Yes, an order to pay is very vicious! Why ? Because it is a request, and therefore, a court decision issued by a judge to your creditor during a hearing to which you will not even be invited.

Without my knowledge ? you will say to me, and the principle of the contradictory? Well legally, the requests are like a horror film, its only interest lies in the effect of surprise, even fear. And technically, the debtor is in a good position to know that he has missed his deadlines. At this stage, you have to act quickly because if the debt gets worse, the debtor will no longer be able to pay anything and very often, the IP is enough to collect the amounts due, therefore… Simplicity, efficiency and speed.

Yes, but what if the claim is contested? This happens much more often than you think: That the loan has been taken out in your name by a third party (often by an ex-spouse), that the debt has already been paid (by the surety), or prescribed… Or, that you simply cannot afford to pay…

In short, how to reverse an order for an injunction for payment which, if not contested, will make the debt definitive?

Well, any debtor will be able to pass from the vicious circle to the virtuous circle, that is to say, by asserting his point of view in adversarial hearing, if he exercises the appropriate legal remedies within the allotted time.

The order for payment procedure

The nature of the receivables

In accordance with the provisions of Article 1405 of the Code of Enforcement Procedures, are concerned debts of a determined amount resulting from:

  • a contract (invoices, bank loan or overdraft, consumer credit, rental lease, etc.)
  • a statutory obligation (contribution due to a pension fund, etc.)
  • Promissory note (art. 1405, 2 ° of the code of civil procedure)
  • Acceptance of a debt assignment (art. 313-23 of the Monetary and Financial Code)

- The damages that an accused person has undertaken to pay to the victim within the framework of a penal mediation or a penal composition. Law No. 2004-204 of March 9, 2004 codified in Articles 41-1 and 41-2 of the Code of Criminal Procedure provides that it is sufficient to submit to the magistrate the order validating the measure to be issued. an IP.

To know :

The bill of exchange, although listed in article 1405 of the code of civil procedure, by its nature escapes the jurisdiction of the magistrate. In the case of a commercial act (art. L. 110-1 of the commercial code) only the President of the commercial court will be competent.

Claims not covered by article 1405 of the code of civil procedure cannot be the subject of an order for payment. It's about :

  • Alimony claims: In this case there is already a title, it is the judgment fixing the alimony (JAF) that will suffice to execute to recover the amounts due.
  • Checks without funds: The specific procedure provided for in Articles L. 131-47 et seq. Of the Monetary and Financial Code must be followed.

The competent judge

Several judges are competent to issue an order for payment, it all depends on the amount and the nature of the debt.

  • The magistrate
  • For all civil claims, even those over 10 euros! (art. 000 of the code of civil procedure)
  • The President of the Commercial Court

For all commercial receivables regardless of the amount (L.110-1 of the Commercial Code)

The territorially competent judge is that of the place where the or one of the debtors being sued resides; these are rules of public order and the judge must automatically disclose his lack of jurisdiction (article 1406 of the Code of Civil Procedure).

The only exception concerns requests made by a syndicate of co-owners against one or more co-owners which must be brought before the jurisdiction of the location of the building.

To note:

Since October 1, 2016, the judicial officer should be added to the list.

The new small claims recovery procedure (- 4 euros) put in place to compensate for the abolition of local courts as of January 000, 1 and codified in article L.2017-125 of the code of enforcement procedures , allows the judicial officer to issue an enforceable title. In case of refusal of the amicable procedure by the debtor, the magistrate will issue an Order to Pay to the creditor.

The motion for an order for payment

The request can be lodged by the creditor, the lawyer, the judicial officer or any representative (who must be in possession of a power of attorney) at the registry of the competent court.

It must include the mandatory information provided for in Article 1407 of the Code of Civil Procedure (Decree 29 December 2009), namely all the useful information concerning the applicant (the creditor), the defendant (the debtor) without forgetting to produce to the support of the request all details on the nature and exact amount of the debt (in principal and interest); as well as all the related statements and any supporting documents.

