The major innovation introduced by the Kouchner law of 2002 on patients' rights (with the right to information, etc.) was to allow anyone direct access to all the information concerning their health held by health professionals. .

Article 1111-7 of the Public Health Code provides that all information "which is formalized or has been the subject of written exchanges between health professionals, in particular examination results, consultation reports, intervention reports , exploration or hospitalization, the protocols and therapeutic prescriptions implemented, monitoring sheets, correspondence between health professionals, with the exception of information indicating that they were collected from third parties not involved in the therapeutic care or concerning such a third party ”.

The principle is that each healthcare professional must establish a medical file containing all the information concerning the medical follow-up of his patients. These files include consultation reports, the results of examinations, exploration, hospitalization or intervention, as well as prescriptions, treatments followed, correspondence with other health professionals involved in the treatment. therapeutic burden of the patient ...

Not all documents kept by the doctor are part of the medical file. Simple notes will be considered personal if they are not related to the patient's diagnosis, treatment, etc. As well as all information collected from third parties who are not involved in the therapeutic monitoring of the patient.

Thus, each patient actually has several medical files concerning him which are held by all the practitioners (attending physician, dentist, gynecologist, etc.) or health establishments that he has consulted.

To know :

The health insurance holds for each insured a Shared Medical File (DMP) which groups together all the medical acts carried out via the vital card. It should not be confused with the medical file as understood by the law, but rather with a computerized health record accessible to the doctors who follow the insured concerned. Currently, it can only be opened and closed at the request of the insured and accessible only to health professionals of their choice. The DMP is still under development and is not yet accessible throughout the country.

Persons authorized to access the medical file

The following are authorized to consult the medical file:

The patient himself.

If it is an adult benefiting from a protective regime:

- Under supervision, the tutor may consult him or the attending physician if the patient has appointed him as his representative.

- Under curatorship, adults can perform all the acts of everyday life on their own, including consultation of their medical file.

If it is a minor:

A minor can always consult his file alone, as well as his legal representative or the representative appointed by the minor (the attending physician, etc.).

The minor may object to his parents consulting all or part of his medical file. The nursing staff can dissuade him from doing so, but if he does not succeed, the minor's wishes must be respected and noted on the file.

The Council of State has ruled on the right of a mother to access her daughter's file on the basis of article 1111-7 of the public health code. The young girl, a minor who was being treated against the advice of her mother (her legal representative), had opposed the complete transmission of her medical file. The mother was only able to access information for which her daughter had given her consent.

The terms of the consultation

To consult a medical file, the request must be sent by mail directly to the health professional (the doctor) or to the manager of the establishment where the care was provided. The patient must attach proof of their identity to the request.

The patient may be assisted by another doctor of his choice during the consultation in order to be informed about all the information contained in the file. The file may be consulted on site and will be free of charge unless the patient requests copies which will be chargeable.

To note :

Very often, medical data will be stored with a provider completely outside the service or the doctor. The request must be sent to him, specifying the quality of the requester, proof of his identity. The response must be sent within 8 days for a recent file (less than 5 years old) and within 2 months if it is more than five years old.

Regarding personal data (kept on paper or dematerialized) the host must be approved. However, you should know that since January 28, 2016, there is no longer any need to obtain the consent of patients to store their files with external providers, because their consent is now presumed. As this is information covered by medical secrecy, these hosts cannot sell or transfer this personal data under penalty of criminal penalties.

In the event of sending by post, or on CD Rom, the patient will be asked for the cost of reproduction and sending.

Consulting the medical file of a deceased patient

The file of a deceased adult can be consulted by his beneficiaries, his spouse or his PACS partner.

That of a deceased minor patient may be consulted by their legal representatives.

But, whether minor or major, the will of the deceased will be taken into account. If the latter intended to limit access, his beneficiaries will only be able to access authorized information.

Regarding the intervention of beneficiaries (all legal successors of the deceased), the law only allows them access to the medical file in three specific cases:

  • Know the causes of death
  • Assert their rights (justice, insurance, etc.)
  • Restoring the memory of the deceased

However, they will only be entitled to restricted access to the medical file. Only parts that meet one of the 3 goals pursued will be accessible to them.

