Court of Cassation held responsible for a radiologist who, by not transmitting the results of a mammogram to his colleague, led to a delay in the diagnosis of the patient's breast cancer. (Cass, civ. 1st November 29, 2005, n ° 04-13.805).

Proof of information

Previously, it was up to the patient to prove that he had not received sufficient information. Which was ultimately impossible to prove! Case law will therefore establish the principle of the burden of proof by a Hédreul judgment (Cass, civ. 1ère of 25 February 1997 n ° 94-19. 685) which places on the doctor the proof that he has fulfilled his obligation. of information.

«  whoever is legally bound by a particular obligation to provide information must provide proof of the fulfillment of the obligation ... The doctor is bound by an obligation to provide information to his patient and he is responsible for prove that he has fulfilled this obligation ».

The so-called Guyomar case law (Cass, civ, October 14, 1997 n ° 95-19.609), will relax the system of proof weighing on the doctor by allowing him to demonstrate that he has fulfilled his obligation to provide information "by all means" . This principle is now codified in article 1111-2 of the public health code.

Evaluated in the light of serious and concordant precise presumptions, case law has thus taken into account:

The long discussions with the patient who had expressed hesitation and anxiety before deciding to have the operation; Correspondence between colleagues providing for additional analyzes which appeared in the medical file; Letters sent by the surgeon to the attending physician specifying that he had informed the patient of the problems resulting from the treatment… On the contrary, the refusal of an act by the patient is not sufficient to demonstrate that he was sufficiently informed of the consequences incurred following the refusal.

Accuracy:

As we have seen, the information must be delivered during individual interviews. In the event of prosecution, there will therefore be a problem of proof. The health professionals, therefore, took care to protect themselves from a writing in order to preconstitute a proof. This could be information forms containing the treatment protocol… which will necessarily be signed by the patient.

However, these documents constitute only one mode of proof among many others. They do not bind the patient who can validly question them.

From a legal point of view, the obligation to inform is not understood as an inventory at the Prévert listing on 30 pages all the undesirable effects and all the risks involved, nor a summary of the Vidal for Dummies. It is an exchange during which the "knowing", the doctor, shares his knowledge with a "layman", the patient, by putting himself at his level, in order to allow him to understand what is wrong with his body and explain to him how it will be possible to cure him.

It should also be noted that some of these documents may include clauses exonerating or limiting liability: They have no value!

Nothing can exempt the doctor from his obligation to provide information. If not… to provide clear, fair and appropriate information during an individual interview. Unless the doctor, debtor of the information obligation, asserts a legal exception.

The limits of the information obligation

Three limits moderate this right to information.

Article 1111-2 of the public health code, amended by the law of January 26, 2016, recognizes only two cases allowing the doctor to limit the information due to the patient: urgency and the impossibility of informing. While article 1111-4 of the public health code grants the patient the right not to be informed.

The patient's refusal to be informed

The right to know necessarily has as a corollary the refusal to know. As a result, the patient may decide not to be informed about his state of health. Unless there is a risk of disease transmission to third parties.

However, the doctor should not be satisfied with a simple refusal. He must inform him of the risks and consequences of his refusal. The patient can also refuse the proposed care. Article 1111-4 of the public health code provides for the obligation for the doctor to respect the wishes of the patient who can refuse or interrupt any treatment, even if this puts his or her life in danger.

However, the doctor is not released from his obligation to provide information, he must then specify to the patient all the risks that this refusal entails and do everything possible to convince the patient to reverse his decision. The doctor will only be exonerated from his responsibility if the patient has been sufficiently informed (cass, civ 1st November 15, 2005).

The doctor's inability to inform his patient

This concerns two distinct hypotheses:

The urgency

Articles L.1111-4 and R. 4127-9 of the public health code require the doctor to act even without the patient's consent if there is a danger to his life.

This covers the case of an unconscious person admitted urgently to a care establishment. If the person is accompanied by their family or a loved one, the doctor has the option and not the obligation to seek their opinion.

