Marriage imposes obligations on both spouses. Their relationships are governed by Articles 212 to 215 of the Civil Code.

If the spouses were too moved during the wedding ceremony, it should be remembered that these articles were brought to their attention by the registrar.

These duties do not cease during the divorce procedures as regularly reminded by the judges of cassation (Cass. civ., 1st of April 14, 2010, n ° 09-14.006; Cass. civ., 1st of January 13, 2016, n ° 15-13.602 and Cass. civ., 1st of 9 November 2016, n ° 15-27.968 ...

The non-conciliation hearing and the non-conciliation order are not enough to release the spouses from their obligations.

A violation of the duties of marriage (adultery, etc.) committed after the judicial separation of the spouses ordered by the Family Affairs Judge will constitute a fault which may be added to the list of grievances until the final pronouncement of the divorce.

What are these duties?

The duty of cohabitation

Cohabitation implies common life and carnal relationships " corpula carnalis', it is conjugal duty. Sexual abstinence and the absence of an intimate relationship are, according to case law, a violation of the duties of marriage.

But cohabitation does not mean living under the same roof, since article 108-1 of the civil code provides that the spouses can by mutual agreement live in two separate domiciles, but they remain required to share a community of life and of life. 'interests

Before the law of June 11, 1975, the choice of family home belonged to the husband. Now this choice must be made jointly.

Housing protection

Family housing benefits from special protection. A spouse cannot have the main accommodation alone (article 1424 of the civil code for the community regime), nor sell it, even if it is his or her own. However, this protection does not extend to the second home.

Without the consent of his spouse, a spouse cannot make any act of disposal on the family home (sale, termination of the lease, donation, etc.). Unless he was authorized by the judge to perform the act alone.

In the event of an agreement on the sale of immovable property belonging to one of the spouses, the spouse will be asked to give his agreement but, he will not be a co-contractor and therefore, he will not participate in the conclusion of the contract. deed of sale.

Failing this, the spouse whose opinion has not been requested may, within one year of becoming aware of the act or in the year following the pronouncement of the divorce, request its annulment in court.

If the accommodation is a rental, article 1751 of the civil code lays down the principle of co-ownership of the lease in favor of both spouses.

Note: If the spouses occupy separate homes, the protected home will be where the spouses lived together before the separation, where the children live… This is where the community of life is located.

Protection of furniture that adorns the home

Article 534 of the Civil Code grants protection to furniture in the same way as housing.

Both own goods and common goods will be concerned. A spouse will not be able to sell a piece of furniture without the consent of his spouse

The rule is laid down by article 215 paragraph 3: "The spouses cannot one without the other have the rights by which the accommodation of the family is ensured, nor the furniture with which it is furnished".

The duty of loyalty

With the digital age and the constant evolution of the means of communication, the obligation of loyalty today takes several forms.

Adultery must be considered as a moral obligation, therefore it does not matter whether there was a romantic relationship, purely platonic or a carnal relationship for it to be constituted.

This is why case law admits that a relationship maintained at a distance, on the internet (emails, social networks, etc.) is sufficient to characterize infidelity.

The sanction of adultery will be the pronouncement of divorce at the exclusive fault of the offending spouse. Since the divorce reform of May 26, 2004, there is no longer a hierarchy between faults. Adultery at the top of the pyramid could cost a lot of money in damages and alimony. It is now an ordinary fault.

The duty of help

This concept covers pecuniary obligations between spouses. They are manifested by the contribution to the costs of the marriage which, once the couple has separated, will be maintained in the form of alimony or a compensatory allowance.

The principle is that the spouses participate in proportion to their respective faculties. They can plan their contributory shares in advance in a marriage contract.

It is about pooling their resources. This contribution can take several forms, it is not only a question of paying a sum every month into a common account, but also of participating in the running of the home, picking up the children from school, taking them to extra-curricular activities. ...