To note :

This right of access to the medical file granted to the patient as well as to his legal representative or his beneficiaries can also be exercised through a representative (generally another doctor) if he can prove his identity and that he has an express mandate (CE 26 December 2005 n ° 270234)

Legal limits of access to the medical file

The principle laid down by the Kouchner law of 2002 is that the patient must have access to all of his medical file.

However, any holder of the file may oppose, for justifiable reasons, its consultation or limit access to it.

A care establishment can refuse access. But this refusal must be justified, and a medical certificate must be issued. However, its content will be very limited given the medical confidentiality to which healthcare professionals are subject.

For legitimate reasons assessed in conscience, the code of ethics allows physicians to withhold any harmful information in the event of a diagnosis or serious prognosis for the patient.

This means that the doctor will be able to object to the patient having direct access to his file if he considers that the disclosure of the information could prove to be dangerous for him.

This only concerns the patient. The doctor arguing a case of conscience can either inform third parties directly (attending physician, family, etc.), or recommend that the consultation be made in the presence or through a third person (attending physician, etc.).

In any event and for whatever reason, any refusal may be contested.

Recourse in the event of refusal or delay in the communication of the file

If you are refused access to the medical file, you benefit from two distinct procedures depending on whether the file holder is a public or private establishment, or by a private doctor practicing in an office.

Public establishment

If the medical file is held by a hospital, a clinic (under the public hospital service), or even a retirement home (many of which are medicalized), it will be necessary to refer to the Commission d'Accès aux Documents Administratifs (CADA).

The request must be accompanied by all the supporting documents (identity of the patient, date of hospitalization, letter of request, letter of refusal, etc.).

The private establishment

All private establishments (clinics, etc.) have an internal committee that can rule on these appeals. In the absence of a response or in the event of the commission's refusal, it will be necessary to contact the Ministry of Health, which is the supervisory authority for health establishments under private law.

The request must be sent to the hospitalization and care organization department, attaching all the relevant documents (patient identity, information on the establishment, date of treatment, refusal letter, etc.).

The liberal doctor

In the event of refusal by the doctor practicing in an office or the dentist, you can enter either or cumulatively:

  • The council of the departmental order of doctors or dentists.
  • The Tribunal de Grande Instance of the place of establishment of the doctor or dentist in summary proceedings
  • The National Commission for Informatics and Freedoms (CNIL)
  • Psychiatric establishments

The procedure for accessing the medical file of a patient suffering from mental disorders and hospitalized without his consent is governed by the circular of February 14, 2005.

In the event of care provided due to mental disorders in a psychiatric establishment (whether it is hospitalization at the request of a third party (HDT), ex officio (HO), etc.), the presence of a third person (a doctor) will be imposed on the patient whenever there are "particularly serious risks" in letting the patient consult his file alone.

The presence of the doctor will help him understand the information contained in the file (prescriptions, pathologies, etc.).

If the patient refuses the presence of the doctor to accompany him in the consultation of the file, it is up to the hospital establishment to seize the Departmental Commission of Psychiatric Hospitalizations (CDHP) whose competence is to ensure respect for dignity and freedoms. individual of people hospitalized in psychiatry.

Once rendered, the opinion of the CDHP is final and not subject to appeal, it will be binding on both the establishment and the patient.

The retention period for the medical file

To note :

No legal provision obliges physicians practicing in private practice for a period of time during which they are required to keep their patients' files. This obligation has only been foreseen for health care establishments, public or private.

In principle, public and private establishments are required to keep medical records for a period of 20 years from the last act performed or the patient's last consultation. But other deadlines apply:

  • For a minor under the age of 8, the file is kept until he has reached his 28th year.
  • In the event of death occurring less than ten years after the medical act performed, the healthcare establishment must keep the file for 10 years from the date of death.
  • If a transfusion took place during hospitalization, the medical file must be kept for 30 years
  • Once these deadlines have been passed, it is up to the director of the establishment, after consulting the doctor responsible for medical information, to destroy the medical files.