The impossibility of informing

The doctor may act without the patient's consent if he is unable to transmit the information to the patient or if he is faced with a therapeutic exception.

The problem of understanding

The term impossibility covers several notions, whether it is an impossibility of material understanding (with a foreign patient) or psychological (decrease in intellectual faculties). Case law regularly admits that the information given to the patient is limited in psychiatry (Cass, civ. 1st May 23, 2000, n ° 98-18.513).

This inability to inform also covers cases of legitimate conscience of the doctor faced with a diagnosis or serious prognosis: this is "the therapeutic exception".

The therapeutic exception

Provided for in the old article 35 of the medical code of ethics, and now codified in article R.2147-35 of the public health code, the doctor can decide in all conscience to delay, to minimize, or even not to inform the patient on his actual state of health.

This provision allows doctors, faced with a risk of imminent death or a serious prognosis, to adapt their speeches to psychologically weakened patients to whom the announcement of an imminent or irremediable death would cause a psychological shock.

This power to limit or withhold information is not easy to implement. Especially since this legitimate choice of the doctor has very blurred outlines. Thus, case law does not admit this right to silence on the sole ground that the operation was inevitable (cass, civ. 1st July 18, 2000 n ° 99-10.886). This choice, even made in conscience, should only be considered from the point of view of the patient's interest.

Apart from these exceptions, the patient has a right to information which should enable him to participate in all decision-making concerning his state of health. In the event of a breach of his obligation to inform, the doctor will have committed a fault liable to engage his civil liability.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Le devoir d'information du médecin

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     Autrefois, tout ce qui concernait l’acte médical relevait du pouvoir discrétionnaire des professionnels de santé.

 

Le patient ne bénéficiait d’aucun droit à être informé sur son état de santé et n’avait pas son mot à dire sur les soins prodigués. Envisagée comme un simple devoir déontologique, la divulgation d’une information médicale n’était soumise qu’à la seule volonté du médecin.

 

Le droit du patient à être informé sur son état de santé et son corollaire, l’obligation du médecin à informer son patient, est le fruit d’une longue élaboration jurisprudentielle consacrée par la loi Kouchner dite "sur les droits des patients" du 4 mars 2002.

 

Le patient, désormais impliqué dans la prise de décision des soins le concernant, doit disposer de toutes les informations relatives à son état de santé, car, c’est à lui et, sauf urgence, à lui seul, que reviendra la décision finale d’accepter, ou de refuser, un traitement ou une opération.

 

La reconnaissance de ce principe d’autonomie de la volonté du malade a renforcé l’obligation d’information du médecin qui au moindre manquement verra sa responsabilité engagée.

 

Les fondements de l’obligation d’information

 

Un devoir déontologique

 

Le code de déontologie médicale précise à l’article 35 que «  Le médecin doit à la personne qu’il examine, qu’il soigne ou qu’il conseille, une information loyale, claire et appropriée sur son état, les investigations et les soins qu’il propose. ».

 

Tout manquement à ce principe entraînera des poursuites disciplinaires.

 

Un principe jurisprudentiel

 

C’est dans l’arrêt Mercier du 20 mai 1936, que la cour de cassation reconnaît pour la première fois l’existence d’un contrat de soins liant tout patient à son médecin et, sur qui pèse désormais, l’obligation de prodiguer des « soins consciencieux, dévoués, attentifs et conformes aux données acquises de la science »

 

L’arrêt Teyssier rendu le 28 janvier 1942 par la chambre des requête de la cour de cassation, va préciser l’étendue de l’obligation d’information du médecin qui doit être délivrée avec clarté et humanité : «  le devoir de conscience, au regard du respect de la personne humaine commande une information claire de son patient et du recueil de son consentement éclairé pour les soins envisagés et prodigués ».

 

A préciser :

 

Le devoir d’information pèse indépendamment sur chaque professionnel de santé et ce, qu’il s’agisse du médecin, de l’anesthésiste, du chirurgien... Aucun intervenant dans le parcours de soins ne peut s’estimer être libéré de son devoir d’information au prétexte qu’un de ses confrères avait informé le malade.

