Created by law n ° 2007-308 of March 5, 2007, this measure provided for in article L.271-1 et seq. Of the code of social action and families makes it possible to support people benefiting from social benefits who know serious difficulties in managing their budget.

Concretely, the MASP is a contract concluded between the beneficiary of social benefits and the department, represented by the president of the general council or the persons delegated for this purpose such as the communal center of social action (CCAS), a tutelary association ...

Conditions of access to the MASP

Several conditions must be met to benefit from a MASP, you must:

  • receive social assistance
  • have serious budgetary difficulties endangering the safety and health of the persons concerned and that of their families

The conclusion of a contract with the department

The purpose of this contract concluded with the department is to enable the beneficiary of social benefits to find "the conditions for autonomous management".

The priority is to ensure that social benefits are not diverted from their purpose. Thus, assistance paid for housing, or for the maintenance of children, must not be used to repay debts, to buy a car ...

This contract also makes it possible to provide the beneficiary of social benefits with assistance adapted to their needs. This translates into individualized support and practical advice to learn how to control your budget.

This could mean taking over all credit contracts to renegotiate the amount of the installments with creditors, find arrangements with bailiffs if foreclosure procedures were in progress, fill out an over-indebtedness file, etc.

The initial duration of this contract is between 6 months and 2 years, depending on the seriousness of the situation. However, it may be renewed once in accordance with Article L.271-2 of the Social Action and Families Code (i.e. for a maximum period of 4 years).

If the beneficiary does not respect the contract

We must not lose sight of the fact that a contract binds the parties. It is conceivable that the agent responsible for the measure does not provide sufficient assistance to the beneficiary. But the most frequent situation is that the beneficiary continues to divert social assistance from its purpose.

Often, he will think he is acting in good faith. It is very common that, yielding to the insistence and pressure of collection agencies, he will pay his creditors a sum that should have been allocated to the payment of rent, or current charges, without realizing that he is in violation of its obligations.

While others will outright refuse to perform the contract.

Whatever the reasons, if after having subscribed to it, the beneficiary does not perform the support contract and puts himself in a situation of danger by mismanagement of his budget, measures may be taken to protect "without knowing it of its own accord".

Direct payment of rent

If the rent ceases to be paid for two consecutive months, article L.271-5 of the code of social action and families authorizes the president of the general council to refer the matter to the judge so that social benefits are allocated as a priority. payment of the rent.

The request consists in setting up a direct payment in favor of the lessor and that it is a private or social one.

The president of the general council must address a request to the District Court located in the jurisdiction of the beneficiary's domicile.

The request must be appended with all the necessary documents provided for in Article R.271-8 of the Social Action and Families Code, namely: the surname, first name, address, etc. of the beneficiary, of the bodies responsible for social benefits , from the lessor, a statement of the request….

The parties will be summoned to the hearing and the judge will have 1 month (from the hearing) to render a decision.

If the decision is favorable to the president of the general council, it is up to the judge to specify which benefits and which amount will be paid to the lessor.

The duration of the direct payment cannot exceed two years.

The judgment is subject to appeal within 15 days of its notification.

The measure may be renewed once for a further period of 2 years (ie, 4 years maximum).

The beneficiary or the chairman of the general council may request that the measure be lifted if the reasons which justified its implementation no longer exist.

Thus, in the event of non-compliance with the support contract, a court decision will allow social benefits to be allocated as a priority to the payment of rent and rental charges.

It is not a question of depriving the beneficiary of all his social benefits, nor of depriving him of the resources necessary for his subsistence, but of ensuring that he does not increase his rent debt in order to protect the family home to avoid a loss. eviction procedure.

If all these measures do not allow the beneficiary to overcome his difficulties, in particular because he did not respect his contractual obligations, the President of the General Council may send a detailed report to the public prosecutor so that he can refer the matter to the supervisory judge. to set up a judicial support measure (MAJ)

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

La Mesure d'Accompagnement Social Personnalisée (MASP)

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

Créé par la loi n°2007-308 du 5 mars 2007, cette mesure prévue à l’article L.271-1 et suivants du code de l’action sociale et des familles permet d’accompagner les personnes bénéficiant de prestations sociales qui connaissent de graves difficultés à gérer leur budget.

 

Concrètement, la MASP est un contrat passé entre le bénéficiaire de prestations sociales et le département, représenté par le président du conseil général ou les personnes déléguées à cet effet tel que le centre communal d’action social (CCAS), une association tutélaire...