To note :

In the event of legal action against the healthcare establishment or healthcare professionals (medical fault, etc.), all deadlines are suspended.

The medical file which can be seized by justice can no longer be destroyed until a final judgment is obtained.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Comment consulter son dossier médical

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     L’innovation majeure instaurée par la loi Kouchner de 2002 sur les droits des patients (avec le droit à l’information...) était de permettre à toute personne un accès direct à l’ensemble des informations concernant sa santé détenues par les professionnels de santé.

 

L’article 1111-7 du code de santé publique prévoit que toutes les informations « qui sont formalisées ou ont fait l'objet d'échanges écrits entre professionnels de santé, notamment des résultats d'examen, comptes rendus de consultation, d'intervention, d'exploration ou d'hospitalisation, des protocoles et prescriptions thérapeutiques mis en œuvre, feuilles de surveillance, correspondances entre professionnels de santé, à l'exception des informations mentionnant qu'elles ont été recueillies auprès de tiers n'intervenant pas dans la prise en charge thérapeutique ou concernant un tel tiers ».

 

Le principe est que chaque professionnel de santé doit établir un dossier médical contenant toutes les informations concernant le suivi médical de ses patients. Ces dossiers comprennent les comptes rendus de consultations, les résultats d’examens, d’exploration, d’hospitalisation ou d’intervention, ainsi que les prescriptions, les traitements suivis, les correspondances avec d’autres professionnels de santé intervenant dans la prise en charge thérapeutique du patient...

 

Tous les documents gardés par le médecin ne relèvent pas du dossier médical. Les simples notes seront considérées comme personnelles si elles ne sont pas en lien avec le diagnostic, le traitement... du patient. Ainsi que toutes informations recueillies auprès de tiers qui n’interviennent pas dans le suivi thérapeutique du patient.

 

Ainsi, chaque patient possède en réalité plusieurs dossiers médicaux le concernant qui sont détenus par tous les praticiens (médecin traitant, dentiste, gynécologue...) ou établissements de santé qu’il a consulté.

 

À savoir :

 

L’assurance maladie détient pour chaque assuré un Dossier Médical Partagé (DMP) qui regroupe tous les actes médicaux effectués via la carte vitale. Il ne faut pas le confondre avec le dossier médical tel que l’entend la loi, mais plutôt d’un carnet de santé informatisé accessible aux médecins qui suivent l’assuré concerné. Actuellement, il ne peut être ouvert et fermé qu’à la demande de l’assuré et accessible aux seuls professionnels de santé de son choix. Le DMP est toujours en cours de développement et n’est pas encore accessible sur tout le territoire.

 

Les personnes autorisées à accéder au dossier médical

 

Sont autorisés à consulter le dossier médical :

 

Le patient lui-même.

 

Si c'est un majeur bénéficiant d' un régime de protection :

- Sous tutelle, le tuteur pourra le consulter ou le médecin traitant si le patient l’a désigné comme mandataire.

- Sous curatelle le majeur peut exercer seul tous les actes de la vie courante, dont la consultation de son dossier médical.

 

Si c'est un mineur :

Un mineur peut toujours consulter son dossier seul, de même que son représentant légal ou le mandataire que le mineur a désigné (le médecin traitant...).

 

Le mineur peut s’opposer à ce que ses parents consultent tout, ou une partie, de son dossier médical. Le personnel soignant peut l’en dissuader mais s’il n’y parvient pas, la volonté du mineur devra être respectée et annotée sur le dossier.

 

Le conseil d’État s’est prononcé sur le droit d’une mère à accéder au dossier de sa fille sur le fondement de l’article 1111-7 du code de santé publique. La jeune fille, mineure qui était soignée contre l’avis de sa mère (son représentant légal), s’était opposée à la transmission complète de son dossier médical. La mère n’a pu accéder qu’aux informations pour lesquelles sa fille avait donné son consentement.