 

Une obligation légale

 

Tant au niveau nationale qu’internationale les sources légales faisant référence de manière directe, ou indirecte, à l’obligation d’information se sont multipliées au cours de ces dernières années.

 

Le devoir d’informer le patient est imposé par :

 

- Les articles L.1111-2, R. 4127-35 et R. 4127-36 du code de santé publique.

 

- L’article 16-3 alinéa 2 du code civil « Le consentement de l'intéressé doit être recueilli préalablement hors le cas où son état rend nécessaire une intervention thérapeutique à laquelle il n'est pas à même de consentir. »

 

- L’article 3 de la Charte des droits fondamentaux de l’Union européenne, qui impose, outre le « droit [de toute personne] à son intégrité physique et mentale », que « dans le cadre de la médecine et de la biologie, doivent notamment être respectés […] le consentement libre et éclairé de la personne concernée, selon les modalités définies par la loi ».

 

- La charte des droits fondamentaux de l’Union européenne adoptée à Nice le 7 septembre 2000

 

- La convention sur les droits de l’homme et la biomédecine signée à Oviedo le 4 avril 1997

 

Le contenu de l’obligation d’information

 

Les critères du contenu de l’information sont précisés à l’article 35 du code déontologie médicale et souvent repris par la jurisprudence : « L’information doit être claire, loyale et appropriée ».

 

L’information est transmise au cours d’un entretien individuel et doit être comprise par le patient. Le médecin doit s’adapter tant à la personnalité, qu’au niveau de compréhension intellectuel et psychologique de son patient.

 

Car dispenser l’information n’est pas tout, il y a aussi l’art et la manière de l’annoncer. Ce qui requiert un minimum d’attention et d’humanité.

 

Toute information délivrée de manière brutale et/ ou incomplète sera jugée fautive et source d’un préjudice moral.

 

Une patiente devait subir une ablation partielle du colon, mais suite à un accident cérébral survenu en cours d’opération les médecins ont opéré à l’ablation totale du colon. Il n’y avait pas d’alternative thérapeutique et l’ablation totale répondait à une urgence vitale. Cependant, les juges ont sanctionné les conditions de délivrance de l’information qui s’est faite de manière brutale au milieu d’étudiants en médecine, sans que la patiente n’en comprenne le sens, jusqu’à ce qu’elle consulte son dossier médical. (Cour administrative d'appel du 7 avril 2005)

 

L’information doit aussi intervenir au bon moment. Le législateur à prévu que le patient devait être informé tant avant, que pendant et après l’acte médical.

 

L'information préalable à l'acte médical

 

Le médecin est tenu d’éclairer le patient sur :

 

- Son état de santé : Préciser la pathologie dont est atteint le patient et de ses possibilités d’évolution

 

- L’acte médical envisagé : Cela recouvre tous les soins et les examens pouvant être pratiqués avec une explication des résultats obtenus ; les traitements et les actions de prévention pouvant être envisagés au regard des avantages et des inconvénients ; leur utilité, l’urgence de les pratiquer...

 

- Les conséquences : Il s’agit des risques fréquents ou prévisibles et ce, du plus anodin au plus grave ; les solutions d’alternatives thérapeutiques et les risques encourus en cas de refus des actes proposés.

 

À noter :

 

La jurisprudence civile et administrative était plus sévère puisqu’elle mettait à la charge du médecin l’obligation d’informer le patient sur tous les « risques graves même exceptionnels ». (1ère civ. 7 octobre 1998 – CE 5 janvier 2000). Alors que la loi Kouchner n’envisage que les risques « fréquents ou graves normalement prévisibles ». Le risque grave est celui dont les conséquences sont mortelles ou invalidantes.

