To exercise its public service mission, the Administration takes acts that you can challenge before the administrative judge (Without forgetting to go, if necessary, through the box administrative appeal before grabbing it!).

There are mainly two kinds. These are the regulatory acts that are binding on everyone, and the individual acts that apply to a person, or a group of people, in particular.

Regulatory acts

To exercise their missions, the executive power and all the administrative authorities holding regulatory power issue regulations. That is to say, general and impersonal measures that all citizens must respect.

The president of the Republic

The President of the Republic has very limited regulatory power. According to article 13 of the Constitution, it only exercises it to issue decrees taken after deliberation in the Council of Ministers or within the framework of international relations.

The Prime Minister

According to the Constitution, the Prime Minister, as head of government is the main depositary of regulatory power, for this purpose he has:

  • a general regulatory power (Article 21 of the constitution).
  • It issues decrees which specify the terms of application of a law (specifies the date of entry into force, etc.).
  • the power to issue autonomous regulations (Article 37 of the constitution)
  • a regulatory police power

These decisions will apply throughout the territory

Government ministers

The constitution does not grant them specific regulatory powers (CE May 23, 1969, the Brabant distillery company). However, as heads of service, responsible for the organization and operation of the ministries for which they are responsible, the Prime Minister may delegate part of his activities to them. It is mainly a question of taking all the necessary measures allowing the concrete application of a decree. These regulations are mainly ministerial orders.

Independent administrative authorities (AAI)

The National Commission for Informatics and Freedoms (CNIL), the Superior Audiovisual Council (CSA), the Commission for Access to Administrative Documents (CADA), the Competition Council, etc.

These AAIs have limited regulatory power directly related to the missions entrusted to them and with regard to their specificities.

Territorial communities and local authorities

It is with the constitutional revision of March 28, 2003, which creates an article 72 paragraph 3, that the local authorities (municipalities, departments and regions) will be endowed with full regulatory power.

They are structures distinct from the administration with autonomous powers (they manage their staff, their budgets, etc.). Municipal, departmental and regional councils have the power to issue regulations throughout the territory for which they are responsible.

Certain local authorities such as mayors, prefects and presidents of general councils have police powers and will take all necessary acts in the exercise of this mission.

Professional Orders

All the regulated professions are grouped together in Orders such as the Bar Association, the Order of Physicians, etc. These orders benefit from regulatory power ordinal making it possible to unify the rules and uses of their professions (conditions of access to the profession, disciplinary measures, etc.).

Private persons responsible for carrying out a public service mission

The administration can entrust legal persons governed by private law with the management of a public service whose mission is to serve and satisfy the general interest. To carry out this mission, these legal persons will be endowed with regulatory power.

Unilateral acts

These acts can be taken by a public body in the exercise of its missions. They are imposed on the people concerned without having to inform them or obtain their consent. They could be acts which, binding on their addressees, will have to be executed automatically or simple decisions without real binding force.

Individual acts

These individual decisions are used by the administration to create obligations, rights, or issue authorizations (refusal of a residence permit, a building permit, etc.).

They are automatically enforceable. This means that once taken, these decisions must be applied without having to verify their conformity or their merits. The principle is to challenge them before the judge a posteriori, after their executions.

The citizen who refuses to apply the act taken against him may be prosecuted in criminal proceedings. This, in general, dissuades any person not to apply the act taken against him.

Repressive texts provide for and penalize certain breaches (police regulations, tax evasion, etc.). The wide variety of administrative sanctions includes:

  • Warnings and reprimands pronounced in disciplinary matters; the fines ; withdrawals of benefits, approvals or authorizations; closures or even deletions of establishments or installations; the ban on exercising a profession ...

Very often, the “recalcitrant” citizen will have to carry out proceedings before the administrative and repressive courts in order to challenge the decision and hope to win the case.