 

Conditions d’accès à la MASP

 

Plusieurs conditions doivent être réunies pour bénéficier d’une MASP, il faut :

 

- percevoir des aides sociales

- avoir de graves difficultés budgétaires mettant en danger la sécurité et la santé des personnes concernées et celle de leur famille

 

La conclusion d’un contrat avec le département

 

La finalité de ce contrat conclu avec le département est de permettre au bénéficiaire de prestations sociales de retrouver « les conditions d’une gestion autonome ».

 

Il s’agit de s’assurer en priorité que les prestations sociales ne soient pas détournées de leur objet. Ainsi une aide versée pour le logement, ou pour l’entretien des enfants, ne doivent pas servir à rembourser des dettes, à acheter une voiture...

 

Ce contrat permet également d’apporter au bénéficiaire de prestations sociales une aide adaptée à ses besoins. Cela se traduit par un accompagnement individualisé et des conseils pratiques pour apprendre à maîtriser son budget.

 

Il pourra s’agir de reprendre en main tous les contrats de crédit pour renégocier auprès des créanciers le montant des échéanciers, trouver des arrangements avec des huissiers de justice si des procédures de saisies étaient en cours, remplir un dossier de surendettement...

 

La durée initiale de ce contrat est comprise, selon la gravité de la situation, entre 6 mois et 2 ans. Cependant il pourra être renouvelé une fois selon l’article L.271-2 du code de l’action sociale et des familles (soit, pour une durée de 4 ans maximum).

 

Si le bénéficiaire ne respecte pas le contrat

 

Il ne faut pas perdre de vue qu’un contrat engage les parties. On peut envisager que le mandataire chargé de la mesure n’apporte pas l’aide suffisante au bénéficiaire. Mais la situation la plus fréquente est que le bénéficiaire continue de détourner les aides sociales de leur objet.

 

Souvent, il pensera agir de bonne foi. Il est très fréquent que, cédant à l’insistance et la pression des agences de recouvrement, il versera à ses créanciers une somme qui aurait dû être affectée au paiement du loyer, ou des charges courantes, sans se rendre compte qu’il est en violation de ses obligations.

 

Tandis que d’autres refuseront purement et simplement d’exécuter le contrat.

 

Quels qu’en soient les motifs, si après y avoir souscrit, le bénéficiaire n’exécutait pas le contrat d’accompagnement et qu’il se mettait en situation de danger par une mauvaise gestion de son budget, des mesures pourront être prises pour le protéger "à l'insu de son plein gré".

 

Le paiement direct du loyer

 

Si le loyer cessait d’être payé durant deux mois consécutifs, l’article L.271-5 du code de l’action sociale et des familles autorise le président du conseil général à saisir le juge pour que les prestations sociales soient affectées en priorité au paiement du loyer.

 

La demande consiste à mettre en place un paiement direct en faveur du bailleur et ce qu’il s’agisse d’un privé ou social.

 

Le président du conseil général doit adresser une requête au Tribunal d’Instance situé dans le ressort du domicile du bénéficiaire.

 

La demande doit être annexée de tous les documents nécessaires prévus à l’article R.271-8 du code de l’action sociale et des familles, à savoir : les nom, prénom, adresse... du bénéficiaire, des organismes débiteurs des prestations sociales, du bailleur, un exposé de la demande....

 

Les parties seront convoquées à l’audience et le juge aura 1 mois (à compter de l’audience) pour rendre une décision.

 

Si la décision est favorable au président du conseil général, il appartient au juge de préciser quelles prestations et quels montant seront versés au bailleur.

 

La durée du versement direct ne peut excéder deux années.

 

Le jugement est susceptible d’appel dans les 15 jours de sa notification.

 

La mesure est susceptible d’être renouvelée une seule fois pour une nouvelle durée de 2 ans (soit, 4 ans maximum).

 

Le bénéficiaire ou le président du conseil général pourront demander la mainlevée de la mesure si les motifs qui avaient justifié sa mise en place n’existaient plus.

 

Ainsi, en cas de non-respect du contrat d’accompagnement, une décision judiciaire permettra que les prestations sociales soient affectées en priorité au paiement du loyer et des charges locatives.

 

Il ne s’agit de priver le bénéficiaire de toutes ses prestations sociales, ni de lui ôter des ressources nécessaires à sa subsistance, mais de faire en sorte qu’il n’aggrave pas sa dette de loyer pour protéger le logement familial pour éviter une procédure d’expulsion.

 

Si toutes ces mesures ne permettaient pas au bénéficiaire de surmonter ses difficultés, notamment parce qu’il ne respectait pas ses obligations contractuelles, le président du conseil général pourra adresser un rapport circonstancié au procureur de la république afin qu’il saisisse le juge des tutelles pour instaurer une mesure d’accompagnement Judiciaire (MAJ).

 

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Décembre 2016