The principle of the separation of powers between the executive, legislative and judicial power is the keystone of the proper functioning of our institutions. Under the laws of August 16 and 24, 1790, this principle rejects any interference by the judiciary in administrative affairs and therefore any intrusion by the State in judicial affairs.

The administrative courts will have sole competence to judge all disputes relating to the regulations and decisions of the administration. A constitutional statute henceforth fixed by the fundamental principles recognized by the laws of the republic (Constitutional Council July 22, 1980).

The administration must be understood in the broad sense, it is about public persons endowed with the prerogatives of public power in order to take regulatory or individual acts which will be imposed on the citizen.

As a citizen you can act against the State or a legal person of public law to contest a decision or an act taken by the administration; but also to raise the responsibility of the State, a public establishment, local authorities, a hospital… and obtain compensation if they have committed a fault.

* Before entering the judge, you must have made a administrative appeal. If the administration maintains its decision, then you can consider taking your challenge to the administrative court.

The supreme administrative court is the Council of state.

Administrative tribunals

These administrative jurisdictions are recent since they were created by a decree of 1953 (before this date, the Council of State was the only judge of all the administrative litigation with the help of the councils of prefecture which managed the cases of mass on the whole territory).

There are in all 42 Administrative Courts (31 in mainland France and 11 in Overseas Territories)

It is a common law jurisdiction. This means that it has jurisdiction to hear all disputes, unless texts provide for exceptions.

Thus, the Council of State will be the only competent first and last resort for: appointments of officials; disciplinary (decision of the CSM); The foreigners ; public finances ...

The administrative tribunal may also be referred to for an opinion and appoint commissions responsible for carrying out public inquiries.

The competent administrative court is that of the place:

Any wrongly seized court will have to seize the president of the “litigation” section of the Council of State who will have to refer the case to the competent court.

Namely: Beside the formation of judgment, sits a public protractor. Known until 2009 under the name "Government Commissioner". Yes… at first glance it is very ambiguous… It looks like a prosecutor, which is why his role sowed doubts in people's minds until the European Court forced France to review its statute. (see the note). Now everything is clear, he is responsible for analyzing the file, enlightening the court and the parties on the case submitted to them during the hearing and proposing a solution to the dispute in accordance with the texts and case law. The parties may, if they deem it necessary, express themselves immediately after their intervention and even send a note under advisement to express their observations. Its conclusions are optional in matters of timely driving license and refusal of stay accompanied by an obligation to leave the territory.

The court rules in principle with a formation of three judges (collegiate), but the texts provide that the president of the court can rule as a single judge (decision often rendered at first and last resort). The president may designate a judge of the tribunal to delegate this function to him.

The disputes entrusted to a single judge are:

Work that does not require a building permit; the communication of administrative documents, pensions, personalized housing assistance, union taxes, local taxes (not professional taxes), all compensation actions less than 10 euros, etc.

To know :

  • Representation by a lawyer is sometimes compulsory (written procedure). While the state is not required to be represented by a lawyer. It is a person from the service who issued the disputed act who will defend his position before the judge.
  • Subject to resources, you may however benefit from Legal Aid.
  • In the event of abusive recourse, you incur a fine of 3 euros (maximum)
  • In the event of loss of the lawsuit, you may be forced to pay the costs of the proceedings to the opposing party (L 761-1 CJA)

The procedure

It begins with a written request to the Administrative Tribunal.

Two different procedures are to be considered depending on the dispute:

- The summary is an oral procedure, the judge takes notes and issues an interim order that you can only challenge before the Council of State.

- The litigation on the merits

Recourse in excess of power, full litigation recourse,

Contestation on the merits, written procedure, therefore a lawyer

A judgment will be rendered and subject to appeal before the Administrative Court of Appeal.

Administrative courts of appeal

Established by the law of December 31, 1987, they are a court of appeal for judgments rendered by administrative courts. There are 8 across the country.

Douai, Nantes, Paris, Versailles, Lyon, Bordeaux, Nancy and Marseille.

They are chaired by a Councilor of State.

Special administrative courts

These jurisdictions have special powers, they are:

  • The national court of asylum
  • Disciplinary training for professional orders
  • The higher education council
  • The National Council for Higher Education and Research (disciplinary matter)
  • The court of accounts and regional chambers of accounts
  • The budgetary and financial discipline court
  • The banking commission
  • Pensions courts
  • Appeals against decisions rendered by these exceptional courts take the form of an appeal on points of law before the Council of State.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Les tribunaux administratifs

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

Le principe de la séparation des pouvoirs entre le pouvoir exécutif, législatif et judiciaire est la clef de voûte du bon fonctionnement de nos institutions. En vertu des lois du 16 et 24 août 1790, ce principe rejette toute immixtion du judiciaire dans les affaires administratives et donc, toute intrusion de l’État dans les affaires judiciaires.

 

Les juridictions administratives auront seuls compétence pour juger toutes les contestations relatives aux règlements et aux décisions de l’administration. Un statut constitutionnel désormais fixé par les principes fondamentaux reconnus par les lois de la république (Conseil constitutionnel 22 juillet 1980).

 

L’administration doit s’entendre au sens large, il s’agit de personnes publiques dotées de prérogatives de puissance publique afin de prendre des actes réglementaires ou individuels qui s’imposeront au citoyen.