To be obeyed, the administration also has recourse to the constraint (impoundment of a vehicle, requisition order to force a person to leave the premises, etc.).

The texts and especially the case law frame this power of constraint and only authorize it:

  • If the decision to be executed is based on a text of general application
  • If the individual offers real resistance to comply
  • If no penal or administrative provision allows sanctioning the breach

In any case, even if these criteria are not fulfilled, the administration will always have the means to act by making use of “the action ex officio”. This action based onEmergency will in itself justify the use of forced execution.

The decisions

Internal measures

The directors of public establishments (penitentiaries, schools, hospitals, etc.) are the guarantors of the proper functioning and organization of their services. They can take all the acts necessary in the exercise of their missions (internal regulations, disciplinary sanctions, proposals, recommendations…).

These measures will be declared illegal a posteriori if they infringe on protected freedoms or rights or if they undermine the career prospects of the persons concerned.

Circulars

They are sent by the ministers, rectors, prefects (in their capacity as head of service) to all their subordinates. These are instructions, recommendations and explanations provided as soon as a new text appears (law, decree, etc.).

There are 2 kinds of flyers:

Non-imperative circulars (formerly called interpretative)

They expose, comment on and explain the principles of a policy to their agents and users. They are used to communicate on how to interpret and understand laws and regulations to promote their homogeneous implementation throughout the territory.

These measures cannot be challenged before a judge, as they do not cause any grievances. They have no more value than a memo that delivers a "manual" on how a text should be applied.

Mandatory circulars (formerly called regulatory)

These circulars, under the pretext of explaining texts, will add new provisions, set new rules, or even set out measures contrary to the text they apply.

They may be the subject of an appeal from their publication in the Official Journal (CE January 12, 2009, National Prison Union FO)

The instructions

Note: They are distinct from European Union directives which, taken to harmonize the laws of the Member States, are mandatory. To avoid any confusion, the Council of State now prefers to call them “guidelines” (CE 19 September 2014).

The directives do not impose anything and do not change anything of the text which they transpose. They serve to guide and set a course of action, to specify the general criteria of a text so that all administrative services apply it in the same way on the territory. This ensures equal treatment of all users of the public service.

However, the authority to which it is addressed retains its freedom of appreciation. This means that a directive does not have any direct effect on the citizens and that it cannot in any case modify their legal situation. As a result, a directive does not have any regulatory character.

However, the citizens will be able to take advantage of a directive before the administrative judge to contest the text from which they originate.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Les actes administratifs

Camila Haboubi, Docteur en droit

  Pour exercer sa mission de service public, l’Administration prend des actes que vous pourrez contester devant le juge administratif (Sans oublier de passer, s’il y a lieu, par la case recours administratif avant de le saisir !).

 

Il en existe principalement de deux sortes. Ce sont les actes réglementaires qui s’imposent à tous (1), et les actes individuels qui s’appliquent à une personne, ou un groupe de personnes, en particulier (2).

 

1 – Les actes Réglementaires

 

Pour exercer leurs missions, le pouvoir exécutif et toutes les autorités administratives titulaires d’un pouvoir réglementaire édictent des règlements. C’est-à-dire des mesures de portée générale et impersonnelle que tout citoyen devra respecter.

 

- Le président de la République

 

Le président de la République a un pouvoir réglementaire très limité. Selon l’article 13 de la Constitution, il ne l’exerce que pour édicter des décrets pris après délibération en conseil des ministres ou dans le cadre de relations internationales.

 

- Le Premier ministre

 

Selon la Constitution, le Premier ministre, en tant que chef de gouvernement est le principal dépositaire du pouvoir réglementaire, à cet effet il dispose :

- d’un pouvoir réglementaire général (L’article 21 de la constitution).

Il édicte des décrets qui précisent les modalités d’application d’une loi (précise la date d’entrée en vigueur...).