It's a request! So the debtor is not informed of the holding of the hearing.

The request for an order for payment does not suspend the limitation period

The judge can either:

  • Reject the request

If he considers the request unfounded (doubt about the claim, prescription, uncertain amount…), the judge can reject the request without having to justify his decision (article 1409 paragraph 2 code of civil procedure). The decision is not subject to appeal. To recover his debt, the creditor will have to bring an action on the merits.

  • Partially accept the request

This case, provided for in Article 1409 of the Code of Civil Procedure, specifies that the creditor having seen part of his claims rejected by the judge will have to make a choice:

  • Either the decision suits him and he has it served.
  • Either it does not suit him and he abstains from it. He will have to initiate proceedings on the merits to hope to succeed on all his claims.

The two options cannot be combined if the creditor has the order for payment served, he will no longer be able to go to court and take action on the merits.

  • Grant the request

You should know that even in the absence of the debtor, the judge can verify the amount of the sum, reduce the amount of the penalty clause (art. L.311-30 of the consumer code), as well as interest (art. L.311-33 of the Consumer Code), grant payment periods in favor of the debtor (art. 1422 of the Code of Civil Procedure) and verify the cost of bailiff's acts.

But the order will only be effective if it is duly served on the debtor.

 Opposition to the Order for Payment (OIP)

A certified copy of the request and the order must be served on the debtor (and if there are several debtors, on each of them) at the initiative of the creditor. On pain of nullity, it must be accompanied by a summons to pay, contain the mandatory information, indicate the amount fixed in the order and specify the means of appeal.

In the absence of service within 6 months of its issuance, the Payment Order is null and void.

From its service, the means of appeal of an Order for payment is the Opposition.

If the debtor does not object

If the opposition is not made within one month of service, the debtor will no longer have any recourse, the order for payment becomes final.

Once final, the creditor has 1 month to ask the registry by declaration or simple letter, that the OIP be endorsed with the enforceable form. Otherwise, the order would be null and void (1423 of the Code of Civil Procedure).

As soon as the enforceable formula is affixed, the order produces the same effects as a contradictory judgment rendered in the last resort.. What closes the way of the appeal but not that of the court of cassation. However, its control will be very limited because it will only rule on the modalities of affixing the executory formula and not on the substance.

The principle is that once the opposition deadlines have passed, no further recourse is possible to contest the amount or the existence of the debt. The debtor may be sued by his creditor for 10 years, period corresponding to the limitation period for the execution of a court decision (before 2008, it was 30 years!).

At this stage, if the debtor is financially unable to meet his debts, the only solution is to file an over-indebtedness file.

This is why you should never be ostrich when you receive a registered letter. In law, those absent are always wrong! It is worth remembering in this regard thata registered letter that is refused (returned, unsigned, not collected, etc.) is not only deemed to have been notified on the date of the refusal, or of the first presentation, but also to have been read. And this, whether you opened it or not!

To be heard and assert his rights, the debtor who wishes to contest the claim must act very quickly. He has only 1 month to form an opposition.

If the debtor objects

The opposition must be filed within one month of service. In principle the OIP must be served on anyone (given by the bailiff personally to the debtor). If this is not the case, the deadline for filing an opposition is postponed until the first act of seizure.

To know :

As long as the service has not been made to anyone (whether it has been done at the office or at home) the debtor may oppose the OIP in the month following the first act of attachment. (art. 1416 of the code of civil procedure).

Generally, once provided with the OIP, the bailiff will attempt to recover the sums and make a seizure (a seizure and sale most of the time). The procedure begins with an order to pay followed within 15 days of a sale seizure.

As the PV of seizure-sale is equivalent to an act issued to no one, any debtor may oppose the OIP in the month following the seizure. Even if the OIP is 6 months old!

