Article 414-1 of the Civil Code specifies that “to perform a valid act, one must be of sound mind. It is up to those who act in nullity for this cause to prove the existence of a mental disorder at the time of the act ”. As a result, all patrimonial or extra-patrimonial acts concluded with a protected adult may be canceled a posteriori.

When the person is already under protection, the situation is quite clear and invalidity will be easy to obtain.

The difficulty arises when an act has taken place during the period of uncertainty preceding the initiation of guardianship ou curatorship : the safeguard of justice.

Calling into question an act a posteriori: Nullity

Article 414-2 of the Civil Code specifies that the person concerned, or his heirs, may contest any act carried out during a safeguard of justice.

According to case law, the existence of a mental disorder is left to the judgment of the trial judge (Cass, civ, 1st February 17, 2010, n ° 08-20.950). However, proof of the mental disorder can be reported by any means.

Article 414-2, 1 ° of the Civil Code specifies that the alteration of mental faculties can be deduced from the act. In this case, the act itself carries proof of the mental disorder.

This is the hypothesis in which the act is incoherent, absurd ... The proof of mental insanity is then "intrinsic" to the act that it will suffice to examine to conclude that there is a mental disorder. (make a contract with Madam the moon, bequeath all her goods in the middle of which appears the great pyramid of Cheops…).

The mental alteration can be demonstrated by any means. This will be any evidence that the person was not enjoying his mental faculties at the time of the conclusion of the disputed act, such as a medical certificate.

In one case, the judges canceled life insurance contracts on the grounds "that a doctor's certificate indicates the hospitalization, in June 2003, of Anne-Marie X ..., then aged 92, which presented, before his death, and consequently on the date of modification of the disputed contracts, a deficient brain state, and deduced that the latter was no longer in a position to contract on the date of the signing of the rider "(Cass. Civ., 1st of July 1, 2009, n ° 08-13.402).

Article 414-2 of the Civil Code sets at 5 years the time limit for bringing an action for nullity from the conclusion of the deed.

If the protected person was a minor at the time of the conclusion of the disputed act, the starting point of the limitation period will be 5 years from his majority.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Nullité d'un acte passé par un majeur protégé

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     L’article 414-1 du code civil précise que « pour faire un acte valable, il faut être sain d’esprit. C’est à ceux qui agissent en nullité pour cette cause de prouver l’existence d’un trouble mental au moment de l’acte ». De ce fait, tous les actes patrimoniaux ou extra-patrimoniaux conclus avec un majeur protégé seront susceptibles d’être annulés a posteriori.

 

Quand la personne est déjà sous protection, la situation est assez claire et la nullité sera facile à obtenir.

 

La difficulté survient quand un acte est passé durant la période d’incertitude précédant la mise sous tutelle ou curatelle : La sauvegarde de justice.

 

La remise en cause d’un acte à posteriori : La nullité

 

L’article 414-2 du code civil précise que la personne concernée, ou ses héritiers, peuvent contester tout acte passé au cours d’une sauvegarde de justice.

 

Selon la jurisprudence, l’existence d’un trouble mental est laissé à l’appréciation du juge du fond (Cass, civ, 1ère 17 février 2010, n° 08-20.950). Cependant la preuve du trouble mental peut être rapportée par tous moyens.

 

L’article 414-2, 1° du code civil précise que l’altération des facultés mentales peut être déduit de l’acte. Dans ce cas, l’acte porte en lui-même la preuve du trouble mental.

 

C’est l’hypothèse dans laquelle l’acte est incohérent, absurde… La preuve de l’insanité mentale est alors « intrinsèque » à l’acte qu’il suffira d’examiner pour conclure à l’existence d’un trouble mental (faire un contrat avec Madame la lune, léguer tous ses biens au milieu desquels figure la grande pyramide de Khéops...).

 

L'altération mentale peut-être démontrée par tous moyens. Il s'agira de tout élément attestant que la personne ne jouissait pas de ses facultés mentales au moment de la conclusion de l’acte litigieux tel qu’un certificat médical.

 

Dans une espèce, les juges ont annulé des contrats d’assurance vie au motif « qu'une attestation d'un médecin fait état de l’hospitalisation, courant juin 2003, d’Anne-Marie X..., alors âgée de 92 ans, qui présentait, avant son décès, et par voie de conséquence à la date de modification des contrats litigieux, un état cérébral lacunaire, et en déduit que cette dernière n'était plus en mesure de contracter à la date de la signature de l'avenant » (Cass. civ., 1ère du 1er juillet 2009, n°08-13.402).

 

L’article 414-2 du code civil fixe a 5 ans le délai pour agir en nullité à compter de la conclusion de l’acte.

 

Si la personne protégée était mineure au moment de la conclusion de l’acte litigieux, le point de départ de la prescription sera de 5 ans à compter de sa majorité.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Décembre 2016