 

Le cas particulier de la chirurgie esthétique

 

La jurisprudence reprise à l’article 6322-2 du code de la santé publique considère qu’un acte médical dénué de nécessité thérapeutique fait peser sur le médecin une obligation d’information renforcée. L’information s’étend à tous les risques et complications encourus, les tarifs pratiqués et un délai de réflexion légal de 7 jours.

 

L'information postérieure à l'acte médical

 

L’obligation d’information du médecin ne cesse pas avec l’opération.

 

Une fois réalisé, le médecin est tenu d’informer le patient sur la manière dont s’est déroulé l’acte médical. Si l’opération ne s’est pas passé comme prévu, le patient à droit à une information complète sur les causes et les conséquences que peuvent entraîner l’acte dommageable.

 

- L’article 1111-2 du code de santé publique étend l’obligation aux risques post opératoires, à toutes les précautions à prendre et au traitement pratiqué.

 

- L’article 1142-4 du code de santé publique impose en cas de dommage survenu postérieurement à l’acte médical un suivi du patient avec des entretiens devant s’effectuer tous les 15 jours.

 

- L’article 1111-7 du code de santé publique permet dans ce cas « à toute personne un accès direct à l’ensemble des informations concernant sa santé, détenues par les professionnels et les personnels de santé ». Dans tous les cas, le patient doit avoir accès à son dossier médical.

 

Précisions : 

 

L’information ne porte que sur les risques connus du médecin. Une connaissance évaluée aux regards des données acquises de la science.

 

Les bénéficiaires du droit à l'information 

 

Les mineurs

 

Les mineurs bénéficient d’un droit à être informé et de participer à la prise de décision. Il appartient aux titulaires de l’autorité parentale de l’informer. Cependant, la loi du 4 mars 2002, permet aux mineurs que soit opposé à leurs parents le secret médical sur leur état de santé et permet aux médecins de réaliser des actes sans l’accord des parents.

 

Selon l’article L. 1111-5 du code de la santé publique, modifié par la loi n°2016-41 du 26 janvier 2016, « Par dérogation à l'article 371-1 du code civil, le médecin ou la sage-femme peut se dispenser d'obtenir le consentement du ou des titulaires de l'autorité parentale sur les décisions médicales à prendre lorsque l'action de prévention, le dépistage, le diagnostic, le traitement ou l'intervention s'impose pour sauvegarder la santé d'une personne mineure, dans le cas où cette dernière s'oppose expressément à la consultation du ou des titulaires de l'autorité parentale afin de garder le secret sur son état de santé. Toutefois, le médecin ou la sage-femme doit dans un premier temps s'efforcer d'obtenir le consentement du mineur à cette consultation. Dans le cas où le mineur maintient son opposition, le médecin ou la sage-femme peut mettre en œuvre l'action de prévention, le dépistage, le diagnostic, le traitement ou l'intervention. Dans ce cas, le mineur se fait accompagner d'une personne majeure de son choix. »

 

« Lorsqu’une personne mineure, dont les liens de famille sont rompus, bénéficie à titre personnel du remboursement des prestations en nature de l’assurance maladie et maternité et de la couverture complémentaire mise en place par la loi 99 641 du 27 juillet 1999 portant création d’une couverture maladie universelle, son seul consentement est requis»

 

Les majeurs protégés

 

L’article 1111-2 du CSP prévoit que le médecin doit s’adapter aux capacités de discernement du majeur sous tutelle afin de recueillir son consentement au même titre que celui du tuteur.

 

L'information des proches, de la famille

 

Le principe est que l’information est due au patient et non aux tiers, tel que des proches ou la famille. La cour de cassation a rappelé que si le patient avait compris l’information et consenti à l’opération (à la suite de laquelle il est décédé), le médecin n’était pas tenu à l’obligation d’information envers la veuve ou les enfants du patient.

 

Ce qui suppose, a contrario que l’exception à cette règle de confidentialité est admise quand le patient n’est pas en état de consentir à l’intervention médicale (Cass, civ. 1ère 6 décembre 2007, n° 03-19.365).