 

Les modalités de la consultation

 

Pour consulter un dossier médical, il faut adresser la demande par courrier directement au professionnel de santé (le médecin) ou au responsable de l’établissement où ont été pratiqués les soins. Le patient doit annexer une preuve de son identité à la demande.

 

Le patient pourra être assisté d’un autre médecin de son choix lors de la consultation afin d’être éclairé sur toutes les informations que contient le dossier. La consultation du dossier pourra avoir lieu sur place et sera gratuite sauf si le patient demande des copies qui elles seront payantes.

 

À noter :

 

Très souvent, les données médicales seront stockées chez un prestataire totalement extérieur du service ou du médecin. La demande devra lui être adressée en précisant la qualité du demandeur, la preuve de son identité. La réponse doit être envoyée dans les 8 jours pour un dossier récent (moins de 5 ans) et de 2 mois s’il remonte à plus cinq ans.

 

S’agissant de données personnelles (conservées sur support papier ou dématérialisées) l’hébergeur doit être agréé. Cependant il faut savoir que depuis le 28 janvier 2016, il n’y a plus lieu de recueillir l’accord des patients pour stocker leurs dossiers chez des prestataires extérieurs, car leur consentement est désormais présumé. S’agissant d’informations couvertes par le secret médical, ces hébergeurs ne peuvent ni vendre ni transférer ces données personnelles sous peine de sanctions pénales.

 

En cas d’envoi par courrier postal, ou sur CD rom, il sera demandé au patient le coût de la reproduction et de l’envoi.

 

La consultation du dossier médical d’un patient décédé

 

Le dossier d’un majeur décédé peut être consulté par ses ayants droits, son conjoint ou son partenaire de PACS.

 

Celui d’un patient mineur décédé pourra être consulté par ses représentants légaux

 

Mais, qu’il soit mineur ou majeur, il sera tenu compte de la volonté du défunt. Si ce dernier entendait en limiter l’accès, ses ayants droits ne pourront accéder qu’aux informations autorisées.

 

Concernant l’intervention des ayants-droit (tous les successeurs légaux du défunt), la loi ne leur autorise l’accès au dossier médical que dans trois cas précis :

 

- Connaître les causes du décès

- Faire valoir leurs droits (justice, assurances...)

- Rétablir la mémoire du défunt

 

Cependant, ils n’auront droit qu’à un accès restreint du dossier médical. Seules leur seront accessibles les pièces répondant à l’un des 3 buts poursuivis.

 

À noter :

 

Ce droit d’accès au dossier médical accordé tant au patient qu’à son représentant légal ou ses ayants-droit peut aussi s’exercer par le biais d’un mandataire (en général un autre médecin) s’il justifie de son identité et qu’il est muni d’un mandat exprès (CE 26 décembre 2005 n°270234)

 

Les limites légales d’accès au dossier médical

 

Le principe posé par la loi Kouchner de 2002, est que le patient doit avoir accès à l’ensemble de son dossier médical.

 

Cependant tout détenteur du dossier pourra s’opposer, pour de justes motifs, à sa consultation ou en limiter l’accès.

 

Un établissement de soins peut en refuser l’accès. Mais ce refus doit être motivé, et un certificat médical devra être délivré. Cependant, son contenu sera très limité compte tenu du secret médical auquel sont soumis les professionnels de santé.

 

Pour des raisons légitimes évaluées en conscience, le code de déontologie permet aux médecins de retenir toute information préjudiciable en cas de diagnostic ou de pronostic grave envers le patient.

 

Cela signifie que le médecin pourra s’opposer à ce que le patient ait un accès direct à son dossier s’il estime que la divulgation des informations pourraient s’avérer dangereuses pour lui.

 

Cela ne concerne que le patient. Le médecin faisant valoir un cas de conscience pourra, soit renseigner des tiers directement (médecin traitant, famille ...), soit recommander que la consultation soit faite en présence ou par le biais d’une tierce personne (médecin traitant... ).

 

En tout état de cause et ce, quelqu’en soit la raison, tout refus pourra être contesté.