So, yes, looking after the household and the children is a contribution to the expenses of the marriage. If a woman gives up her professional activity to devote herself full time to her household, this may give rise to remuneration.

Food, clothing, vehicles, holidays, etc. are also included in the wedding expenses.

If a spouse avoids his obligation to contribute to the expenses of the marriage, he may be forced to do so in court.

This competence is devolved to the Family Affairs Judge and framed in Articles 1069-1 and 3 of the Code of Civil Procedure.

The judge will fix the contributory part of the defaulting spouse and his spouse will be able, as a creditor, to enforce the recovery of the sum (seizure on remuneration, direct payment, etc.) in the same way as alimony.

The duty of assistance

Each spouse must provide moral support to their spouse, a duty of humanity and of listening, such as taking care of them in illness, comforting them ...

A spouse who is too often absent from home, who excessively multiplies personal activities (sport, political or union activities, etc.) and abandons his spouse is at fault.

Children's education

Article 213 of the Civil Code specifies that the spouses together ensure the material and moral management of the family. It is the obligation to ensure the education of children but also to ensure food, care ...

All of these duties constitute parental authority.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Les devoirs du mariage

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

  Le mariage fait peser des obligations à la charge des deux époux. Leurs rapports sont régis par les articles 212 à 215 du code civil.

 

Si les époux étaient trop émus au cours de la cérémonie de mariage, il faut rappeler que ces articles ont été portés à leur connaissance par l’officier d’état civil.

 

Ces devoirs ne cessent pas pendant la procédure de divorce ainsi que le rappelle régulièrement les juges de cassation (Cass. civ., 1ère du 14 avril 2010, n°09-14.006; Cass. civ., 1ère du 13 janvier 2016, n° 15-13.602 et Cass. civ., 1ère du 9 novembre 2016, n°15-27.968...

 

L’audience de non conciliation, et l’ordonnance de non conciliation ne suffisent pas à libérer les époux de leurs obligations.

 

Une violation des devoirs du mariage (adultère...) commis après la séparation judiciaire des époux ordonnée par le Juge aux Affaires Familiales constituera une faute qui pourra être ajoutée à la liste des doléances et ce jusqu’au prononcé définitif du divorce.

 

Quels sont ces devoirs ?

 

Le devoir de cohabitation

 

La cohabitation sous entend vie commune et rapports charnel « corpula carnalis », c’est le devoir conjugal. L’abstinence sexuelle et l’absence de relation intime sont, selon la jurisprudence, une violation des devoirs du mariage.

 

Mais la cohabitation ne signifie pas vivre sous le même toit, puisque l’article 108-1 du code civil prévoit que les époux peuvent d’un commun accord vivre dans deux domiciles distincts, mais ils restent tenus de partager une communauté de vie et d’intérêts.

 

Avant la loi du 11 juin 1975, le choix du domicile familial appartenait au mari. Désormais ce choix doit être fait en commun.

 

La protection du logement

 

Le logement familial bénéficie d’une protection particulière. Un époux ne peut pas disposer seul du logement principal (article 1424 du code civil pour le régime de la communauté), ni le vendre, même s’il lui appartient en propre. Cependant cette protection ne s’étend pas à la résidence secondaire.

 

Sans le consentement de son conjoint, un époux ne peut faire aucun acte de disposition sur le logement familial (vente, résiliation du bail, donation...). Sauf s'il a été autorisé par le juge à passer l'acte seul.

 

En cas d’accord sur la vente d’un bien immeuble appartenant en propre à l’un des époux, le conjoint sera sollicité pour donner son accord mais, il ne sera pas cocontractant et donc, il ne participera pas à la conclusion de l’acte de vente.

 

À défaut, le conjoint dont il n’a pas été demandé l’avis pourra dans l’année suivant la connaissance de l’acte ou dans l’année suivant le prononcé du divorce, en demander l’annulation en justice.

 

Si le logement est une location, l’article 1751 du code civil pose le principe de la co-titularité du bail en faveur des deux époux.