 

Sauf en cas d’opposition exprès du patient, l’article 1110-4 du code de santé publique, prévoit qu’en cas de pronostic grave, le secret médical ne s’applique pas aux proches, aux personnes de confiance et à la famille du patient (déterminées par le patient lui-même comme le permet l’article 1111-6 du Code de santé publique) afin de lui apporter un soutien.

 

Précision:

 

Si le médecin traitant dirige le patient vers un médecin spécialisé, il appartient à ce dernier d’informer le médecin traitant des résultats, des conclusions et suggestions d’un traitement adapté suite à l’examen pratiqué. Dans un arrêt, la cour de cassation a retenu la responsabilité d’un médecin radiologue qui, en ne transmettant pas les résultats d’une mammographie à son confrère, a entraîné un retard de diagnostic du cancer du sein de la patiente. (Cass, civ. 1ère 29 novembre 2005, n°04-13.805).

 

La preuve de l’information

 

Auparavant, c’était au patient de prouver qu’il n’avait pas reçu les informations suffisantes. Ce qui en définitive était impossible à prouver ! La jurisprudence va donc poser le principe de la charge de la preuve par un arrêt Hédreul (Cass, civ. 1ère du 25 février 1997 n°94-19. 685) qui fait peser sur le médecin la preuve qu’il à rempli son obligation d’information.

 

«  celui qui est légalement tenu d’une obligation particulière d’information doit rapporter la preuve de l’exécution de l’obligation… Le médecin est tenu d’une obligation d’information vis-à-vis de son patient et il lui incombe de prouver qu’il a exécuté cette obligation ».

 

La jurisprudence dite Guyomar (Cass, civ, 14 octobre 1997 n° 95-19.609), va assouplir le régime de la preuve pesant sur le médecin en lui permettant de démontrer qu’il a rempli son obligation d’information « par tous moyens ». Ce principe est désormais codifié à l’article 1111-2 du code de santé publique.

 

Évalués à l’aune de présomptions précises graves et concordantes, la jurisprudence a ainsi pris en compte :

 

Les longs entretiens avec la patient qui avait manifesté des hésitations et des angoisses avant de décider de se faire opérée ; Une correspondance entre confrères prévoyant des analyses complémentaires qui figuraient dans le dossier médical ; Des courriers envoyés par le chirurgien au médecin traitant précisant qu’il avait informé le patient des troubles consécutifs au traitement...

 

A contrario, le refus d’un acte par le patient ne suffit pas à démonter qu’il a été suffisamment informé des conséquences encourues suite au refus.

 

Précision :

 

Nous l’avons vu, l’information doit être délivrée au cours d’entretiens individuels. En cas de poursuites, se posera donc un problème de preuve. Les professionnels de santé, ont donc pris soins de se prémunir d’un écrit en vue de se préconstituer une preuve. Cela pourra être des formulaires d’information reprenant le protocole de soins... qui seront nécessairement signé du patient.

 

Cependant, ces documents ne constituent qu’un mode de preuve parmi tant d’autres. Ils ne lient pas le patient qui pourra valablement les remettre en cause.

 

D’un point de vue juridique, l’obligation d’information n’est pas entendu comme un inventaire à la Prévert recensant sur 30 pages tous les effets indésirables et tous les risques encourus, ni un condensé du Vidal pour les nuls. C’est un échange au cours duquel le « sachant », le médecin, partage ses connaissances avec un « profane », le patient, en se mettant à son niveau, afin de lui permettre de comprendre ce qui ne va pas dans son corps et lui expliquer comment il sera possible de le guérir.

 

De même qu’il faut savoir, que certains de ces documents peuvent comporter des clauses exonératoires ou limitatives de responsabilité : Elles n’ont aucune valeur !

 

Rien ne peut exonérer le médecin de son obligation d’information. Si ce n’est... de dispenser une information claire, loyale et adaptée au cours d’un entretien individuel. À moins que le médecin, débiteur de l’obligation d’information, ne fasse valoir une exception légale.

