The annual audit and control of management accounts adults protected has been exclusively entrusted to the chief clerks of the Magistrates' Courts.

The role of the Chief Registrar of IT

The tutors (article 510 of the civil code) and the curators in charge of a reinforced curatorship (article 472 of the civil code) have the obligation to report on all the acts of management carried out during the year in the interest of the protected adult.

On the anniversary date of the measure, the chief clerk sends them a form with a table on which will be specified all the revenue received (salary, allowances, etc.), the expenses incurred (current expenses for clothing, food, etc. do not have to be itemized), which will show the old and the new current account balances. They must also specify in detail the composition of the patrimony of the protected adult (real estate, securities, etc.).

The chief clerk has the power to have the missing information sent to him by banking establishments (account statements, etc.). Banking secrecy is unenforceable against them (Articles 510 and 511 of the Civil Code).

If it refuses to approve the accounts, it draws up a report of the difficulties observed which it sends to the guardianship judge. The judge will rule on the conformity of the accounts and will be able either to discharge the curator, or the guardian, of their mission or even, in the event of serious failure having caused damage to the interests of the protected adult, raise their responsibility for fault (in particular in the event of fraud ).

Assistance to the Chief Registrar of TI

Article 512 of the Civil Code provides that in the event of a small amount of the patrimony of the protected adult, the guardianship judge may exempt the guardian and the curator from the obligation to draw up annual management accounts.

If, on the contrary, the assets of the protected adult are important, article 513 of the Civil Code allows the supervising judge to appoint an expert technician (accountant, financial advisor, etc.) who will be in charge of the administration of the patrimonial assets of the adult. .

Otherwise, Decree No. 2011-1470 of 8 November 2011, codified in Article 1254-1 of the Code of Civil Procedure allows chief clerks who deem it useful, to be assisted by a bailiff to perform this verification mission. The costs are borne by the protected adult who has the means.

In the event of disagreement, the protected person and the guardian, or the curator, can refer the matter to the guardianship judges who will rule by non-appealable order.

Note: The relatives of the protected adult, spouse, parents, children may be entrusted with a role of control of management accounts by the judge in application of article 510 paragraph 4 of the civil code.

The tutor or curator must then communicate his management accounts to the designated parent and to the chief clerk.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A comment

  1. Hello I am I was my mother's guardian appointed for 10 years after 18 months bad family agreement and therefore the judge appointed an association we can not see the management accounts even after writing to the judge and I m can you see that article 510 of the criminal code provides that the protected person should each year receive the management accounts the summary or we have never received can you answer me cordially.

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Le contrôle des comptes de gestion d'un majeur protégé

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     La vérification et le contrôle annuel des comptes de gestion des majeurs protégés à été exclusivement confié aux greffiers en chef des Tribunaux d’Instance.

 

Le rôle du greffier en chef du TI

 

Les tuteurs (article 510 du code civil) et les curateurs chargé d’une curatelle renforcée (article 472 du code civil) ont l’obligation de rendre compte de tous les actes de gestion passés au cours de l’année dans l’intérêt du majeur protégé.

 

À la date anniversaire de la mesure, le greffier en chef leur adresse un formulaire avec un tableau sur lequel seront précisés l’ensemble des recettes perçues (salaire, allocations...), des dépenses réalisées (les dépenses courantes d’habillement, de nourriture... n’ont pas à être détaillées), ce qui fera apparaître l’ancien et le nouveau solde des comptes courants. Ils devront également préciser en détail la composition du patrimoine du majeur protégé (biens immobiliers, titres...).

 

Le greffier en chef a le pouvoir de se faire transmettre les informations manquantes par les établissements bancaires (relevés de comptes...). Le secret bancaire leur est inopposable (article 510 et 511 du code civil).

 

S’il refuse d’approuver les comptes, il dresse un rapport des difficultés constatées qu’il transmet au juge des tutelles. Le juge statuera sur la conformité des comptes et pourra soit décharger le curateur, ou le tuteur, de leur mission voire, en cas de manquement grave ayant causé un préjudice aux intérêts du majeur protégé, soulever leur responsabilité pour faute (notamment en cas de fraude).

 

L’assistance apportée au greffier en chef du TI

 

L’article 512 du code civil prévoit qu’en cas de modicité du patrimoine du majeur protégé, le juge des tutelles peut dispenser le tuteur et le curateur de l’obligation d’établir les comptes de gestion annuelle.

 

Si, au contraire, les biens du majeur protégé sont importants, l’article 513 du code civil, permet au juge des tutelles de désigner un technicien expert (comptable, conseiller financier...) qui aura en charge l’administration des biens patrimoniaux du majeur.

 

À défaut, le décret n°2011-1470 du 8 novembre 2011, codifié à l’article 1254-1 du code de procédure civile permet aux greffiers en chef qui l’estiment utile, de se faire assister d’un huissier de justice pour exercer cette mission de vérification. Les frais sont supportés par le majeur protégé qui en a les moyens.

 

En cas de désaccord, la personne protégée et le tuteur, ou le curateur, peuvent saisir le juges des tutelles qui se prononcera par ordonnance insusceptible de recours.

 

À noter :

 

Les proches du majeur protégé, conjoint, parents, enfants peuvent se voir confier un rôle de contrôle des compte de gestion par le juge en application de l’article 510 alinéa 4 du code civil.

 

Le tuteur ou le curateur devra alors communiquer ses comptes de gestion au parent désigné et au greffier en chef.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Décembre 2016