 

En tant que citoyen vous pouvez agir contre l’État ou une personne morale de droit public pour contester une décision ou un acte pris par l’administration ; mais aussi pour soulever la responsabilité de l’État, d’un établissement public, de collectivités territoriales, d’un hôpital... et obtenir un dédommagement s’ils ont commis une faute.

 

*Avant de saisir le juge, il faut avoir fait un recours administratif. Si l’administration maintient sa décision, vous pouvez alors envisager de porter votre contestation devant le tribunal administratif.

 

La juridiction administrative suprême est le Conseil d’État.

 

 

 

Les tribunaux administratifs

 

 

Ces juridictions administratives sont récentes puisqu’elles ont été créées par un décret de 1953 ( avant cette date, le conseil d’État était le seul juge de tout le contentieux administratif avec l’aide des conseils de préfecture qui géraient les affaires de masse sur tout le territoire).

 

Il y a en tout 42 Tribunaux administratifs (31 en métropole et 11 en territoire d’Outre-mer)

 

C’est une juridiction de droit commun. Cela veut dire qu’elle a compétence pour connaître tous les litiges, sauf si des textes prévoit des exceptions.

 

Ainsi, le Conseil d’État sera seul compétent en premier et dernier ressort pour : les nominations de fonctionnaires ; le disciplinaire (décision du CSM) ; les étrangers ; les finances publiques...

 

Le tribunal administratif peut également être saisi pour avis et désigner des commissions chargées d’effectuer des enquêtes publiques.

 

Le tribunal administratif compétent est celui du lieu :

 

- du domicile du requérant ( mesure de police, agents publics...)

- de situation du bien mis en cause ( travaux public, permis de construire ou de démolir...)

- de l’auteur de la décision litigieuse

 

Tout tribunal saisi à tort devra saisir le président de la section « contentieux » du conseil d’État qui devra renvoyer l’affaire devant la juridiction compétente.

 

À savoir:

À coté de la formation de jugement, siège un rapporteur public. Connu jusqu’en 2009 sous l’appellation « Commissaire du gouvernement ». Oui... à première vue c’est très ambigu... Cela ressemble à procureur, c’est pourquoi son rôle a semé le doute dans les esprits jusqu’à ce que la Cour européenne impose à la France de revoir son statut. ( v. la note). Désormais tout est clair, il est chargé d’analyser le dossier, d’éclairer la juridiction et les parties sur l’affaire qui leur est soumise durant l’audience et de proposer une solution au litige conforme aux textes et à la jurisprudence. Les parties pourront, si elles l’estiment nécessaire, s’exprimer juste après son intervention et même transmettre une note en délibéré pour faire part de ses observations. Ses conclusions sont facultatives en matière de permis de conduire à point et de refus de séjour assortis d’une obligation de quitter le territoire.

 

 

Le tribunal statue en principe avec une formation de trois juges (collégiale), mais les textes prévoient que le président du tribunal pourra statuer en juge unique (décision souvent rendues en premier et dernier ressort). Le président pourra désigner un juge du tribunal pour lui déléguer cette fonction.

 

Les litiges confiés à un juge unique sont :

Les travaux qui ne nécessitent pas de permis de construire ; la communication de documents administratifs, les pensions, les aides personnalisées au logement, les taxes syndicales, les impôts locaux (pas les taxes professionnelles), toutes les actions indemnitaires inférieures à 10 000 euros...

 

A savoir :

 

- La représentation par avocat est parfois obligatoire (procédure écrite). Tandis que l’État n’est pas tenu d’être représenté par un avocat. C’est une personne du service qui a émis l’acte litigieux qui va défendre sa position devant le juge.

- Sous condition de ressources, vous pourrez cependant bénéficier de l’Aide juridictionnelle.

- En cas de recours abusif vous encourez une amende de 3 000 euros (maximum)

- En cas de perte du procès vous pourrez être contraint à payer les frais de procédure à la partie adverse (L 761-1 CJA)

 

La procédure

 

Cela commence par une requête écrite au Tribunal administratif.

 

Deux procédures différentes sont à envisager selon le litige :

- Le référé c’est une procédure orale, le juge prend des notes et rend une ordonnance de référé que vous ne pourrez contester que devant le Conseil d’État.

- Le contentieux au fond

Recours en excès de pouvoir, recours plein contentieux,

Contestation au fond, procédure écrite, donc un avocat

Un jugement sera rendu et susceptible d’appel devant la Cour Administrative d’Appel

 

 

Les cours administratives d’appel

 

Instituées par la loi du 31 décembre 1987, elles sont une juridiction d’appel des jugements rendus par les tribunaux administratifs. Il y en a 8 sur tout le territoire national.

 

Douai, Nantes, Paris, Versailles, Lyon, Bordeaux, Nancy et Marseille.

 

Elles sont présidées par un conseiller d’État.

 

 

           Les juridictions administratives d’exception

 

Ces juridictions ont des compétences spéciales, il s'agit:

 

La cour nationale du droit d’asile

Les formations disciplinaires des ordres professionnels

Le conseil supérieur de l’enseignement

Le conseil national de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche (matière disciplinaire)

La cour des comptes et les chambres régionales des comptes

La cour de discipline budgétaire et financière

La commission bancaire

Les juridictions des pensions

 

Les recours contre les décisions rendues par ces juridictions d'exception revêtent la forme d’un pourvoi en cassation devant le conseil d’État.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Août 2016