Clearly, if you discover the existence of the Order for an Injunction to Pay issued against you when the bailiff knocks on your door to make a seizure, because let us remember, he is required to tell you on what title. are the basis of the implementing acts. You will then have 1 month to oppose the Payment Order from this first act of seizure.

The opposition does not have to be motivated. The debtor must do so by registered letter and send it to the clerk of the court which rendered the decision (district or commercial court). In principle, nothing prevents it being formed by simple letter but in terms of proof and speed, given the short deadlines, it is preferable to favor sending by registered mail.

Once formed, the opposition renders the order for payment null and void.

It is as if the Order for Payment of Payment no longer exists. All the parties will then be summoned to a new adversarial hearing which will rule on the merits. The decision rendered will be a judgment on the merits which will replace the order.

The hearing on opposition to an order for payment

This is a return to a common law procedure. The parties are summoned by registered letter from the registry.

However, even if it is the debtor, (in the position of defendant in the order for payment proceedings), who seizes the court, he will still be considered as the defendant in this new instance. This has an impact, because the burden of proof will be on the applicant who will remain the creditor.

Other implications:

  • If the request is greater than 10 euros, the IT will no longer be competent, only the TGI can rule (attribution competence under common law).
  • The bailiff can no longer represent the creditor at the hearing.
  • The procedure will remain oral (even before the TGI). No filing will be imposed and the parties can defend themselves.
  • If one of the parties appears alone at the hearing, the judgment rendered will be contradictory. If none of the parties appear, the judge will automatically order the termination of the proceedings.

The means of appeal of the judgment rendered on opposition

In accordance with the rules of common law:

  • If it is the District Court which statutes (-10 000 euros), the judgment will be rendered as a last resort, so the only possible recourse will be the cassation appeal which will rule only on the application of the rules of law.
  • If it is the Tribunal de Grande Instance (+ 10 000 euros) or the Commercial Court which statutes, the judgment will be rendered in first instance with the possibility of appealing the decision.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A comment

  1. Hi
    I had a condemnation to pay in 2005 by the tgi and also other current life debts by the IT, which I asked for the intervention because different bailiffs amounts not settled even if I paid fees etc.
    To date, one of these bailiffs has returned to revive me with an iterative command for the purpose of entering the sale. With the Covid and having had an accident, I only start working again now. What should I do ?

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

Vices et vertus de l'injonction de payer (l'IP)

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

     Eh oui, c’est très vicieux une injonction de payer ! Pourquoi ? Parce que c’est une requête,et donc, une décision de justice délivrée par un juge à votre créancier au cours d’une audience à laquelle vous ne serez même pas convié.

 

À mon insu ? me direz-vous, et le principe du contradictoire ? Eh bien juridiquement, les requêtes c'est comme un film d'horreur, son seul intérêt réside dans l'effet de surprise, voire de peur. Et techniquement, le débiteur est bien placé pour savoir qu’il n’a pas respecté ses échéances. A ce stade, il  faut agir vite car si la dette s’aggrave, le débiteur ne pourra plus rien payer et très souvent, l’IP suffit à recouvrer les sommes dues, donc... Simplicité, efficacité et rapidité.

 

Oui, mais si la créance est contestée ? Cela arrive bien plus souvent qu’on ne le croit : Que le crédit ait été souscrit à votre nom par un tiers (souvent par un ex-époux (-se)), que la créance soit déjà payée (par la caution), ou prescrite … Ou, que vous n’ayez tout simplement pas les moyens de payer...

 

Bref, comment revenir sur une ordonnance d’injonction de payer qui, si elle n’est pas contestée, rendra la créance définitive ?

 

Eh bien, tout débiteur sera en mesure de passer du cercle vicieux au cercle vertueux, c'est à dire, en faisant valoir son point de vue en audience contradictoire, s’il exerce les voies de droit appropriées dans les délais impartis. 