- du pouvoir d’édicter des règlements autonomes (L’article 37 de la constitution)

- d’un pouvoir réglementaire de police

Ces décisions s’appliqueront sur tout le territoire

 

- Les ministres du gouvernement

 

La constitution ne leur accorde pas de pouvoirs réglementaires spécifiques (CE 23 mai 1969 société distillerie de Brabant). Cependant en tant que chefs de service, chargés de l’organisation et du fonctionnement des ministères dont ils ont la charge, le Premier ministre pourra leur déléguer une partie de ses activités. Il s’agit principalement de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires permettant l’application concrète d’un décret. Ces règlements sont principalement des arrêtés ministériels.

 

- Les autorités administratives indépendantes (AAI)

 

la Commission Nationale Informatiques et Libertés (CNIL), le Conseil Supérieur de l’Audiovisuel(CSA), la Commission d’Accès aux documents administratifs (CADA), le conseil de la concurrence...

Ces AAI disposent d’un pouvoir réglementaire limité directement en lien avec les missions qui leurs sont confiées et au regard de leurs spécificités.

 

- Les collectivités territoriales et les autorités locales

 

C’est avec la révision constitutionnelle du 28 mars 2003, qui crée un article 72 alinéa 3, que les collectivités territoriales (les communes, les départements et les régions) se verront doté d’un pouvoir réglementaire à part entière.

 

Ce sont des structures distinctes de l’administration avec des pouvoirs autonomes (elles gèrent leur personnels, leurs budget...). Les conseils municipaux, départementaux et régionaux ont le pouvoir d’édicter des règlements sur tout le territoire dont ils ont la charge.

 

Certaines autorités locales telles que les maires, les préfets et les présidents des conseils généraux disposent d’un pouvoir de police et prendront tous les actes qui s’imposeront dans l’exercice de cette mission.

 

- Les Ordres professionnels

 

Toutes les professions réglementées sont regroupées dans des Ordres tels que l’Ordre des avocats, l’Ordre des médecins.... Ces ordres bénéficient d’un pouvoir réglementaire ordinal permettant d’unifier les règles et usages de leurs professions (conditions d’accès à la professions, mesures disciplinaires...).

 

- Les personnes privées chargées de l’exécution d’une mission de service public

 

L’administration peut confier à des personnes morales de droit privé la gestion d’un service public dont la mission est de servir et satisfaire l’intérêt général. Pour mener à bien cette mission, ces personnes morales se verront dotées d’un pouvoir réglementaire.

 

2 - Les actes unilatéraux

 

Ces actes peuvent être pris par une personne publique dans l’exercice de ses missions. Ils s’imposent aux personnes concernées sans avoir a les informer, ni obtenir leur consentement. Il pourra s’agir d’actes qui, s’imposant à leurs destinataires devront d’office être exécutées  ou de simples décisions sans réelles portées contraignantes.

 

- Les actes individuels

 

Ces décisions individuelles sont utilisées par l’administration pour créer des obligations, des droits, ou délivrer des autorisations (un refus de titre de séjour, un permis de construire...).

 

Elles sont exécutoires de plein droit. Cela signifie qu’une fois prises, ces décisions doivent être appliquées sans avoir a en vérifier leurs conformités ou leurs bien fondés. Le principe est de les contester devant le juge a posteriori, après leurs exécutions.

 

L’administré qui refusera d’appliquer l’acte pris à son encontre pourra se voir poursuivre au pénal. Ce qui, en général, dissuade toute personnes de ne pas appliquer l’acte pris à son encontre.

 

Des textes répressifs prévoient et sanctionnent certains manquements (règlement de police, fraude fiscale...). L’éventail des sanctions administratives, très varié, comprend notamment :

- Les avertissements et les blâmes prononcés en matière disciplinaire ; les amendes ; les retraits d’avantages, d’agréments ou d’autorisations ; les fermetures voire les suppressions d’établissements ou d’installations ; l’interdiction d’exercer une profession...