 

À noter :

 

Si les époux occupent des domiciles distincts, le domicile protégé sera là où les époux vivaient ensemble avant la séparation, où celle où vivent les enfants... C’est là que se situe la communauté de vie.

 

La protection des meubles qui garnissent le logement

 

L’article 534 du code civil accorde une protection aux meubles au même titre que le logement.

 

Seront concernés tant les biens propres et les biens communs. Un époux ne pourra pas vendre un meuble sans l’accord de son conjoint

 

La règle est posée par l’article 215 alinéa 3 : « Les époux ne peuvent l’un sans l’autre disposer des droits par lesquels est assuré le logement de la famille, ni les meubles meublants dont il est garni ».

 

Le devoir de fidélité

 

Avec l’ère du numérique et l’évolution constante des moyens de communication, l’obligation de fidélité revêt aujourd’hui plusieurs formes.

 

L’adultère doit être envisagé comme une obligation morale, de ce fait peu importe qu’il y ait eu une relation amoureuse, purement platonique ou un rapport charnel pour qu’il soit constitué.

 

C’est la raison pour laquelle, la jurisprudence admet qu’une relation entretenue à distance, sur internet ( mails, réseaux sociaux...) suffit à caractériser une infidélité.

 

La sanction de l’adultère sera le prononcé du divorce aux torts exclusifs du conjoint fautif. Depuis la réforme du divorce du 26 mai 2004, il n’y a plus de hiérarchie entre les fautes. L’adultère situé au sommet de la pyramide pouvait coûter très cher en dommages et intérêts et en pension alimentaire. C’est à présent une faute ordinaire.

 

Le devoir de secours

 

Cette notion recouvre les obligations pécuniaires entre époux. Elles se manifestent par la contribution aux charges du mariage qui, une fois le couple séparé, sera maintenue sous la forme d’une pension alimentaire ou d’une prestation compensatoire.

 

Le principe est que les époux participent à proportion de leurs facultés respectives. Ils peuvent prévoir leurs parts contributives par avance dans un contrat de mariage.

 

Il s’agit de mettre leur ressources en commun. Cette contribution peut prendre plusieurs formes, il ne s’agit pas seulement de verser une somme tous les mois sur un compte commun, mais aussi de participer à la tenue du foyer, chercher les enfants à l’école, les emmener aux activités extra scolaires...

 

Donc, oui, s’occuper du ménage et des enfants est une contribution aux charges du mariage. Si une femme abandonne son activité professionnelle pour se consacrer à plein temps à son foyer, cela peut donner lieu à une rémunération.

 

Sont également compris dans les charges du mariage la nourriture, les vêtements, les véhicules, les vacances...

 

Si un époux se soustrait à son obligation de contribuer aux charges du mariage il pourra y être contraint en justice.

 

Cette compétence est dévolue au Juge aux Affaires Familiales et encadrées aux articles 1069-1 et 3 du code de procédure civile.

 

Le juge fixera la part contributive de l’époux défaillant et son conjoint pourra en tant que créancier procéder au recouvrement forcé de la somme (saisie sur rémunération, paiement direct...) au même titre d’une pension alimentaire.

 

Le devoir d’assistance

 

Chaque époux doit apporter un soutien moral à son conjoint, un devoir d’humanité et d’écoute, tel que s’occuper de lui dans la maladie, le réconforter...

 

Un époux qui s’absente trop souvent du domicile, qui multiplie à outrance les activités personnelles (sport, activités politiques ou syndicales...) et délaisse son conjoint commet une faute envers lui.

 

L'éducation des enfants

 

L’article 213 du code civil précise que les époux assurent ensemble la direction matérielle et morale de la famille. C’est l’obligation d’assurer l’éducation des enfants mais aussi d’assurer la nourriture, les soins...

 

L’ensemble de ces devoirs constituent l’autorité parentale.

 

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Janvier 2017