The ALUR law n ° 2014-366 of March 24, 2014, requires the drafting of a lease contract. So all contracts concluded from March 27, 2017 (date of entry into force of the law) must be formalized in a regulated writing to be valid.

The leases concluded under the empire of the law n ° 89-462 of July 6, 1989 had also, in principle, to be written (article 3), but the jurisprudence largely accepted the verbal lease.

It is the hypothesis where an owner and a tenant agree to rent a property without signing any lease. The tenant takes possession of the premises and in return the owner receives the rent.

If their relations are good, the verbal agreement will not be called into question. But in case of conflict will then arise a problem of proof of the existence of the lease and the respective obligations of the tenant and the owner.

Therefore, what value will a verbal lease have and what rights will be attached to it?

The validity of the verbal lease

The verbal lease will be valid as soon as the parties have agreed to perform it. It is the hypothesis where the tenant settles in the places with the agreement of the owner who gave him the keys and fixed the price of the rent (Cass. Civ., 3rd of February 7, 1990, n ° 88-16.225 ). This situation must therefore be distinguished from an occupation without right or title (squatter).

The existence of the verbal lease can be demonstrated by any means (regular payments, rent receipt, exchange of letters, witnesses, invoices, etc.).

The verbal lease can be terminated at any time by concluding a written lease contract which will formalize the already existing agreements.

If the tenant or the lessor refuses to enter into a written lease, the other party may apply to the judge of the district court who, after noting the existence of the lease, will fix the obligations of the lessee and the lessor (according to their practices previous) and will substitute its decision for the lease contract (Cass. civ., 3rd of November 29, 2000 n ° 98-12.442).

Compliance with the provisions of the law of July 6, 1989

The particularity of the verbal lease is that even in the absence of writing, the relations of the lessor and his tenant will be subject to the law of 1989, the provisions of which are of public order.

This concerns the duration of the lease, which cannot be less than 3 years, if the lessor is a natural person, or 6 years if the lessor is a legal person (bank, insurance, etc.); the notice period; execution of the work ...

The lessee alone can avail himself of the provisions of the law of 1989 because he is deemed to be the weaker party to the contract. But he will not be able to invoke the nullity of the verbal lease to escape his obligations (pay the rent, respect the notice period…) that would be bad faith.

The characteristics inherent in the verbal lease

The termination clause

In the absence of writing, an owner will not be able to invoke a termination clause as of right. The clauses will only have value if they are in writing, even if the tenants have breached their main obligation by not paying the rent.

“The lease signed between the parties was a verbal lease… it resulted that no termination clause had been stipulated by the parties to the lease…” (Cass. Civ., 3rd of September 23, 2014, n ° 13-15.713).

This does not mean that the tenant cannot be penalized, but that, failing to write down, the lease will not be terminated automatically. To achieve this, the owner will have to initiate eviction proceedings.

The indexation clause

Indexation must be expressly provided for in a clause.

In the absence of writing, no increase in rent during the lease is possible.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Le bail verbal

     La loi ALUR n°2014-366 du 24 mars 2014, impose la rédaction d’un contrat de bail. Donc tous les contrats conclus à compter du 27 mars 2017 (date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi) doivent être formalisés par un écrit réglementé pour être valide.

 

Les baux conclus sous l’empire de la loi n°89-462 du 6 juillet 1989 devaient aussi, en principe, être écrits (article 3), mais la jurisprudence a largement admis le bail verbal.

 

C’est l’hypothèse ou un propriétaire et un locataire s’entendent pour louer un bien sans signer aucun bail. Le locataire prend possession des lieux et en contrepartie le propriétaire touche le loyer.

 

Si leurs relations sont bonnes l’accord verbal ne sera pas remis en cause. Mais en cas de conflit se posera alors un problème de preuve sur l’existence du bail et les obligations respectives du locataire et du propriétaire.

 

Dès lors, quelle valeur aura un bail verbal et quels droits y seront attachés ?

 

La validité du bail verbal

 

Le bail verbal sera valable dès que les parties ont accepté de l’exécuter. C’est l’hypothèse où le locataire s’installe dans les lieux avec l’accord du propriétaire qui lui a donné les clefs et fixé le prix du loyer (Cass. civ., 3ème du 7 février 1990, n°88-16.225). Cette situation doit donc être distinguée d’une occupation sans droit ni titre (squatter).

 

L’existence du bail verbal peut être démontrée par tous moyens (paiements réguliers, quittance de loyers, échange de courriers, témoins, factures...).

 

Il peut être mettre mis fin au bail verbal à tout moment par la conclusion d’un contrat de bail écrit qui formalisera les accords déjà existants.

 

Si le locataire ou le bailleur refuse de conclure un bail écrit, l’autre partie pourra saisir le juge du tribunal d’instance qui après avoir constaté l’existence du bail, fixera les obligations du locataire et du bailleur (d’après leurs pratiques antérieures) et substituera sa décision au contrat de bail (Cass. civ., 3ème du 29 novembre 2000 n°98-12.442).

 

Le respect des dispositions de la loi du 6 juillet 1989

 

La particularité du bail verbal est que même en l’absence d’écrit, les relations du bailleur et de son locataire seront soumises à la loi de 1989 dont les dispositions sont d’ordre public.

 

Cela concerne la durée du bail qui ne peut être inférieure à 3 ans, si le bailleur est une personne physique, ou 6 ans si le bailleur est une personne morale (banque, assurance...) ; le délai de préavis ; l’exécution des travaux...

 

Le locataire peut seul se prévaloir des dispositions de la loi de 1989 car il est réputé être la partie la plus faible au contrat. Mais il ne pourra pas invoquer la nullité du bail verbal pour échapper à ses obligations ( payer le loyer, respecter le délai de préavis...) cela serait de la mauvaise foi.

 

Les caractéristiques inhérentes au bail verbal

 

La clause de résiliation

 

En l’absence d’écrit un propriétaire ne pourra pas faire valoir de clause de résiliation de plein droit. Les clauses n’auront de valeur que si elles sont écrites et ce même si les locataires ont manqué à leur principale obligation en ne payant pas le loyer.

 

« le bail signé entre les parties était un bail verbal ... il résultait qu'aucune clause résolutoire n'avait été stipulée par les parties au bail ...» (Cass. civ., 3ème du 23 septembre 2014, n°13-15.713).

 

Cela ne veut pas dire que le locataire ne peut pas être sanctionné, mais qu’à défaut d’écrit le bail ne sera pas résilié de plein droit. Pour y parvenir le propriétaire devra intenter une procédure d’expulsion.

 

La clause d’indexation

 

L’indexation doit être expressément prévue par une clause.

 

En l’absence d’écrit aucune hausse de loyer en cours de bail n’est envisageable.

 

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Mars 2017