 

 1 - La procédure d’Injonction de Payer

 

- La nature des créances

 

Sont concernées, selon les dispositions de l’article 1405 du code des procédures d'exécution, les créances d’un montant déterminé qui résultent :

 

- d’un contrat (factures, prêt ou découvert bancaire, crédit à la consommation, bail locatif...)

- d’une obligation de caractère statutaire (cotisation due à une caisse de retraite... )

- Billet à ordre (art. 1405, 2° du code de procédure civile)

- L’acceptation d’une cession de créance (art. 313-23 du code monétaire et financier)

- Les dommages et intérêts qu’une personne poursuivie s’est engagée à payer à la victime dans le cadre d’une médiation pénale ou d’une composition pénale. La loi n° 2004-204 du 9 mars 2004 codifiée aux articles 41-1 et 41-2 du code de procédure pénale prévoit qu’il suffit de soumettre au juge d’instance l’ordonnance de validation de la mesure pour se faire délivrer une IP.

 

A savoir :

 

La lettre de change bien qu’énumérée à l’article 1405 du code de procédure civile échappe de par sa nature à la compétence du juge d’instance. S’agissant d’un acte de commerce ( art. L. 110-1 du code de commerce) seul le Président du tribunal de commerce sera compétent.

 

Les créances non visées à l’article 1405 du code de procédure civile ne pourront pas faire l’objet d’une Injonction de payer. Il s’agit :

- Des créances alimentaires : Dans ce cas il existe déjà un titre, c’est le jugement fixant la pension alimentaire (JAF) qu’il suffira d’exécuter pour recouvrer les sommes dues.

- Des chèques sans provision : Il faut exercer la procédure spécifique prévue aux articles L. 131-47 et suivants du code monétaire et financier.

 

- Le juge compétent

 

Plusieurs juges sont compétents pour délivrer une Injonction de payer, tout dépend du montant et de la nature de la créance.

 

- le juge d’instance

Pour toutes les créances civiles, même celles supérieures à 10 000 euros ! ( art. 1406 du code de procédure civile).

 

- le Président du tribunal de commerce.

Pour toutes les créances de nature commerciales quelque soit le montant (L.110-1 du code de commerce)

  

Le juge territorialement compétent est celui du lieu où demeure le ou l’un des débiteurs poursuivis ; il s’agit de règles d’ordre public et le juge doit relever d’office son incompétence (article 1406 du Code de Procédure Civile).

 

La seule exception concerne les demandes formées par un syndicat de copropriétaires à l’encontre d’un ou plusieurs copropriétaires qui doit être portée devant la juridiction du lieu de la situation de l’immeuble.

 

À  noter:

 

Depuis le 1er octobre 2016, il convient d'ajouter l'huissier de justice à la liste.

 

La nouvelle procédure en recouvrement des petites créances (- 4 000 euros) mise en place pour pallier à la suppression des juridictions de proximité à compter du 1er janvier 2017 et codifiée à l’article L.125-1 du code des procédures d’exécution, permet à l’huissier de justice de délivrer un titre exécutoire. En cas de refus de la procédure amiable par le débiteur, le juge d’instance délivrera une Injonction de Payer au créancier. 

 

2 - La Requête en Injonction de payer

 

La requête peut être déposée par le créancier, l’avocat, l’huissier de justice ou tout mandataire (qui devra être en possession d’un pouvoir) au greffe de la juridiction compétente.

 

Elle doit comporter les mentions obligatoires prévues à l’article 1407 du code de procédure civile (décret 29 décembre 2009) à savoir toutes les informations utiles concernant  le demandeur (le créancier), le défendeur (le débiteur) sans oublier de produire à l’appui de la demande toutes les précision sur la nature et le montant exact de la créance (en principal et intérêts) ; ainsi que tous les décomptes y afférents et tout éléments justificatifs.

 

C'est une requête! Donc le débiteur n'est pas informé de la tenue de l'audience. 