 

Les recours en cas de refus ou de retard dans la communication du dossier

 

Si l’on vous refuse l’accès au dossier médical vous bénéficiez de deux procédures distinctes selon que le détenteur du dossier est un établissement public, privé, ou par un médecin libéral exerçant en cabinet.

 

- L’établissement public

Si le dossier médical est détenu par un hôpital, une clinique (relevant du service public hospitalier), voire une maison de retraite (dont beaucoup sont médicalisées), il faudra saisir la Commission d’Accès aux Documents Administratifs (CADA).

La demande doit être accompagnée de tous les éléments justificatifs (identité du patient, date d’hospitalisation, lettre de demande, courrier de refus...).

 

- L’Établissement privé

Tous les établissements privés (cliniques...) ont une commission interne pouvant statuer sur ces recours. À défaut de réponse ou en cas de refus de la commission, il faudra s’adresser au ministère de la santé qui est l’administration de tutelle des établissements santé de droit privé.

 

La demande devra être adressée à la direction de l’hospitalisation et de l’organisation des soins en y joignant tous les documents utiles (identité du patient, informations sur l’établissement, date des soins, courrier de refus...).

 

- Le médecin libéral

En cas de refus du médecin exerçant en cabinet ou du dentiste, vous pourrez saisir au choix ou cumulativement :

- Le conseil de l’Ordre départemental des médecins ou des dentistes.

- Le Tribunal de Grande Instance du lieu d’établissement du médecin ou du dentiste en référé

- La Commission Nationale de l’Informatique et des libertés (CNIL)

 

- Les Établissements psychiatriques

La procédure d’accès au dossier médical d’un patient souffrant de troubles psychiques et hospitalisé sans son consentement est encadrée par la circulaire du 14 février 2005.

 

En cas de soins dispensés en raison de troubles mentaux en établissement psychiatrique (qu’il s’agisse d’une hospitalisation sur demande de tiers (HDT), d’office (HO)...), la présence d’une tierce personne (un médecin) sera imposée au patient toutes les fois qu’il existe « des risques d’une particulière gravité » à laisser le patient consulter seul son dossier.

 

La présence du médecin l’aidera à comprendre les informations contenues dans le dossier (prescriptions, pathologies...).

 

Si le patient refuse la présence du médecin pour l’accompagner dans la consultation du dossier, il appartient à l’établissement hospitalier de saisir la Commission Départementale des Hospitalisations Psychiatriques (CDHP) dont la compétence est de veiller au respect de la dignité et des libertés individuelles des personnes hospitalisées en psychiatrie.

 

Une fois rendu, l’avis de la CDHP est définitif et insusceptible de recours, il s’imposera tant à l’établissement qu’au patient.

 

Le délai de conservation du dossier médical

 

À noter :

 

Aucune disposition légale n’oblige les médecins exerçant en cabinet de durée durant laquelle ils sont tenus de conserver les dossiers de leur patients. Cette obligation n’a été prévu que pour les établissements de soins, publics ou privés.

 

En principe les établissements publics et privés sont tenus de garder les dossiers médicaux pour une durée de 20 ans à compter du dernier acte pratiqué ou de la dernière consultation du patient. Mais d’autres délais trouvent à s’appliquer :

 

- Pour un mineur âgé de moins de 8 ans, le dossier est gardé jusqu’à ce qu’il ait atteint sa 28ème année.

 

- En cas de décès survenu moins de dix ans après l’acte médical pratiqué, l’établissement de soins doit conserver le dossier 10 années à compter de la date du décès.

 

- Si une transfusion a eu lieu lors de l’hospitalisation, le dossier médical doit être conservé pendant 30 ans

 

Une fois ces délais dépassés il appartient au directeur de l’établissement après avis du médecin responsable de l’information médicale de procéder à la destruction des dossiers médicaux.

 

À noter :

 

En cas d’action en justice contre l’établissement de santé ou les professionnels de santé (Faute médicale...), tous les délais sont suspendus.

Le dossier médical qui peut être saisi par la justice ne peut plus être détruit jusqu’à l’obtention d’un jugement définitif.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Septembre 2016