 

Les limites de l’obligation d’information

 

Trois limites viennent tempérer ce droit à l’information.

 

L’article 1111-2 du code de la santé publique, modifié par la loi du 26 janvier 2016, ne reconnaît que deux cas permettant au médecin de limiter l’information due au patient : l’urgence et l’impossibilité d’informer. Tandis que l’article 1111-4 du code de santé publique accorde au patient le droit de ne pas être informé.

 

Le refus du patient d’être informé

 

Le droit de savoir a nécessairement pour corollaire le refus de savoir. De ce fait, le patient peut décider de ne pas être informé sur son état de santé. Sauf en cas de risque de transmission d’une maladie à des tiers.

 

Le médecin ne doit cependant pas se contenter d’un simple refus. Il doit l’informer des risques et des conséquences de son refus.

 

Le patient peut aussi refuser les soins proposés. L’article 1111-4 du code de santé public prévoit l’obligation pour le médecin de respecter la volonté du malade qui peut refuser ou interrompre tout traitement, même si cela met sa vie en danger.

 

Cependant le médecin n’est pas délié de son obligation d’information, il doit alors préciser au patient tous les risques que ce refus entraîne et tout mettre en œuvre pour convaincre le patient de revenir sur sa décision. Le médecin ne sera exonéré de sa responsabilité que si le patient à été suffisamment éclairé (cass, civ 1ère 15 novembre 2005).

 

L’empêchement du médecin à informer son patient

 

Cela concerne deux hypothèses distinctes:

 

              - L’urgence

 

Les articles L.1111-4 et R. 4127-9 du code de santé publique imposent au médecin d’agir même en l’absence du consentement du malade s’il y a un danger pour sa vie.

 

Cela recouvre le cas d’une personne inconsciente admise en urgence dans un établissement de soins. Si la personne est accompagnée de sa famille ou d’un proche, le médecin a la faculté et non l’obligation de recueillir leur avis.

 

               - L’impossibilité d’informer

 

Le médecin pourra agir sans le consentement du malade s’il est mis dans l’impossibilité de transmettre l’information au patient ou s’il est face à une exception thérapeutique.

 

- Le problème de compréhension

 

Le terme d’impossibilité recouvre plusieurs notions, qu’il s’agisse d’une impossibilité de compréhension matérielle (avec un patient étranger) ou psychologique (diminution des facultés intellectuelles). La jurisprudence admet régulièrement que l’information donnée au patient soit limitée en psychiatrie (Cass, civ. 1ère 23 mai 2000, n° 98-18.513).

 

Cette impossibilité d’informer recouvre également les cas de conscience légitime du médecin face à un diagnostic ou pronostic grave : C’est « L’exception thérapeutique ».

 

- L'exception thérapeutique

 

Prévu à l’ancien article 35 du code de déontologie médical, et désormais codifié à l’article R.2147-35 du code de santé publique, le peut médecin peut décider en toute conscience de retarder, de minimiser, voire de ne pas informer le patient sur son état de santé réel.

 

Cette disposition permet aux médecins, face à un risque de mort prochaine ou de pronostic grave, d’adapter leurs discours envers des patients psychologiquement fragilisés à qui l’annonce d’une mort imminente ou irrémédiable causerait un choc psychologique.

 

Ce pouvoir de limiter ou de retenir l’information n’est pas évident à mettre en oeuvre. D’autant que ce choix légitime du médecin a des contours très troubles. Ainsi, la jurisprudence n’admet pas ce droit au silence au seul motif que l’opération était inévitable (cass, civ. 1ère 18 juillet 2000 n°99-10.886). Ce choix même fait en conscience, ne doit être envisagé que du point de vue de l’intérêt du patient.

 

 

Mis à part ces exceptions, le patient bénéficie d’un droit à l’information devant lui permettre de s’associer à toutes les prises de décisions concernant son état de santé. En cas de manquement à son obligation d’information, le médecin, aura commis une faute susceptible d’engager sa responsabilité civile.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Octobre 2016