 

La requête en Injonction de Payer ne suspend pas la prescription

 

Le juge peut soit :

 

- Rejeter la requête

S’il estime la demande non fondée (doute sur la créance, prescription, montant incertain...), le juge peut rejeter la demande sans avoir à motiver sa décision (article 1409 alinéa 2 code de procédure civile). La décision est insusceptible de recours. Pour recouvrer sa créance le créancier devra intenter une action au fond.

 

- Accepter partiellement la demande

Ce cas prévu à l’article 1409 du code de procédure civile, précise que le créancier ayant vu une partie de ses prétentions rejetées par le juge devra faire un choix :

- Soit la décision lui convient et il la fait signifier.

- Soit elle ne lui convient pas et il s’en abstient. Il devra engager une procédure au fond pour espérer avoir gain de cause sur toutes ses prétentions.

 

Les deux options ne sont pas cumulables si le créancier fait signifier l’ordonnance d’injonction de payer, il ne pourra plus saisir le tribunal et agir au fond.

 

- Faire droit à la demande

 Il faut savoir que même en l’absence du débiteur, le juge pourra vérifier le montant de la somme, diminuer le montant de la clause pénale (art. L.311-30 du code de consommation), ainsi que les intérêts (art. L.311-33 du code de la consommation), accorder des délais de paiement en faveur du débiteur (art. 1422 du code de procédure civile) et vérifier le coût des actes d’huissier.

 

Mais l’ordonnance ne sera effective que si elle est régulièrement signifiée au débiteur.

 

 3 - L' opposition à l’Ordonnance d’Injonction de Payer (OIP)

 

Une copie certifiée conforme de la requête et de l’ordonnance doit être signifiée  au débiteur (et s’il y a plusieurs débiteurs, à chacun d’entre eux) à l’initiative du créancier. Sous peine de nullité, elle doit être assortie de la sommation de payer,  contenir les mentions obligatoires, indiquer le montant fixé dans l’ordonnance et préciser les voies de recours.

 

À défaut de signification dans les 6 mois de sa délivrance, l’Ordonnance d'Injonction de Payer est nulle et non avenue.

 

A compter de  sa signification,  la voie de recours d'une Ordonnance d'Injonction de payer est l'Opposition.

 

          - Si le débiteur ne fait pas opposition

 

Si l’opposition n’est pas faite dans le mois de la signification, le débiteur n’aura plus aucune voie de recours, l’ordonnance d’injonction de payer devient définitive.

 

Une fois définitive, le créancier a 1 mois pour demander au greffe par déclaration ou lettre simple, que l’OIP soit revêtue de la formule exécutoire. À défaut, l’ordonnance serait nulle et non avenue (1423 du code de procédure civile).

 

Dès que la formule exécutoire est apposée, l’ordonnance produit les mêmes effets qu’un jugement contradictoire rendu en dernier ressort. Ce qui ferme la voie de l’appel mais pas celui de la cour de cassation. Cependant,  son contrôle sera des plus limité car elle ne se prononcera que sur les modalités d’apposition de la formule exécutoire et pas sur le fond.

 

Le principe est qu’une fois les délais de l’opposition passés, plus aucun recours n’est possible pour contester le montant ou l’existence de la créance. Le débiteur pourra être poursuivis par son créancier pendant 10 ans, délai correspondant à la prescription de l'exécution d'une décision de justice (avant 2008, c’était 30 ans !).

 

A ce stade, si le débiteur est dans l'incapacité financière de faire face à ses dettes  la seule solution est de déposer un dossier de surendettement. 

 

C’est pourquoi il ne faut jamais faire l’autruche quand on reçoit une lettre recommandée. En droit, les absents ont toujours torts !  Il est bon de rappeler à cet égard qu’une lettre recommandée qui est refusée (retournée, non signée, non récupérée...) est non seulement réputée avoir été notifiée à la date du refus, ou de la première présentation, mais aussi avoir été lue. Et ce, que vous l’ayez ouverte ou pas !