 

Bien souvent, l’administré « récalcitrant » devra mener de front une procédure devant les juridictions administratives et répressives pour contester la décision et espérer obtenir gain de cause.

 

Pour se faire obéir, l’administration dispose également du recours à la contrainte (mise en fourrière d’un véhicule, ordre de réquisition visant à obliger une personne de quitter les lieux...).

 

Les textes et surtout la jurisprudence encadrent ce pouvoir de contrainte et ne l’autorise que :

- Si la décision à exécuter se fonde sur un texte de portée générale

- Si le particulier oppose une résistance réelle à s’exécuter

- Si aucune disposition pénale ou administrative ne permet sanctionner le manquement

 

En tout état de cause, même si ces critères ne sont pas remplis, l’administration aura toujours les moyens d’agir en faisant usage de « l’action d’office ». Cette action fondée sur l’Urgence justifiera à elle seule le recours à l’exécution forcée.

 

-  Les décisions

 

- Les mesures internes

 

Les directeurs d’Établissements publics (pénitenciers, écoles, hôpitaux...) sont les garants du bon fonctionnement et de l’organisation de leurs services. Ils peuvent prendre tous les actes nécessaires dans l’exercice de leurs missions (règlement intérieur, sanctions disciplinaires, propositions, recommandations...).

 

Ces mesures seront a posteriori déclarées illégales si elles portent atteinte à des libertés ou des droits protégées ou si elles portent atteintes aux perspectives de carrière des personnes concernées.

 

- Les circulaires

 

Elles sont adressées par les ministres, recteurs, préfets (en leur qualité de chef de service) à tous leurs subordonnés. Il s’agit d’instructions, de recommandations et d’explications fournies dès que paraît un nouveau texte (loi, décret...).

 

Il existe 2 sortes de circulaires :

 

- Les circulaires non impératives (autrefois appelées interprétatives)

Elles exposent, commentent et expliquent les principes d’une politique à leurs agents et aux usagers. Elles servent à communiquer sur la manière d’interpréter et de comprendre les lois et les règlements pour favoriser leurs mises en œuvre de manière homogène sur tout le territoire.

Ces mesures ne peuvent être contestées devant un juge, car elles ne causent aucun griefs. Elles n’ont pas plus de valeur qu’une note de service qui délivre un « mode d’emploi » sur la manière dont doit s’appliquer un texte.

 

- Les circulaires impératives (autrefois appelées réglementaires)

Ces circulaires, sous prétexte d’expliquer des textes, vont ajouter de nouvelles dispositions, fixer de nouvelles règles, voire énoncer des mesures contraires au texte qu’elles appliquent.

Elles pourront faire l’objet d’un recours à compter de leur publication au Journal Officiel (CE 12 janvier 2009, Syndicat national pénitentiaire FO)

 

- Les directives

 

À noter :

Elles sont distinctes des directives de l’Union européenne qui, prisent pour harmoniser les législations des États membres sont elles, impératives. Pour éviter toute confusion, le Conseil d’État préfère désormais les appeler « lignes directrices » (CE 19 septembre 2014).

 

Les directives n’imposent rien et ne changent rien du texte qu’elles transposent. Elles servent à orienter et à fixer une ligne de conduite, à préciser les critères généraux d’un texte pour que tous les services administratifs l’appliquent de la même manière sur le territoire. Cela permet d’assurer une égalité de traitement de tous les usagers du service public.

 

Cependant l’autorité qui en est destinataire garde sa liberté d’appréciation. Cela signifie qu’une directive n’emporte aucun effet direct sur les administrés et qu’elle ne peut en aucun cas modifier leur situation juridique. De ce fait, une directive n’est revêtue d’aucun caractère réglementaire.

 

Cependant, les administrés pourront se prévaloir d’une directive devant le juge administratif pour contester le texte dont elles procèdent.

 

Mon droit, mes libertés - Août 2016