 

Pour se faire entendre et faire valoir ses droits, le débiteur qui souhaite contester la créance doit agir très vite. Il n'a qu'1 mois pour former opposition.

 

          - Si le débiteur fait opposition

 

L’opposition doit être formée dans le mois de la signification. En principe l’OIP doit être signifiée à personne (donnée par l’huissier en main propre au débiteur). Si ce n'est pas le cas, le délai pour faire opposition est repoussé jusqu'au premier acte de saisie.

 

À savoir :

 

Tant que la signification n’a pas été faite à personne, (soit qu’elle ait été faite à l’étude ou au domicile) le débiteur pourra faire opposition à l’OIP dans le mois suivant le premier acte de saisie (art. 1416 du code de procédure civile).

 

Généralement, une fois muni de l’OIP, l’huissier va tenter de recouvrer les sommes et faire une saisie (une saisie-vente la plupart du temps). La procédure commence par un commandement de payer suivi dans les 15 jours d’une saisie vente.

 

Comme le PV de saisie-vente équivaut à un acte délivré à personne, tout débiteur pourra faire opposition à l’OIP dans le mois suivant la saisie. Même si l’OIP date de 6 mois !

 

En clair, si vous découvrez l’existence de l’Ordonnance d’Injonction de Payer rendue à votre encontre quand l’huissier frappe à votre porte pour effectuer une saisie, car rappelons-le, il est tenu de vous préciser sur quel titre se fondent les actes d’exécution. Vous aurez alors 1 mois pour faire opposition à l’Ordonnance d’Injonction de Payer à compter de ce premier acte de saisie.

 

L’opposition n’a pas à être motivée. Le débiteur doit la faire par lettre recommandée et l’envoyer au greffe de la juridiction qui a rendu la décision (tribunal d’instance ou de commerce). En principe, rien ne s’oppose à ce qu’elle soit formée par lettre simple mais en termes de preuve et de rapidité, vu la brièveté des délais, il est préférable de privilégier l’envoi en recommandé.

 

Une fois formée, l’opposition rend l’injonction de payer non avenue.

 

C’est comme si l’Ordonnance d’Injonction de Payer n’existait plus. Toutes les parties seront alors convoquées à une nouvelle audience contradictoire qui statuera sur le fond. La décision rendue sera un jugement au fond qui se substituera à l’ordonnance.

 

4 - L’audience sur opposition d’injonction de payer

 

C’est un retour à une procédure de droit commun. Les parties sont convoquées par lettre recommandées du greffe.

 

Cependant, même si c’est le débiteur, (en position de défendeur à l’instance d’injonction de payer), qui saisit le tribunal, il sera toujours considéré comme défendeur à cette nouvelle instance. Cela à une incidence, car la charge de la preuve pèsera sur le demandeur qui restera le créancier.

 

Autres incidences :

- Si la demande est supérieure à 10 000 euros, le TI ne sera plus compétent, seul le TGI pourra statuer (compétence d’attribution de droit commun).

- L’huissier ne peut plus représenter le créancier à l’audience.

- La procédure restera orale (même devant le TGI). Aucun dépôt de dossier ne sera imposé et les parties peuvent se défendre seules.

 

Si une des parties se présente seule à l’audience, le jugement rendu sera contradictoire. Si aucune des parties ne se présente, le juge prononcera d’office l’extinction de l’instance.

 

 5 - Les voies de recours du jugement rendu sur opposition

 

Conformément aux règles de droit commun :

 

-. Si c’est le Tribunal d'Instance qui statut (-10 000 euros), le jugement sera rendu en dernier ressort, donc le seul recours possible sera le pourvoi en cassation qui ne statuera que sur l’application des règles de droit.

 

- Si c’est le Tribunal de Grande Instance  (+ 10 000 euros) ou le Tribunal de Commerce qui statut, le jugement sera rendu en premier ressort  avec la possibilité de faire appel de la décision.

 

 Mon droit, mes libertés - Septembre 2016